SaleCycle Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

SaleCycle Reviews

Updated Sep 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 109 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
67%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
SaleCycle CEO Dominic Edmunds (no image)
Dominic Edmunds
79 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexible working hours and autonomous working environment(in 18 reviews)

  • "Great flexible working hours, refreshing to work for a company that encourages you to think outside of the box(in 13 reviews)

Cons
  • "Sales team don’t seem as polished, as I expected they’d be, but there seems to be a lot of effort going in to improving that currently(in 7 reviews)

  • "The training is non-existent, no one at the office actually knows what the product does(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good Company, plenty of learning opportinities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Durham, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SaleCycle full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Learning new tech stack Microservices divers language options, Unlimited Holidays

    Cons

    this is five words to mean minimum criteria of glassdoor

    SaleCycle2019-07-04
  2. Helpful (2)

    "I’m still here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Durham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SaleCycle full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I’ve been with the company longer than any position that I’ve held previously. I think it’s good fit for me and keeps me motivated. I know people across the digital marketing sector who are concerned about market conditions due to BREXIT, Retail woes, GDPR etc but the business is always transparent with its financial updates and I feel I made a good choice when looking a company with financial security and big... ambitions. It’s a hard line to walk but I think they’ve got it right.

    Show More

    Cons

    I think the desire to grow has meant that hiring standards dropped for a while and rectifying that meant clearing out some people who would be better suited to other careers or places of employment. It’s a shame but its a business at the end of the day and personally I want to work with the best so I understand it.

    Advice to Management

    Focus on quality of hires rather than quantity.

    SaleCycle2019-02-25
  3. Helpful (2)

    "As a developer, probably one of the best tech companies I've worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Houghton-le-Spring, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SaleCycle full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    This is the first review I've given on Glassdoor, so I'd like to think that counts for something. I've been at SaleCycle for half a year now but have been at various tech companies in North East England for the last 6+ years. SaleCycle is a rare gem for developers. The biggest pro for me is how the teams are managed, with a flat structure everyone has a say in how projects are architected and built and I've... never felt undermined or like my opinion doesn't count - which I've seen a lot at prior companies. Senior management are also actively involved in projects and JP (the interim CTO, formerly Head of Development) is always first to get involved and throw suggestions to problems or ideas for projects. The other pros for SaleCycle are around tech stack, although no company is perfect and we still have our fair share of legacy code. It is actively being replaced. Bit by bit chunks of the legacy codebase is being rewritten and migrated to our new stack. SaleCycle is a polyglot dev house, which is another big benefit to me - you're not stuck with one solution for all problems. Teams work in/or with a combination of Java, Kotlin, Go, Node, C# and React + Redux. Everything sits in AWS, and all infrastructure is backed by Cloudformation. We have a CI/CD pipeline set up through CircleCI. I guess the other pros from a dev perspective would be things like the Personal Development Time which is always pushed to be taken - I've been at places where we've had this but no time to take it, SaleCycle actively want their tech team to do this - which is fantastic in my opinion. Personal Development Time gives you half a day every 2 weeks to learn something on work time that's interesting to you. Most of the tech team use this as an opportunity to work on passion projects or work on their engineering weak spots. Probably the final benefit for me is that SaleCycle's domain and problems we're trying to solve are genuinely interesting and the amount of data that is being processed day-by-day and how it's being utilised is amazing.

    Show More

    Cons

    No companies perfect, for me the biggest con is the flat structure. I find that sometimes decisions that could have been made quickly can go on for longer than needed - sometimes you need a person to dictate the solution and a hierarchy of decision makers. We still have a reliance on a legacy tech stack, but as I've said above it's being migrated away bit by bit. Most projects sitting in teams are around... splitting up and rewriting the old stack.

    Show More
    SaleCycle2019-02-17
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great company that's still evolving"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Solutions Consultant in Houghton-le-Spring, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SaleCycle full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A great company with a good culture and many great benefits including healthy snacks, working from other offices, unlimited holidays.

