Save the Children Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Save the Children Reviews

Updated 17 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
60%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Save the Children President & CEO Carolyn Miles
Carolyn Miles
95 Ratings
Pros
  • "wonderful work environment with helpful staff(in 33 reviews)

  • "People understand the desire for work/life balance and the full time employees are very respectful of each other's time(in 17 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Second Line Support in Farringdon, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Save the Children full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Learn a lot from the resource they have

    Cons

    Not enough resource to push you into the area you want to develop into

    Save the Children2019-11-17
  2. "Good pay, lack of career progression"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Programmer Manager in London, England

    I have been working at Save the Children full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great pay, great maternity package, work life balance is usually okay.

    Cons

    Parental leave is appalling, lack of career progression

    Continue reading
    Save the Children2020-02-12
  3. "Quality programming using top down approach"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Advisor in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Save the Children full-time

    Pros

    Ample Networking opportunities. Focus on quality programming

    Cons

    Lacks diversity and use top down approach to programming. Hierarchical and stressful environment

    Continue reading
    Save the Children2020-02-18
  4. "Inspiring place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Fundraising Coordinator 

    I worked at Save the Children full-time

    Pros

    Lots of opportunities for internal promotion, working across departments

    Cons

    Workload is sometimes a lot

    Save the Children2019-12-10

    Save the Children Response

    December 30, 2019Director, Talent Acquisition

    Thank you so much for your feedback. We absolutely get it... the work we do isn't easy, but we are glad that you invested your time and talents with us. Thank YOU for all you've done, and we hope that our paths cross again soon!

    Continue reading
  5. "SAVE GODS' CHILDREN !"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Volunteer in Hendon, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Save the Children part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Best kids charity in the world

    Cons

    As an Unpaid volunteer the jobs' benefits are more than just monetary.

    Continue reading
    Save the Children2019-11-03
  6. "Good charity organisation to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Save the Children full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice and relax environment - good people, patient and helpful. Good place to work on your career development. Also your contribution is for a good cause - great feeling and makes you forget the hard work you do.

    Cons

    Salary is low for the same role on the market.

    Save the Children2019-07-22
  7. "Technical advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Education Specialist 

    I have been working at Save the Children full-time

    Pros

    Travel, Diverse job, great team

    Cons

    HR, benefits, payscale, work hours

    Save the Children2019-04-22

    Save the Children Response

    May 18, 2019Director, Talent Acquisition

    Hey there... it's HR, and we're listening! We'd love to know your thoughts about how we can improve what we're doing. Please feel free to reach out to me directly at tferrett@savechildren.org

    Continue reading
  8. "Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Save the Children full-time

    Pros

    Nice and committed colleagues, good work

    Cons

    Not much money, but otherwise ok

    Continue reading
    Save the Children2018-08-27

    Save the Children Response

    September 10, 2018Director, Talent Acquisition

    Hi there! Thank you so much for your feedback. We appreciate the kind words about your colleagues... we think the people here are awesome, too! Did you have an opportunity to do an exit interview? We'd love to know more about your concerns!

    Continue reading
  9. "Making a Difference"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Save the Children full-time

    Pros

    Relaxed working environment with lots of dedicated professionals

    Cons

    The nature of the work means lots of travel, sometimes overseas

    Save the Children2018-06-28

    Save the Children Response

    July 6, 2018Director, Talent Acquisition

    And we're dedicated to you, too! Thanks for all you do... we know it's tough, but working with people like you and the children we serve makes it worth it!

    Continue reading
  10. "Great Working Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Save the Children for less than a year

    Pros

    Very friendly, tolerant, creative and inclusive working environment.

    Cons

    Due to high amount of employees projects get dragged around a lot.

    Save the Children2018-06-13

    Save the Children Response

    July 6, 2018Director, Talent Acquisition

    Awwww... thanks!! We'd love your feedback on ways we can be more efficient... would you drop me a line at tferrett@savechildren.org? You know, the faster we get things done, the more kids we can serve!!!!

    Continue reading
Found 328 reviews