Scott Dunn Reviews

Updated 2 Jan 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
75%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Scott Dunn CEO Sonia Davies
Sonia Davies
7 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great working environment with lots of opportunities because the company is growing quickly(in 5 reviews)

  • "There is a great team of people in a fast pace environment(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "Time sheets fabricated and signatures forged on said(in 3 reviews)

  • "Other companies such as VIP Ski and YSE do this much better(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. "Excellent company to work for"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Chichester, England, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Scott Dunn full-time

    Pros

    Friendly people, nice environment and clear progression structure. Fantastic travel opportunities.

    Cons

    Work load can be high and pressured during peak travel periods.

  2. "Manager salary"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Chichester, England, England

    I have been working at Scott Dunn full-time

    Pros

    People are nice. Flexible working.

    Cons

    Repeatativr work Will get you bored.


  3. "A great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing in London, England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Scott Dunn full-time

    Pros

    Lovely, flexible, great CEO and vision.

    Cons

    Not many at all to be honest!

  4. "Hard work and great people."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Operations Team Leader in London, England, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Scott Dunn full-time

    Pros

    Working in travel is fun and this company has a great team of people. Great work-life balance.

    Cons

    Do not expect a big salary or great benefits.

    Scott Dunn Response

    October 14, 2020Chief People Officer

    Thank you for the positive review. We believe there are many positive aspects to working in travel and that Scott Dunn encourages a friendly and welcoming culture.

  5. "Great company in some ways"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Sales Consultant in London, England, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Scott Dunn full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Friendly staff, nice office location by the river, good travel benefits

    Cons

    Management has become very money focused and less staff and service focused

    Continue reading

    Scott Dunn Response

    October 14, 2020Chief People Officer

    Thank you for your feedback. We agree the culture at Scott Dunn is one that is friendly and welcoming. In a challenging year for travel, the Management Team has done its best to balance the needs of the business with the engagement and wellbeing of our teams around the world.

  6. "Potential for improvement"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Seasonal 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Scott Dunn full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great opportunities to travel for seasonal work, when based in one of their summer or winter locations there is ample time to explore the area. Winter staff see competitive pay compared to other chalet companies. Accommodation, food and equipment rental (winter) is provided at a small cost (in form of contribution removed from your pay). Having this employer as reference in the hospitality circle is advantageous as the training is good and a lot is expected of you, proving your ability to handle the somewhat overly strict working environment and hard work. Some managers really have your back and genuinely care.

    Cons

    Staff are treated with minimal to no trust and feel berated for wrongdoing before the job has even begun. The fact that most seasonal workers are on average young creates a sense of managers being quite condescending. Communication between UK and seasonal resorts is terrible and its the seasonal workers that pay the price. The finance department is a joke and pay is rarely correct (and if it's not, you will be charged to be paid "out of cycle"). Sour occurrences played out when money for overtime worked (48hrs +) never materialised, leaving the work force feeling genuinely used. In some cases people worked prolifically long hours and time sheets were shuffled to create balance and avoid being paid for unused time off. In other cases, time sheets were straight up forged to avoid pay outs. A general sense of nothing being good enough existed from day 1.

    Continue reading

    Scott Dunn Response

    October 14, 2020Chief People Officer

    Thank you for your detailed comments. We take all feedback seriously and we will consider ways to improve the experience for our seasonal staff.

  7. "Overall quite good but hard work"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Chalet Host 

    I worked at Scott Dunn part-time

    Pros

    Several weeks off in lieu time Opportunity to work up - career progression

    Cons

    Hours were too unregulated Difficult dynamic with che

    Scott Dunn Response

    January 22, 2020Chief People Officer

    Thank you for the balanced feedback regarding your time with Scott Dunn and for the overall positive review.

  8. "Poor management & HR"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accountant in Chichester, England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Scott Dunn full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Decent holiday time & travel allowance fund

    Cons

    I worked for this company for 4 years and for the majority of that time, loved it. The last year of employment at this company was fraught with very poor management, harassment and bullying from management, and a lack of support & confidentiality from then entire HR team. Several complaints (from multiple staff) were made against a particular member of management in regards to harassment in the workplace and all fell on deaf ears. A previous reviewer mentioned the 'like it or lump it' mentality of the HR team, which is very appropriate. Barely any career progression within the accounting department and poor salary with staff being under valued.

    Continue reading

    Scott Dunn Response

    August 22, 2019Group People Director

    Many thanks for taking the time to review your experience working with Scott Dunn. We are sorry to hear that you did not have a positive experience with us . We take your feedback seriously.

  9. "Scott Dunn no Fun"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Seasonal Worker 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Scott Dunn full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Relatively speaking money is good Fair mount of ski time for some roles

    Cons

    No regard given for staff experience - poor people management, no incentives given to keep staff motivated. Other companies such as VIP Ski and YSE do this much better. Time sheets fabricated and signatures forged on said time sheets, meaning all those extra hours you put in to satisfy guests are completely meaningless in terms of your wages. Management belittled you, encouraged staff not to ski or go out to bars. Threatening strict punishments such as cancelling our flights home.

    Continue reading

    Scott Dunn Response

    August 22, 2019Group People Director

    Many thanks for taking the time to review your experience working with Scott Dunn. We are sorry to hear that you did not have a positive experience with us and will take your feedback onboard.

  10. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing place to work for!!!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Coordinator in Richmond, London, England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Scott Dunn full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Scott Dunn look after their staff so well, they provide loads of traaining and support, incredible benefits and have one of the best cultures I have ever worked in!

    Cons

    There is nothing bad, great place!

    Scott Dunn Response

    July 26, 2019Group People Director

    Thanks for your review - I'm pleased you are enjoying your time with us

Viewing 1 - 10 of 47 Reviews

Popular Careers with Scott Dunn Job Seekers

Travel Consultant
Learn About the Job
JobsSalariesInterviews
Experienced Travel Consultant
Learn About the Job

Work at Scott Dunn? Share Your Experiences

Scott Dunn logo
or