    Cons

    Only thing to mention would be to introduce a remote working policy.

    SaleCycle2018-11-15
  5. "Simply Outstanding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in West Rainton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SaleCycle full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I’ve been meaning to write this review for months. Although I was only at Salecycle for a few months and left (on great terms) purely for personal reasons - it was 100% the best company I have ever worked for. I loved so many things about the place. Where do I start? Salecycle are innovative and collaborative and always looking for ways to optimise and improve. The staff are very competent but also happy to... collaborate and share their knowledge. The management team are outstanding - very understanding and enabling. The people - what do I say - utterly amazing. Such a varied and fun bunch to work with it. They make the place what it is. The culture is great, the management and HR team truly care about the welfare of each single person, I’ve never seen such action oriented and caring setup anywhere else. I’m female and in technology, I never felt that I was treated any differently to anyone else. I notice a previous review mentioning that females don’t do as well at Salecycle - I’ve seen no evidence of that, I was very surprised someone would make that statement as in my eyes, it couldn’t be further from the truth. Aside from all that, they really like to feed you!!! You get (amazing) cakes on pay day and a fully stocked kitchen with healthy snacks drinks etc. And there’s a pool table and a ping pong table which actually is a great thing as you can relax and have some fun with colleagues. I truly enjoyed my time at Salecycle and would have absolutely no reservations at recommending this ambitious, forward thinking and caring employer to anyone.

    Show More

    Cons

    Not a single one that I can think of.

    Advice to Management

    My only suggestion to management is - please consider more opportunities for permanent home working. I completely understand that the family atmosphere is down to everyone being so close and friendly and spending their time together but a right person would make it work regardless.

    SaleCycle2018-11-07
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Enjoyable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Enterprise Sales Consultant in Houghton-le-Spring, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at SaleCycle full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    SaleCycle have genuine and lovely staff who are awesome to work with. Whether it'd be in the UK office or US/Paris/Singapore, you'd always get help if you asked. Leaving was an extremely tough decision. Work/life balance was great with semi-flexi time and unlimited holiday. Working in sales has its ups and downs but the sales team were very good at sticking together and keeping the positive energy. The... opportunity to engage and talk to the biggest, most recognisable B2C brands in the world was always exciting and fun. It's a fast-paced environment where the companiy is growing at a remarkable rate and looking at new and exciting areas of the market.

    Show More

    Cons

    Whilst the growth can be exciting, it also comes with its flaws. Sales in any company does have a higher turnover than other roles. In my time at SaleCycle where I numerous Head of Sales, all with different ideas and plans. Some introducing multiple spreadsheets to report on when everything we did was already logged on SalesForce. Regions were changed numerous times so relationships you'd built up in 3 months were... then lost to another colleague (who also lost their relationships.) For me, the changes frustrated me to the point where, in my head, I would question how long this "new" process would last before it was changed again....my head started wander elsewhere and I felt it was time to move on. I do feel that the new Head of Sales in NEMEA is the perfect fit for the role and I look forward to hearing how well the team are doing.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I don't think that I can give you much advice, you're already doing a great job. Yes, mistakes have been made but they weren't drastic and like any growing company, you're learning like everyone else is. SaleCycle's an awesome place and I have some great memories of my time there, I'd thoroughly recommend it to anyone looking to move into marketing tech.

