Saudi Aramco Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated 10 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
73%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Saudi Aramco President and CEO Amin H. Nasser (no image)
Amin H. Nasser
241 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "everyone (including the expats) are absolute nut jobs(in 78 reviews)

  • "You do your job and pass on your expertise to young Saudis(in 23 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Too political"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Saudi Aramco

    Pros

    Good Work life balance Health insurance

    Cons

    Political environment Kills motivation Slow pace

    Saudi Aramco2020-02-10
  2. "Working at Saudi Aramco"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technology Consultant in Dhahran
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Saudi Aramco full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Money, benefits, pension, work life balance

    Cons

    no career progression, unfair PMP process. Expatriate employees not dealt with fairly.

    Saudi Aramco2019-12-09
  3. "Great benefit"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate JV Manager in Beijing, Beijing
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Saudi Aramco full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very good work-life balance. No work overtime.

    Cons

    Limited promotion space, because the managers are almost sent from their country.

    Saudi Aramco2019-11-06
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Ups and downs"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Contracts Advisor in Yanbu
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Saudi Aramco full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Work/life balance (based on job nature) Good pay Job security Home ownership assistance

    Cons

    Worst performance appraisal system ever Unfair treatment is common and accepted by high management Too much to do that you have to stay more hours with no overtime Unhealthy environment appraisal system makes employees hate each other Show is more important than work

    Continue reading
    Saudi Aramco2019-06-21
  5. "Good for settlement, bad for career progression"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Saudi Aramco full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    good work life balance not very demanding, depends on where you work

    Cons

    no career development opportunities management is based on seniority, so old minds hold the decision seats

    Continue reading
    Saudi Aramco2019-05-30
  6. "Community Engagement"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer III in Dhahran
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Saudi Aramco full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great work life balance and community engagement

    Cons

    Not many career development opportunities

    Saudi Aramco2019-04-24
  7. Helpful (12)

    "As a member of the Human Resources Department... I do not recommend"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources in Dhahran
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Saudi Aramco full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Average 32 vacation days per year, work/life balance, company covers majority of costs to send children to boarding school (high school children only).

    Cons

    Honestly, Aramco in general is a hostile working environment. They speak of 'great initatives' however, do not expect to see those initiatives come to life. Women are not valued (Saudi and expat), the performance rating scale is forced - if you are not a favorite, don't expect a good annual bonus. Many say the salary is great however, content is required. The salaries are higher than most companies - if you look outside the Oil/Gas industry. However, compared to other national oil/gas companies around the world, compensation is standard. Again, this is coming from an HR Business Partner - who has visibility to everything behind closed doors at the senior management level. No, I am not a bitter employee, I actually receive great performance reviews. However, my high performance reviews do not make me oblivious to my surroundings or oblivious to the struggles of my colleagues.

    Saudi Aramco2019-05-08
  8. "Engineer"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Saudi Aramco full-time

    Pros

    Good work life balance Friendly environment

    Cons

    Slow promotion process Long processes

    Saudi Aramco2019-04-08
  9. "Penny pinchers"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Saudi Aramco

    Pros

    Good work/life balance and decent work environment.

    Cons

    Its hard to believe you are working for the most valuable company in the world! Financial incentives are diminishing every year due to following: 1. Increasing  Saudi taxes you are expected to pay lump sum while other companies pay them on behalf of their employees. 2. Bring you over from a foreign country and make you pay full rent & bills (electric etc.) of housing in the camp. 3. Education allowance no longer covers full education fees because "they phased out the grandfather system" and schools are increasing fees substantially. 4. You are responsible for paying visas (the right to go in and out of a country you are a resident in!) Also rising.... 5. Incremental annual increases are way below tge very high rates if inflation Saudi Arabia is experiencing. 6. There is a wide gap between US employees and "other" nationalities who are treated in every aspect as 2nd class even if you work harder and better at your job than your American counterpart. When you add all these costs and compare them against current salaries the incentive to move from another country and work for SA diminish.

    Continue reading
    Saudi Aramco2019-01-19
  10. "Good job and nice career path"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Saudi Aramco full-time

    Pros

    Advanced degree program; work-life balance

    Cons

    You cannot get what you want in terms of development

    Continue reading
    Saudi Aramco2018-11-27
Found 48 reviews