Saint-Gobain Research Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Saint-Gobain Research Engineer Reviews

Updated 6 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
98%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Saint-Gobain CEO Pierre-André de Chalendar
Pierre-André de Chalendar
7 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Nice place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Engineer in Chennai
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Saint-Gobain full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work and life balance

    Cons

    Lack of futuristic vision

    Saint-Gobain2019-09-07
  2. "Research Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Engineer 

    I worked at Saint-Gobain full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexibility, Work & life balance

    Cons

    Salary is not so competetive

    Continue reading
    Saint-Gobain2019-04-08
  3. "Great company to develop a career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Engineer in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Saint-Gobain full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Multiple businesses offering different work profiles

    Cons

    Sometimes the decision making can be slow

    Saint-Gobain2019-02-03
  4. "good place to explore"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Engineer in Chennai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Saint-Gobain full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    All good, challenging role and best work/life balance

    Cons

    No cons I observed

    Saint-Gobain2018-09-17
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Researcher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Engineer in Chennai
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Saint-Gobain full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good work environment, people and work life balance.

    Cons

    Bad HR policies, salary and HR people.

    Continue reading
    Saint-Gobain2018-04-25
  6. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Engineer in Northborough, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Saint-Gobain full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Innovative and open minded culture. Lot's of very smart people, get to work with others globally in both R&D and manufacturing. Good safety cultures and company core values. Clear progression of roles, typically good resources to accomplish projects. Lot's of community events and ways to get involved outside of work. Work life balance is overall good but fairly often travel or long hours will change that. Matching 401k and pension plan.

    Cons

    Too much administrative work needs to be done by each person. Benefits are not that great. They will tell you it is competitive with the industry but why settle for average? Vacation time starts at 2wks, should be three for people coming out of college/grad school. Salary is good at first but quickly stagnates due to low cost of living wages that often barely beat out inflation. Too much time spent presenting results.

    Continue reading
    Saint-Gobain2018-01-12

    Saint-Gobain Response

    January 15, 2018HR DIrector

    Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. I am pleased to see you like working at Saint-Gobain. I know the administrative part of the role is not exciting (for anyone :-))! It is critical, however, to ensure we maintain our competitive advantage and our IP so thanks for taking the time to execute on this part of your job. As far as hiring diversity, we do this! We have over 32 Nationalities and 50 different schools represented here. We pride ourselves in hiring those who will look at problems differently. We reward those who deliver the best results to their businesses/customers, not those with the most tenure. Please see HR to get a better understanding of the process. I think we can clarify this for you. Thanks again!

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Good R&D Industrial R&D facility, not sure fit for the industry it serves. too much politics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Principal Research Engineer in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Saint-Gobain full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Worked in Northboro R&D center. good culture of industrial R&D and well organized. hire good people who like their job. good exposure to wide range of problem. They don't put too much limitation on what you can do or not to do; and there is not too much pressure on productivity so that you have freedom to explore.

    Cons

    too much politics and fight for control. the R&D culture suitable for large innovative projects might not well suitable for the industrial /market they serve which is more commodity and incremental improvement. therefore, the center becomes more of a show piece instead of producing enough break through products to justify its cost

    Continue reading
    Saint-Gobain2017-11-30

    Saint-Gobain Response

    December 1, 2017HR DIrector

    Thank you for taking time to write your review. I have to disagree with your comments on innovation, however, as 1 out of 4 products did not exist five years ago and our R&D teams are largely responsible for this contribution. In addition, we have been recognized for six years in a row as one of the top 100 Innovative organizations in the world. Even Google and Apple aren't getting this type of recognition. We are proud of what we have built not only in Northboro, but worldwide.

    Continue reading
  8. "Love it here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Senior Research Engineer in Northborough, MA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Saint-Gobain full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    culture, environment, collaboration, engaging, job satisfaction, growth opportunities

    Cons

    being a materials engineer, this is a dream company for me. No cons for me.

    Saint-Gobain2017-06-13

    Saint-Gobain Response

    June 25, 2017HR DIrector

    Thank you for taking the time to write this reiew. We work very hard to provide an enriching environment for everyone.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Initial review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Engineer in Chennai
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Saint-Gobain full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very very nice work environment

    Cons

    Very less money compared to other equivalent position in other companies

    Saint-Gobain2016-11-02
  10. "Saint-gobain research is good but indian centre is still developing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Engineer in Chennai
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Saint-Gobain full-time

    Pros

    good international exposure, Saint-gobain core policies good.

    Cons

    management needs to be trained. tamil is needed to work EFFECTIVELY with plant people in chennai No good learning opportunities for fresher as centre is still developing its competencies. talent is not being used properly.

    Continue reading
    Saint-Gobain2016-08-21
Found 17 reviews