Schibsted Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Schibsted Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 95 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
71%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Rolv Erik Ryssdal
54 Ratings
Pros
  • "(in 9 reviews)

  • "Smart colleagues, friendly people, great offices and work environment, work life balance, fun environment(in 7 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Product Designer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Designer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Schibsted full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Growing quickly, allows me to work on meaningful projects and have an impact. I really enjoy working with my team, smart, dedicated, and fun bunch to be around.

    Cons

    Some functions and teams are still being built out. It can be a challenge to deal with areas where this is the case.

    Advice to Management

    Company is still figuring out internal structure, but seems to be on the right track so there's lots of opportunity to make a difference!

    Schibsted2018-07-25
  2. "Dynamic work environment to progress within"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Schibsted full-time

    Pros

    Digital Media Giant with global reach

    Cons

    Slow to understand local market conditions

    Schibsted2019-05-02
  3. Helpful (4)

    "No"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Schibsted full-time

    Pros

    Nice office with a lot of space for every employee.

    Cons

    Lack of strategy and bad decisions leave you without any expectations that the work you do has any value at all.

    Schibsted2018-12-04
  4. "Schibsted London"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Back End Developer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Schibsted full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    good environment, high bar to get there

    Cons

    lack of good projects in London

    Schibsted2018-11-13
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Product"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Schibsted full-time

    Pros

    Travel is great The marketplace is a good industry Compensation People Location

    Cons

    Office is dead with the recent exodus of employees

    Schibsted2018-08-17
  6. "Poorly managed, low-skilled tech team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Schibsted full-time

    Pros

    Flexi-time, lots of travelling if you like that.

    Cons

    - Fast hiring of low-quality people means the quality of the product internally is shocking - Managers don't know what they're doing and are disconnected from what's happening on the ground - My manager literally said to me 'We have to program at the level of the lowest common denominator'. Ie, they were hiring crap people and needed fake velocity rather than a quality product - The product I was building didn't exist...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Hire people who know what they're doing. Stop promoting low-skilled people to tech-lead positions.

    Schibsted2018-07-29
  7. Helpful (6)

    "Great idea terrible execution"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product & Tech in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Schibsted full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    It was a great team with lots of talent. Once the main projects in London were shut down in December 2017 everyone left.

    Cons

    A complete lack of understand of product and tech means. No desire to run a modern business. Schibsted invested $150m EUR in a new product & tech team, new platform but forgot about the strategy. 2 years later all the projects are shut down and all the talent has gone.

    Advice to Management

    Close the London office, sell the emerging markets and focus back on the core markets

    Schibsted2018-05-29
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Challenging but tons of fun"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Schibsted full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A real chance to make an impact in a company with great people, a energising work environment and growth momentum in the business

    Cons

    A little chaotic at times and it takes a while to navigate around the company to ensure you have the right network

    Advice to Management

    Be clear on the Vision and continue to energise your people.

    Schibsted2018-03-29
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great company and culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Schibsted full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Smart colleagues, friendly people, great offices and work environment, work life balance, fun environment

    Cons

    Has undergone some change and needs to ensure it doesn’t lose its culture and purpose

    Advice to Management

    Focus on what your mission is and communicate this to your employees to ensure the great culture remains and we continue to hire great people!

    Schibsted2018-03-15
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Amazing Offices v Horrendous Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Schibsted full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Amazing offices; great facilities and west end location . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

    Cons

    Culturally brutal. Inappropriate behaviour indulged . HR are disconnected at best. Mass exodus over past 6 months and management disenaged.

    Advice to Management

    Figure out your global values. Be clear on product direction. Value what few great staff remain. Lead from the top with visibility, strength and zero tolerance.

    Schibsted2018-03-19
Found 95 reviews