Scania Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Scania Reviews

Updated 13 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
86%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Scania CEO Per Hallberg
Per Hallberg
59 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Poucas oportunidades e falta de plano de carreira(in 52 reviews)

  • "o havia um plano de carreira de carreira para os funcion(in 49 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - BDM in Milton Keynes, England
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Scania full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Culture, Benefits, Management, worldwide brand

    Cons

    Can't think of any, it was great, would go back there anytime.

    Advice to Management

    Managers need to have understanding/experience of the business unit their are in.

    Scania2019-08-07
  2. "Awful company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Executive 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Scania full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fake caring about people / employees

    Cons

    I complained to HR about a manager then when a meeting was set, it had been twisted to try and look as if I had done wrong.

    Advice to Management

    Fire yourself. Please I left before it got anymore toxic

    Scania2019-11-06
  3. "Horrible place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Technician in Middleton, Greater Manchester, North West England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Scania

    Pros

    The company car scheme is very good

    Cons

    Lots of cons avoid this place

    Scania2019-06-09
  4. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Scania full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Friendly Colleages. Good staff benefits such discount at retailers and a good deal on a lease cars through the VW Staff Scheme. Annual pay rises.

    Cons

    Limited capacity to progress as people tend to stay in their role for years,regardless if they are good or bad, it’s very much a who you know culture to get promoted,also it’s seems you are rewarded for failure,plenty of times I have seen people who were useless at their role get moved on to better things, as the people who excel get nothing.

    Advice to Management

    The business need to communicate better to regional staff ,it’s still a case of them and us mentality depot vs head office, also instead if spending vast amount of money on head office staff events, staffing levels at local depots are seriously low and the workload on staff is becoming unbearable.

    Scania2018-11-29
  5. Helpful (5)

    "Poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Paint Sprayer in Sheffield, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Scania full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    No reason to work here

    Cons

    Everyone is on different contracts and pay no team spirit at all

    Scania2018-08-03
  6. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Aftersales in Banbury, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Scania full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I love my job and the people I work with, this makes my experience working for scania even better.

    Cons

    Long hours and not that great pay for the hours.

    Scania2018-06-21
  7. Helpful (2)

    "If bullying and rows are your thing this could be right up your street"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mechanical Engineer in West Thurrock, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Scania full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Never found any did not stay that long

    Cons

    Found myself working at Thurrock not by choice I must add . I had heard some bad things about this company they turned out to be all true . Gone now thank God!

    Advice to Management

    Get a grip

    Scania2018-06-27
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Political, Draconian, Resistant to Change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Milton Keynes, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Scania full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Good range of food at the canteen - Pay (for myself) is among the industry average - Investing in a new office (much needed) - Employees are passionate about the brand

    Cons

    - Never have I worked in an office with as much political drama as Scania GB - For a relatively small HQ implementing change is extremely difficult, many hoops to jump/red tape - Average length of service has resulted in institutionalised staff who are resistant to what is standard industry practice from being implemented - Bullying amongst management seems to be accepted, I have witnessed a manager shout down... an employee resulting in tears - IT infrastructure is around 20 years where it needs to be today's market place - Senior management seem content with 'not rocking the boat' given that the company has a steady profit margin (much can be improved but overlooked/ignored) - Staff progression/promotion within the company is minimal - Some staff still working a 8-6 shift with only 45 mins break

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - Ignore Sweden and invest in IT infrastructure now - Performance manage those employees out of the business who are coasting/riding towards retirement - Change management structure - Bring in a range of consultants for all business areas to review, recommend and implement improvements - Consider reviewing the benefits package for all employees e.g. buy and sell holiday, flexi time, dress down days, job share,... Christmas parties, free fruit.

    Show More
    Scania2018-04-16
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Bullys"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - HGV Technician in Bradford, Yorkshire and the Humber, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Scania full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Jobs a job wouldn't recommend

    Cons

    Bully management put me through hell in the time I was there was told I wasn't good enough and undermined. I wrote several grievances to HR but this was swept under carpet I have since moved on and advanced my career away from this mess

    Advice to Management

    Advice to Scania is look at the management core in gb and get rid of the secret handshake club .

    Scania2018-04-01
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Complete lack of capability in the UK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Milton Keynes, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Scania full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    If you really liked Mad Men then you will really like this.

    Cons

    If you are female your boss will steal your ideas and present them as his own. They are utter laggards. The capability of the management team is astonishingly poor. Bullying is widespread.

    Advice to Management

    Bring in consultants to restructure your business, and fresh blood from industry experts.

    Scania2017-08-05
Found 471 reviews