Scania Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Scania Reviews

Updated 19 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 423 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
85%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Scania CEO Per Hallberg
Per Hallberg
51 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "o tem plano de carreira, caso queira subir de cargo tem que mudar de setor, mas mesmo assim n(in 38 reviews)

  • "es criativas justamente pelo alto respeito ao plano de carreira proposto(in 37 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Aftersales in Banbury, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Scania full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I love my job and the people I work with, this makes my experience working for scania even better.

    Cons

    Long hours and not that great pay for the hours.

    Scania2018-06-21
  2. "Horrible place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technician in Middleton, Greater Manchester, North West England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Scania

    Pros

    The company car scheme is very good

    Cons

    Lots of cons avoid this place

    Scania2019-06-09
  3. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Scania full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Friendly Colleages. Good staff benefits such discount at retailers and a good deal on a lease cars through the VW Staff Scheme. Annual pay rises.

    Cons

    Limited capacity to progress as people tend to stay in their role for years,regardless if they are good or bad, it’s very much a who you know culture to get promoted,also it’s seems you are rewarded for failure,plenty of times I have seen people who were useless at their role get moved on to better things, as the people who excel get nothing.

    Advice to Management

    The business need to communicate better to regional staff ,it’s still a case of them and us mentality depot vs head office, also instead if spending vast amount of money on head office staff events, staffing levels at local depots are seriously low and the workload on staff is becoming unbearable.

    Scania2018-11-29
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Paint Sprayer in Sheffield, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Scania full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    No reason to work here

    Cons

    Everyone is on different contracts and pay no team spirit at all

    Scania2018-08-03
  5. Helpful (2)

    "If bullying and rows are your thing this could be right up your street"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mechanical Engineer in West Thurrock, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Scania full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Never found any did not stay that long

    Cons

    Found myself working at Thurrock not by choice I must add . I had heard some bad things about this company they turned out to be all true . Gone now thank God!

    Advice to Management

    Get a grip

    Scania2018-06-27
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Political, Draconian, Resistant to Change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Milton Keynes, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Scania full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Good range of food at the canteen - Pay (for myself) is among the industry average - Investing in a new office (much needed) - Employees are passionate about the brand

    Cons

    - Never have I worked in an office with as much political drama as Scania GB - For a relatively small HQ implementing change is extremely difficult, many hoops to jump/red tape - Average length of service has resulted in institutionalised staff who are resistant to what is standard industry practice from being implemented - Bullying amongst management seems to be accepted, I have witnessed a manager shout down an...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - Ignore Sweden and invest in IT infrastructure now - Performance manage those employees out of the business who are coasting/riding towards retirement - Change management structure - Bring in a range of consultants for all business areas to review, recommend and implement improvements - Consider reviewing the benefits package for all employees e.g. buy and sell holiday, flexi time, dress down days, job share, Christmas...

    Show More
    Scania2018-04-16
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Bullys"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - HGV Technician in Bradford, Yorkshire and the Humber, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Scania full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Jobs a job wouldn't recommend

    Cons

    Bully management put me through hell in the time I was there was told I wasn't good enough and undermined. I wrote several grievances to HR but this was swept under carpet I have since moved on and advanced my career away from this mess

    Advice to Management

    Advice to Scania is look at the management core in gb and get rid of the secret handshake club .

    Scania2018-04-01
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Complete lack of capability in the UK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Milton Keynes, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Scania full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    If you really liked Mad Men then you will really like this.

    Cons

    If you are female your boss will steal your ideas and present them as his own. They are utter laggards. The capability of the management team is astonishingly poor. Bullying is widespread.

    Advice to Management

    Bring in consultants to restructure your business, and fresh blood from industry experts.

    Scania2017-08-05
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Favoritism and blinkered, but Historically a great company to work for... Love working for them!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Scania full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great product, Can progress within the company if you say the right things to the right people, If you are a 'yes man', you could have a great future. Agree if you work past 4 years of service, chances are you don't want to move on anywhere else, unless forced too.

    Cons

    Show any sign of progression and voice an opinion, then you will be thrown to the Wolves. Senior Management have there favorites who can do no wrong at branch level, even though some are very condescending and goes beyond bullying (Verbal) Company Core Value - Respect for the individual - Only if your face fits.

    Advice to Management

    Don't forget about experience of long term employees, just because we are not the 'new wave' of management, we still have branch, customer knowledge. Don't destroy the enthusiasm in employees.

    Scania2017-03-20
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Culture of bullying"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Scania full-time

    Pros

    The salary is reasonable and the benefits package is good.

    Cons

    Bullying is accepted, minority groups not respected. Management is unwilling to stand up to long standing members of staff who treat others poorly. Nepatisum is evident.

    Advice to Management

    Bring in more experience from outside the company, stand up to those who treat others poorly. Just because something has been done one way for several years does not mean that it works.

    Scania2017-02-05
Found 423 reviews