Samsung Research America Reviews

Updated Aug 11, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 377 of over 514 reviews

3.8
69%
Recommend to a Friend
51%
Approve of CEO
Samsung Research America President Wonil Roh
Wonil Roh
6 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great work life balance for most people(in 31 reviews)

  • "Excellent overall work environment(in 30 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "There is no stock for compensation(in 21 reviews)

  • "SRA is a subsidiary of global Samsung(in 20 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    The latest conversations about Tech

    Join the conversation on

    Tech

    1y

    a 

    Technical Account Manager

    Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

    434

    62 Comments

    Tech

    284.1K Members 

    Ask candid career questions

    -1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/technology/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.co.uk&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=Samsung Research America~295294
    Join the conversation on
    1. 4.0
      Former Employee

      samsung

      Dec 7, 2020 - Analyst in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      good corporate brand and office

      Cons

      lack of flexibility and friendlieness

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Samsung Research America Response

      Sr. manager HR Ops

      Hello and thank you for your review. We wish you the best.

    2. 3.0
      Former Employee

      interaction design intern

      Jul 12, 2017 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      depending on the team, great people to work with. intern program is also usually lot of fun

      Cons

      have to find your own project which is difficult in intern position.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Great place to work

      Aug 11, 2022 - Principal in Mountain View, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Open-minded people. Great facilities. Dog-friendly office. Diversity.

      Cons

      Top Korean exec-driven company. Mostly rely on a Top-down approach rather than Bottoms-up.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Current Employee

      Poor Design Culture and Low Compensation

      Aug 8, 2022 - Staff Product Designer in Mountain View, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      None - there are no pros.

      Cons

      Worked for 5 years with no incentives and only 3% raise YoY

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Very good

      Jun 27, 2022 - Optical Design Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very great company proud to be part of it

      Cons

      No free food and taxes compensation

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Samsung Research America Response

      Director, Workforce Communications & Engagement

      Thank you for your feedback. It's great to hear you are enjoying your time at SRA. We are happy to share that we do offer free lunch for eligible employees and subsidize 50% of everything else. Email us at HRFeedback@samsung.com for more information.

    6. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Good team but too many self inflicted wounds from Korea Mothership

      Jun 18, 2022 - Senior Staff ASIC Engineer in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good team. US mgmt team overall is pretty good. Try to make the best mobile GPU to beat Qualcomm and Apple. I think the latest strategy to take on competitor is sound so potential is there.

      Cons

      But G2/Korea mothership keep on changing directions, redirecting resources and cancel projects. They dug a hole so deep themselves it maybe too late for them to catch up to their competitors.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Samsung Research America Response

      Director, Workforce Communications & Engagement

      Hello there. Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to hear you enjoy working with your team. Feel free to email us at HRFeedback@samsung.com. Have a great day.

    7. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Worse company and avoid, it will ruin your career

      Jul 5, 2022 - Research Scientist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Cannot imagine one, maybe free coffee?

      Cons

      This is the worst company I have ever worked, no management at all, especially on the software side. The management is chaos and there is no clear direction of any products. There are lots of researchers in so called "AI center" walking around and do little or garbage works. They got more money than the Korean head quarter but the only things they know is to copy, from everywhere: open-source GitHub, published code and other company's codebase. I believe Samsung will get sued for this very soon. I opted to leave because they asked me to use some online code to put in Samsung's software, I refused and left. Lots of incapable researchers and managers, very dangerous place to stay. Stay aways from this place if you don't want to be part of the accomplice

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Samsung Research America Response

      Director, Workforce Communications & Engagement

      Thank you for your feedback. We wish you could have given this feedback when you were an employee; Internal investigation will be conducted based on the feedback. We do appreciate your effort to make SRA a great place to work.

    8. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Good working enviroment

      May 27, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Friendly colleagues High salary Good

      Cons

      Stressfull job Huge load of works

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Samsung Research America Response

      Director, Workforce Communications & Engagement

      Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. It's great to hear you enjoyed your time at SRA. Best of luck to you in your next chapter.

    9. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Worst possible place to work

      Jun 15, 2022 - Senior User Experience Designer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Really none. Easy starting point to IT industry because they're always hiring?

      Cons

      Poor salary, promotions based on politics, horrible work & life balance, incompetent upper management, more like a subcontractor design company for HQ, no room for creativity. Avoid if possible.

      1 person found this review helpful

      Samsung Research America Response

      Director, Workforce Communications & Engagement

      We are sorry to hear about your negative experience. We wish you the best in your next chapter.

    10. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Good and Bad

      May 26, 2022 - Sales and Marketing Associate in Jersey City, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good company, great people. Great place to work

      Cons

      Tough organization. Cheap salary. Input jobs

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Samsung Research America Response

      Director, Workforce Communications & Engagement

      Thank you for your feedback. We wish you the best in your future endeavors.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 377 Reviews

    Samsung Research America Reviews FAQs

    Samsung Research America has an overall rating of 3.8 out of 5, based on over 514 reviews left anonymously by employees. 69% of employees would recommend working at Samsung Research America to a friend and 61% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -3% over the last 12 months.

    According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Samsung Research America employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.8 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Samsung Research America. This rating has decreased by -2% over the last 12 months.

    69% of Samsung Research America employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Samsung Research America 4.0 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.6 for culture and values and 3.7 for career opportunities.

    According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Samsung Research America to be career development, benefits, coworkers and the cons to be senior leadership, culture, management.

    Popular Careers with Samsung Research America Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Samsung Research America? Share Your Experiences

    or