    SaleCycle2018-07-04

    SaleCycle Response

    March 11, 2019Head of Employee Engagement

    Hey Its been a while since this was posted, and I wanted to drop a response to say that the Head of Sales is still in position so we now have the stability that was perhaps lacking previously. We're still an awesome place to work and the positives you gave about the business still very much apply. Thanks for taking the time out to write this fab review Ali

    Show Less
  7. Helpful (7)

    "A fantastic place - more than a job to me."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Durham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SaleCycle full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I always thought this post would come when I one day sadly leave the company. It felt as though it would the best point to truly reflect on an experience somewhere. I feel compelled to write something now however, having seen what I would consider to be slanderous comments/reviews on here about a company which I really don't think deserves it. I understand there will always be people in a business who become upset... or disheartened about particular things, but I really do believe there have been some extreme posts on here which simply lie about SaleCycle and are not truly reflective of the company - which is a shame for everyone who is here and loving it. It's interesting to read back through months/years of posts/review to see exactly what accusations and predictions for the company have come to fruition. Some have said "it's a sinking ship", "the product isn't competitive", "destined to fail" - however, of course none of these have come true and the company continues to grow and progress more than ever! I have been at SaleCycle for over 3.5 years now and I can honestly say it has been brilliant from start to finish. Some particular pros for me are: The people - this isn't a normal company where everybody has their own goals and agendas that come before everything else, people here truly want to help each other and the business succeed. Clearly recruitment has a blueprint for the kind of person who aligns to the SaleCycle culture and it's working. The perks - unlimited holidays, free food every week, free CAKE on payday, your birthday off if it lands on a weekday, paid volunteer time, opportunities to work in other offices, pool tables, ping pong table, the list goes on... and on and on. The progression/innovation of the company - In 8+ years the company continues to grow and no matter what you might read on here in some reviews about problems/shortcomings, it stands as strong as ever and continues to dispel any doubt that is it a market-leader and will be for the foreseeable future. The intentions of the management - This is is very rapidly growing company and issues do crop up naturally as with any business which processes/organisation needs to catch up on, but I feel like Senior Management truly do have the best intentions in every circumstance and that is why things are resolved so well. People come first, and it's not just something that is said - it's really the case.

    Show More

    Cons

    Not the business' fault, but Park Management at Rainton are... a little difficult. Whether it's parking problems (which are thankfully now solved), the temperature of the office or even disputes with our food/drink vendors that regularly come, there's always something that seems to be an issue with them. Communication could still be better across the company, although this feels like another process which is... gradually catching up (as many others do with fast-growing companies).

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Continue to think about people first. It's not just a nice thing to say or a good selling point when recruiting, it's genuinely having a really positive impact on everybody, and that ties directly into the productivity and the progression of the company. I love hearing the disbelief of people when I tell them about where we work, and that's all down to the huge efforts to keep people happy and engaged.

    SaleCycle2018-06-10

    SaleCycle Response

    March 11, 2019Head of Employee Engagement

    Hi I am really pleased that you took the time out to write this review. After reading negative reviews about the business that I love it is fantastic to see that I'm not the only person who thinks we're an amazing place to work! I'm hoping that, although a few months have passed since you posted this review, that you still feel exactly the same (although I also hope that communications has got a little better already...) Ali

    Show Less
  8. Helpful (7)

    "Genuinely an awesome place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tech in Durham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SaleCycle full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Great people.. really great and talented group! - Direct management could not do enough to support and help. - Senior leadership see the value in people and support growth - The future is bright! Some incredible things in the pipelines for the business which promotes great excitement. - The client base is huge, meaning exposure to some big name brands across industries - Offices all over the globe, with... the opportunity to travel

    Show More

    Cons

    - The office can get a little hot in the summer

    Advice to Management

    Keep pushing the boundaries of how far we can go! Seeing real passion in leadership is dynamite.

    SaleCycle2018-06-05

    SaleCycle Response

    March 11, 2019Head of Employee Engagement

    Hi Thank you for taking the time out to leave a Glassdoor review. I completely agree with your feedback and we put a lot of thought into everything to do with the business and how we 'do business'. Its a great place to work and its great to hear that you Love What You Do! Ali

    Show Less
  9. Helpful (7)

    "A joke. Wish I could give minus 5 stars"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tech in West Rainton, England
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at SaleCycle full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Annual leave allowance is decent, free junk food and dress code are cool

