Schuh Limited Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Schuh Limited Reviews

Updated 14 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 347 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
78%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Schuh Limited CEO Colin Temple
Colin Temple
150 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay, pay above minimum wage for under 21s(in 44 reviews)

  • "Good hourly rate, good discount, extra shifts available(in 33 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Cardiff, Wales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Schuh Limited part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Allow you to transfer between stores - great for students

    Cons

    Add a commission or bonus structure

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you’re doing

    Schuh Limited2019-06-11
  2. "Very good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant 

    I worked at Schuh Limited part-time

    Pros

    Nice people Good pay Good work conditions

    Cons

    Sometimes require weekend shifts Tricky customers

    Schuh Limited2019-06-14
  3. "Review of current job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Advisor in Dundee, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Schuh Limited part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing friendly staff Helpful and supportive management Constructive criticism rather than getting told you were wrong Amazing training

    Cons

    Cant really think of cons only one really is varied rather than set weekly hours for part time staff

    Schuh Limited2019-06-11
  4. "Poor Management - toxic & negative work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Advisor in Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Schuh Limited part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great team to work with - made some amazing friends. Good pay for under 21s and 25% & 40% discount on products.

    Cons

    The management is awful. They are constantly picking on you and trying to find your faults and berate you about them. They are too focused on following checklists which are carried out on staff members on a monthly basis. Management love to pick out your flaws within your customer service and criticise you, even though individuality is a factor which they mark you on. They are also too focused on making sales, often...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Treat your staff with respect and dignity. We have lives outside of our 3-hour contracts, on which you hold us to ransom. After all, we are only selling shoes, it should be an enjoyable part-time job.

    Schuh Limited2019-06-13
  5. "Good flexible experience, sometimes too targeted and busy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Sales Advisor 

      I worked at Schuh Limited part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Good pay for the job Flexible shifts/easy to shop

      Cons

      Targets often seemed arbitrary Can get extremely busy

      Schuh Limited2019-05-29
    • "Amazing"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Part-time Sales Advisor in Greenhithe, England
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Schuh Limited part-time (Less than a year)

      Pros

      Amazing I loved every bit of it

      Cons

      None I could even name

      Advice to Management

      Keep doing what you’re doing

      Schuh Limited2019-05-24
    • "Good pay"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Sales Associate 

      I worked at Schuh Limited part-time (Less than a year)

      Pros

      They were flexible we, great company benefits and rate.

      Cons

      too much focus on target

      Schuh Limited2019-05-20
    • "Great management team, really good discount, nice people, fun place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Sales Assistant in Glasgow, Scotland

      I have been working at Schuh Limited part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Management, good discount, wear what you like

      Cons

      Lack of hours, too many staff members

      Schuh Limited2019-05-17
    • "Good job for students"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Sales Assistant 

      I worked at Schuh Limited part-time

      Pros

      Guaranteed minimum of 3 hours a week, with overtime available as and when. Ideal for students, as not required to commit to too many hours meaning you can juggle education commitments at the same time. It allows a lot of contact time with customers, that means even on slow days you're not simply standing around in silence (something I hate).

      Cons

      Shambolic at times if they do not hire the right amount of staff to cover busy periods.

      Schuh Limited2019-05-17
    • "good"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Schuh Limited part-time

        Pros

        benefits of discounts is good

        Cons

        managers are very hypocritical

        Schuh Limited2019-05-30
      Found 347 reviews