Savers Health and Beauty Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Savers Health and Beauty Reviews

Updated 5 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
47%
Recommend to a Friend
51%
Approve of CEO
Savers Health and Beauty CEO Doug Winchester
Doug Winchester
41 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good team members and manager, Superdrug discount card(in 11 reviews)

  • "There are many good reason for me to work at Savers in Catford I have always had a nice ad happy welcoming, as soon as I step into the store(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "Favouritism is rife amongst area managers(in 14 reviews)

  • "I can not think of any bad things to say about savers all I know is that if there is a situation I know it will be sorted straight away(in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Fabulous opportuni"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Savers Health and Beauty full-time

    Pros

    best place to work ever

    Cons

    cleaner work environment and employee progression

    Savers Health and Beauty2019-04-23
  2. "Great people to work with but management lacking."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Worcester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Savers Health and Beauty part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Co-workers really friendly and put you at ease. Relatively busy so there were always things to do.

    Cons

    Management was definitely lacking and the assistant manager was on a power trip. If you called in sick you were made to feel bad and at fault.

    Savers Health and Beauty2019-12-05
  3. "Two faced"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Barking, East of England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Savers Health and Beauty part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly and comforting colleagues Good training

    Cons

    Rude managers Wasn’t paid for training

    Advice to Management

    Mange you’re managers attitudes better

    Savers Health and Beauty2019-12-05
  4. "Good Employees but not the best company to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant 

    I worked at Savers Health and Beauty part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good employees - friendly

    Cons

    The constant change of managers SAS was extremely hard on your targets especially if you did not achieve the targets

    Savers Health and Beauty2019-11-17
  5. "Lovely people , band company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Gateshead, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Savers Health and Beauty part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lovely manager, really nice team

    Cons

    Long hours no breaks bad pay

    Savers Health and Beauty2019-11-16
  6. "Was alright, management was not great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Sudbury, East of England, England
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Savers Health and Beauty part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good colleagues and was a good first job.

    Cons

    Put pressure on active-selling and meeting targets. Wasn't paid after 6pm if we had to clean up.

    Savers Health and Beauty2019-11-13
  7. "Hard work for little reward"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant in Glasgow, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Savers Health and Beauty part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good teammates can make it tolerable

    Cons

    No sitting down, sometimes standing behind a till for 10 hours a day. Constant pushing to sell and meet difficult SAS targets A lot of pressure put on to sell and management are never satisfied, no rewards for doing well You could be top in the company for selling and you would still only get a £2 scratch card as a reward Very little is spent on equipment in store, the mops are of very low quality and... it’s difficult to mop an entire shop within 15 minutes. Often threatened with being made to stay late until the shop is fully mopped properly. Usually only one kick stool and one price gun which makes it difficult to query customer questions and to keep the store neat.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    The constant use of the word push for selling sas really wears thin, people try their best but you cannot force people to buy things they do not want. Targets are always unrealistic and “giving sas a push” really doesn’t do anything when people are already trying their best. The company want you to force people to smell testers by holding it out to them and some people are allergic and it could cause them to suffer... a reaction. We get no rewards for selling, only a sigh of relief that we won’t be in red that week and get a talking to.

    Show More
    Savers Health and Beauty2019-09-24
  8. "Nice place for retail"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shop Floor Assistant in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Savers Health and Beauty part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good team members and manager, Superdrug discount card

    Cons

    Early starts, expected to do lots in short time

    Advice to Management

    Non, management was good

    Savers Health and Beauty2019-09-21
  9. "Meh."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Savers Health and Beauty part-time

    Pros

    Hmmm.. this may take a while. I’ve met a nice manager and 2 nice assistant managers but the obsession with scs is extreme. What am i getting out of this? i do not know

    Cons

    Haven’t got superdrug discount, I have been bullied by an assistant manager for the past few days he has been covering my actual manager. He hasn’t bullied anyone else just been picking on me constantly especially about scs! Giving me £60 targets for an 4 hour shift and getting my face telling me i am not doing the scs properly and trying hard enough when i am asking every customer and trying my best but how can i... get people to buy £20 perfumes/tooth brush’s and £15 razors when they clearly are not interested in the products on “offer”. I understand active selling but if it’s like a pound chocolate bar or something like b&m/pound shop do. But come on! I am also the youngest in my team and i am being be littled even though i am the one covering shifts and doing extra ones since everyone who has been hired have children and are limited to their hours. I have been coming in at 6am too help open up the store and put out delivery and i’m getting talked about by staff members as “younger people can not handle retail” and cannot do the job. So.. yeah my first month at savers started off fun and good but after i am realising how much work i am putting in and how little i am getting out of it. I mean what am i getting out of scs? please someone tell me. The whole trips and bags etc are a con that we are told about at the interview, i was told this by a member of an different store. I am debating just leaving but i like my manager and i enjoy the job but this scs is a load of rubbish and just isn’t needed. I am there to do a job in retail not be a slave and bullied by older team members just because i am young.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of scs and sort out your staff/assistant managers :))

    Savers Health and Beauty2019-09-26
  10. "Bad management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor in North Watford, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Savers Health and Beauty part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    No pros, nothing that i can be happy about

    Cons

    Bad management, poor management blabla

    Advice to Management

    Change management

    Savers Health and Beauty2019-10-11
Found 121 reviews