    Cons

    Everything else. Especially the top management. “Bullies” doesn’t describe it enough. Unrealistic expectations, mixture of high tech and old school almost local government like behaviour, fake smiles, fake sympathy, fake everything. Also what I have heard from the current female employees - extremely sexist - unless you are a boy in the boys club. I haven’t experienced it myself though. The pros are also hidden... cons. Dress code? Yeah wear your jeans but look smart too. Annual leave? Great have as much as you want- just make sure you don’t take it. Free food? Fantastic - if you like to get unhealthy. Oh and the last thing. Don’t even try to apply if you have any disability. You will get bullied the whole time. Stay away

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop pretending that you care. You don’t. Stop trying to be cool, you’re not. You are middle age nerds who act like teenagers - so pathetic.

    SaleCycle2018-06-02

    SaleCycle Response

    June 21, 2018Head of Employee Engagement

    Hi there So, as I'm sure you can guess I took your review very seriously. Since reading your review I have managed to gain feedback from pretty much every member of our Tech team to see if there are any issues in the team that I am not aware of. I have been overwhelmed by the positivity I have heard from the whole team about working in the Tech team and being part of SaleCycle as a business. It has been a real pleasure for me to hear all the great things that have been said from the people who are in the team currently. From the collaborative ways of working that exist to the highly talented and intelligent colleagues that people work with and from the awful things that they've seen happen in other organisations to the fantastic culture in the Tech team and the wider business it has been really rewarding to listen to how much they love what they do and how united they are. This seems a frightfully long way from where you are with your experience and I'd really encourage you to get in touch so we can maybe meet up over a coffee to discuss how you're feeling and how I can help as we don't want anyone to feel the way you do. Our benefits are there for everyone to make use of including dressing down and unlimited annual leave and I'm genuinely surprised that you don't feel you're able to take advantage of these. We value expertise, talent and have fantastic people here at SaleCycle and it doesn't matter to us if they're male or female, have a disability or not. Its about what each of our individual members of staff bring to the business and what we can give in return for their contribution. From the discussions I've had with staff it is clear that we truly value diversity and I don't believe there are any issues like those you highlight so I would encourage you to use one of the feedback routes that we have, including one that is anonymous, to provide some more details around your comments. To close this response, I'm happy that nothing is going on that you have raised, but I am happy to talk through your experiences in detail so I'm able to help. Ali

    Show Less
  10. Helpful (2)

    "I love it!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SaleCycle

    Pros

    Great colleagues Interesting industry Ambitious, profitable, locally started business, but with a global attitude Friendly and supportive atmosphere Established but evolving product Structured processes, but not too stifling Autonomy and accountability Progression routes available Access to the managers of any department whenever needed Most of the senior management team are based in the the office and are really... knowledgeable, helpful and friendly Down to earth CEO Nice perks and good holiday allowance

    Show More

    Cons

    Sales team don’t seem as polished, as I expected they’d be, but there seems to be a lot of effort going in to improving that currently Gets a bit hot in the office sometimes, but that’s just the age old office temperature issue.

    Advice to Management

    Continue giving us visibility of company direction and progress, and don’t take too much notice of some of the reviews on here...I’m glad I didn’t!

    SaleCycle2018-02-17

    SaleCycle Response

    June 21, 2018Head of Employee Engagement

    Hey there Thanks for taking the time out to write a review on your experiences of SaleCycle. We value all feedback! You've highlighted some great parts of SaleCycle culture that makes us the business that we are. We employ the best talent and maintain our flexibility to be able to achieve the things that we do on a daily, monthly and yearly basis. Because we bring in highly talented people it means we can give them autonomy to make decisions and move the business forward so its great that you've recognised this as a positive about the business. We're really proud of the business we have evolved into and we continue to get better and better even if I do say so myself :o) We're investing heavily in sales and getting everyone to the same level to drive high performance and we're proud of the progress we've made so far. Hopefully you'll have seen an improvement too. Happy to have a chat to get your feedback about how else we can support. Ali

    Show Less
Found 109 reviews