Find jobs for Senior Software Engineer

Sage Senior Software Engineer Reviews

Updated 13 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.3
78%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
  1. "Really stepped up to the mark."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Sage full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The leadership team have really looked after us all during Covid-19

    Cons

    We will eventually move to Cobalt.

    Continue reading
    Sage2020-05-13
  2. "Brilliant Company to work for"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sage full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Impressive Leadership team at a difficult time

    Cons

    Still early days for me (<2 months in position) but none so far.

    Continue reading
    Sage2020-04-14
  3. Helpful (1)

    "People sharing the same passion towards technology and driven"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Reading, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sage full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Employees are driven Many opportunities to showcase your expertise

    Cons

    Location is little out of the city

    Sage2019-10-15
  4. Helpful (7)

    "Just a bad boss and I didn't fit the culture"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Reading, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sage full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Drinks on a Friday afternoon (Alcoholic), Lunch provided one day a week, Good induction

    Cons

    Didn't live up to the initial promises, team sessions down the pub were non existent, sweat shop, more interested in testing you rather than helping you get the job done.

    Continue reading
    Sage2019-08-16

    Sage Response

    August 23, 2019Global Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your feedback. Colleague success is important to us, and thus we work hard to create an environment in which our colleagues are able to thrive. Although stretch opportunities and development are important parts of our drive for innovation, we want to ensure that all colleagues feel supported in those pursuits within a balanced and rewarding work environment.

  5. Helpful (4)

    "Good place to work and getting better"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sage full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    So my last review of Sage was balanced but quite scathing of the then CEO and his policies. Since then we have a new CEO and importantly we can start to see the effects of this change in management. So I felt it time to write a new review (the old review has been deleted). Sage has a large number of product teams and an IS department that offer a wide variety of languages, platforms and frameworks. This means that even if the technology you want to work in isn't supported by your current team, chances are you'll be able to move at some point to another more suitable team. Common languages include C#, Javascript, Ruby, C++ and Apex. Common platforms include Azure, Salesforce and AWS. Common frameworks include Asp.Net, Ruby on Rails and Node. This is just a selection and there are no doubt many more. Sage encourages movement between teams, but you may need to wait for a spot to become available on another team before you can move. Mentorship is strong, there are a large number of highly skilled developers at Sage, this is of particular benefit if you are still at an early stage in your career as the chances are you will be partnered up with someone with at least 10 years experience. Job progression is encouraged, but don't expect to slide up the scale based on the number of years you have worked for Sage. You need to prove you are really good. The building despite showing its age in places, is still very much up to the job. It has good facilities, canteen, shop, cafe and gym can all be found on-site. Off-site the location is largely in the middle of an ever expanding housing estate, but there are lots of landscaped routes to walk or run around at lunchtime if you want to get out. Parking is good, but can be tricky if you get here after 9.30. Though there is a free public car park a few mins walk away which never fills up. Sage offers volunteer days which are well worth taking. Sage is generally strong on benefits often beating the local competition. Salaries are the norm for the role and the area but are backed up by a good pension, life assurance and health care to mention a few.

    Cons

    So looking back at my last review I was most strong against the Salesforce strategy enforced by the then CEO. The penny has now dropped in upper management and we have changed course on what I believe was a damaging route. There is still some Salesforce development within Sage, but if it is targeted towards existing Salesforce users then there is no means to suspect that it will not be a success. Many of the other hateful policies have gone, Sage has listened to its staff and it now feels a much better place to work. As a big company Sage still suffers from corporatism and all the baggage that brings. This has plus and minus effects. Pluses are that as a company things are pretty well organised. Cons, sometimes you feel that you are fighting against the machine.

    Continue reading
    Sage2019-03-21

    Sage Response

    March 21, 2019VP, Talent Acquisition

    Thanks very much for taking the time to share your thoughts. I'm glad that you think Sage is a great place to work and is getting better. Please continue to share your feedback - across all of our channels, we're listening and it really does help us make Sage even better together. Thank you.

  6. "Amazing company!!!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Talented Colleagues Flexibility Great Leadership Sage Foundation Days Great Culture I am so proud to be part of Sage family

    Cons

    None at this time :).

    Continue reading
    Sage2020-04-21
  7. Helpful (2)

    "You are only a number"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Barcelona
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sage full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Good atmosphere in the office with friendly people - Exposure to the latest technologies

    Cons

    - Too much power to Team Leaders. Let me go after less than a year without real and valid reasons. My former Team Leader didn't like, so he put me in a Performance Improvement Plan and fired, despite the results - Sometimes too much workload and changes without proper planning - No real benefits (flexible remuneration is not since it's a cut from your salary)

    Continue reading
    Sage2020-04-03

    Sage Response

    April 14, 2020Global Talent Brand Manager

    We are pleased you found our people and office atmosphere friendly. As a former Sage colleague, I am sure you contributed to creating that positive work environment, so thank you! Although we are not aware of your individual circumstances, our quarterly L.E.A.D review is a great place to stay connected to your manager, talk about professional career development opportunities, and review training classes available to help colleagues grow their skills and overall career. It is important that our colleagues feel heard, and it appears this was not your experience. We will never stop striving to improve and continue to put our colleagues and customers first.

  8. "Great Company to work for"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Beaverton, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sage full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great Company, Good Pay, Good Benefits, Flexibility, Great Leadership, Manager and Directors listens to us and overall it's great technology company to work for.

    Cons

    Some of the products are old in technology and not updated fully.

    Sage2020-01-23
  9. "Impactfull business"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Durban
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sage full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Alot of potential carrier growth. Clearly defined carrier path.

    Cons

    Bureaucratic processes can slow down the feedback loop.

    Sage2017-12-13
  10. Helpful (21)

    "Velocity above all else"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Pretoria, Gauteng
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Sage full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I have been at Sage for quite some time. For the first few years, I enjoyed it immensely. The people who work here used to really care about each other. Some still do.

    Cons

    After a few years of working here, Sage opted to consolidate their subsidiaries into a single global company. This in itself was not a bad thing, but the principles the business is run on has become detrimental to Sage's employees. Velocity is being punted over everything else. Your personal difficulties are no longer important to them. They squeeze you dry and when you have nothing left to give, they squeeze some more. There is no room for having a personal life and progressing while working for Sage. You either give everything for the job, or you are told that you don't put in enough extra work. The benefits are paltry and management's attempts at changing the perception can be compared to putting a cherry and sprinkles on a old, expired, tasteless ice cream. They want you to believe they want to reward you, but they do the absolute bare minimum. Sage tries to sell itself as a software company, but Research and Development, now called Product Delivery, is merely regarded as a supporting function. You cannot call yourself a software company if you don't allow for innovation when setting deadlines. Reviewing of colleagues performance is abysmal. It is practically impossible to exceed expectations. A set number of employees are allowed to exceed expectations and if you were not one of the lucky ones selected during a review cycle, it doesn't even matter if you performed above expectations. This has caused a dramatic shift to the level of input colleagues provide. Instead of improving their velocity, most colleagues feel it is futile to work harder as they are not being rewarded.

    Continue reading
    Sage2017-11-15
Found 21 reviews