Sage Sales Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Sage Sales Reviews

Updated Jun 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 132 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
71%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Sage CEO Steve Hare
Steve Hare
11 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great fun at dynamic company with great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Consultant in Reading, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great group of people to work with. Ideas and initiative get always supported Great benefits Great culture Challenging job

    Cons

    Organization going through transformation, lots of turbulence, but fun Lots of changes in leadership, new leadership still needs to proof they can get it right

    Advice to Management

    Spend more time with teams on the floor Execute on cloud acceleration, fast!, the opportunity is huge

    Sage2019-02-05

    Sage Response

    February 13, 2019

    Thanks for taking the time to share your experience. We love to hear from colleauges who are having fun and are happy in their work!

  2. "Good Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Awesome company to work for, great benefits and charity days. 9-5 Monday - Friday job for me and loved the people in the business.

    Cons

    Sales targets too high and seemed too hard to hit, Selling to customers things they didn't want! Too much pressure to hit, not a good bonus for hitting targets.

    Advice to Management

    Please focus on all colleagues due to the stress caused with this job. We work for you and towards YOUR targets too!

    Sage2019-06-03
  3. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Sales Representative 

      I worked at Sage full-time

      Pros

      The People were great good experience

      Cons

      The management The salary the sales team could be very cut throat

      Sage2019-06-03
    • Helpful (6)

      "Wolves in sheeps clothing"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Sales Executive in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Sage full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      9 - 5 (often bribed into overtime or shift changes) Free parking Onsite café (expensive however) 5 annual CSR days

      Cons

      Too many managers Unachievable targets Increase targets half way through the month Uncompetitive basic salary

      Advice to Management

      Listen to your frontline staff (who pay your wages) more and understand that we have lives outside of this building and mortgages to pay for as well.

      Sage2019-05-08

      Sage Response

      May 23, 2019VP, Talent Acquisition

      Thank you for your feedback. There are often opportunities for overtime and we always appreciate it when our people go the extra mile and show flexibility - that said, we’re also a responsible employer and if any of our people felt under pressure to do overtime or change their shift ...

      Show More
    • Helpful (35)

      "Avoid"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Sales Representative in Manchester, England
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at Sage full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      The people are what built Sage but too late to save it.

      Cons

      Totally lacking direction. Lost out to the competition and treat staff horrendously over last few years, 35 long serving loyal sales staff sacked without notice and most of good employees have now left of their own accorde .

      Advice to Management

      I fear it's too late, Sage have thought they were untouchable and treat their customers as a cash cow. By simply adding the word cloud to your core software does not make it a cloud solution.

      Sage2018-12-01
    • Helpful (2)

      "Going Places"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Sales Leader in Winnersh, England

        I have been working at Sage full-time (Less than a year)

        Pros

        Good executives that are customer focused Right vision for future direction of the company Great can-do attitude amongst support functions around sales Some excellent and unbelievably dedicated people Good offices in general Huge opportunity Loyal customer base and great brand

        Cons

        Newcastle - some employees who love to talk about the old days and how great it used to be Office in Newcastle needs attention Need to communicate externally better, we have so much to be proud of and nuggets of gold that we do not show off

        Advice to Management

        Just need great execution and focus on a few things and do them well Improve process efficiency This company has so much potential and we have the ability to dominant the space.

        Sage2018-09-28
      • Helpful (43)

        "Unhappy Work Life"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Sales Executive in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Sage full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        The brand although unfortunately having squeezed the pockets of accountants and small businesses for so long even that is met with disdain. I actually feel embarrassed to work here. My immediate team members are a great group of people but most of our conversations are about how unhappy we are.

        Cons

        Company lacks any vision or strategy. Products are over priced. Products are not keeping up with competition. Management doesn’t listen to any feedback and stifle any ideas. Systems so old you can’t do your job. Culture of back stabbing. Second hand car dealer mentality, sell it, move on, customers problem then. Unrealistic targets. Less than 20% of the team get any bonus.

        Advice to Management

        Listen to the feedback of your employees and clients. There is a reason that the competition are winning the accountancy market.

        Sage2018-08-03
      • Helpful (1)

        "It's what you make it..."

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Enterprise Sales in Winnersh, England
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        No Opinion of CEO

        I have been working at Sage full-time (Less than a year)

        Pros

        Lots of change and therefore opportunity. Fast-evolving and good people. Most are very positive and willing to help. Fair work life balance and enjoy the atmosphere in the office. Sage is a people focused company and treats employees well. It's amusing to read some reviews as their authors are in for a rude awakening if they believe Sage is difficult.

        Cons

        Need to be more nimble and not act as a big corporate. Faster execution, speed to market and hire people who are entrepreneurial rather than processes orientated.

        Advice to Management

        See Cons.

        Sage2018-05-02
      • Helpful (28)

        "Sales executive- go elsewhere. Horrendous"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Senior Sales Executive in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I have been working at Sage full-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        Used to make decent commission when sage was chasing a number

        Cons

        Ridiculous pressure Outdated products Buzz words used that mean nothing Team managers on the whole are useless, lazy and add no value- over paid Senior managers are on the whole equally rubbish. Use uk market as a cash cow. If chasing or behind a number, increase the price Focus on america- ceo rarely in the WORLD HEADQUARTERS- newcastle Too interested in linkedin posts showing what a great company it is, its...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        Pointless to suggest. Self gain at the expense of value for employees or customers. Stephen kelly needs to go. Chief executive officer of chaos. FAR TOO MANY PEOPLE MINCING AROUND WITH LAPTOPS DOING NOTHING

        Sage2018-05-19

        Sage Response

        May 22, 2018Channel Campaign Manager, Talent Acquisition Team

        Thanks for your feedback. We hope you raised your concerns during the many internal channels we have as well as completing the recent Your Voice survey. The results were published yesterday on YourSage, and shows the majority of Sage colleagues would recommend Sage as a place ...

        Show More
      • Helpful (2)

        "Sales apprentice"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Sales Apprentice in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Sage full-time (Less than a year)

        Pros

        The apprenticeship scheme at sage is excellent, a lot of help is available and I have managed to conduct myself in a more appropriate way since getting help from the brilliant coaches and I feel like my performance and capability has improved exceptionally. If ever feeling apprehensive about anything at all it is re assuring the support is available.

        Cons

        There are no cons working here

        Sage2018-02-15
      Found 132 reviews