Screwfix Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Screwfix Reviews

Updated 12 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 261 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
77%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Screwfix CEO John Mewett
John Mewett
50 Ratings
Pros
  • "I know many companies say they promote work life balance, but at Screwfix they really do(in 35 reviews)

  • "Flexible hours, you really get out what you put in(in 29 reviews)

Cons
  • "Working full time and not allowed to take time off for appointments(in 15 reviews)

  • "Kingfisher direction possibly not best for screwfix but we will see(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "The best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Assistant in Leyton, England

    I have been working at Screwfix full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    One of the big grewing company in the UK

    Cons

    I have always wanted to be a handyman and I see this is a good opportunity for me to learn more things more experience and now challenge, and I'm up for it

    Continue reading
    Screwfix2019-08-30
  2. "Top notch place of work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Assistant in Witham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Screwfix part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    very supportive staff organised management great incentives good pay

    Cons

    customers expect you to know every item in the book in full detail which of course you don't shortish breaks too cold / too hot warehouses very dusty

    Screwfix2019-09-11

    Screwfix Response

    September 12, 2019Talent Director

    Thanks for your great review!

    Continue reading
  3. "Love my job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant in Wigan, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Screwfix part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly atmosphere Plenty to do Lovely customers

    Cons

    No enough hours when needed

    Continue reading
    Screwfix2019-09-11
  4. "My experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Branch Manager in Bognor Regis, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Screwfix full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Able to build great relationships with team and customers

    Cons

    Lack of recognition from senior management

    Screwfix2019-09-02

    Screwfix Response

    September 12, 2019Talent Director

    Thanks for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your time here however we are sorry you felt you lacked recognition, if you'd like to discuss this further then you can email us on reviews@screwfix.com

    Continue reading
  5. "Great Place To Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Assistant in Cambridge, East of England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Screwfix full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great team, good progression opportunities, good management, possibility of overtime, good training, high ranking staff spoke to and remembered the little people.

    Cons

    Shift patterns were not great, those who whinged and complained got what they wanted while others who got on with their jobs were stuck with the more difficult hours.

    Continue reading
    Screwfix2019-08-21
  6. "NO DUTY OF CARE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Branch Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Screwfix full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    When you DO have a team good atmosphere

    Cons

    Yearly GLINT survey is IGNORED about improving benefits, conditions and systems. Labour budgets cut back to detrimental financial performance and team morale. Sickness levels rocketing due to team being overworked. Store manager's having to work open to close to maintain trading hours due to sickness. Company unable to recruit candidates - reduced labour hours equals small contracts. Yet managers beaten over attrition Despite being part of Kingfisher, very poor benefits package. Sales target failed to reflect current economic and political climate. Thus meaning overperforming management team failing to achieve a bonus. Something which makes the job well paid or not. Numerous minimum wage pay rises mean now sometimes as little as a £1 difference between SA and supervisor role. Trade Up development programme has offended experienced candidates and they have left. From Supervisor to Branch Manager roles. Tired same old same old promotions. Sometimes just "Great Value" not even a promotion .

    Continue reading
    Screwfix2019-09-12
  7. "Great first job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Service Assistant in London, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Screwfix part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy work no stress very good

    Cons

    Nothing bad at all great place

    Screwfix2019-07-31
  8. "Overall a very good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Assistant in Amersham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Screwfix part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The working environment is quite good. Good morale amongst colleagues and the management team is good. There is also good chance for progression.

    Cons

    The work can be quite repetitive. The management quality can vary from store to store. My management team are good, however I have covered in branches with poor management teams.

    Screwfix2019-07-24

    Screwfix Response

    July 30, 2019Talent Director

    Thank you for leaving a review. We will pass on your feedback to the relevant teams re. management quality. If you have any further detail you'd like to give then please email reviews@screwfix.com

    Continue reading
  9. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Service Assistant in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Screwfix part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, good pension, Great customers and fellow staff members, excellent opportunity to move up with full in store training

    Cons

    Not the most flexible hours place for working mums.

    Screwfix2019-08-01

    Screwfix Response

    August 2, 2019Talent Director

    Thank you for leaving a review. Our pension is award-winning so I'm glad you're making the most of it! Re. flexibility, if you wanted to chat further about this then you can email reviews@screwfix.com and I would encourage you to pick up with your Branch Manager. Thanks

    Continue reading
  10. "A gem in the South West you won't find a better total employment experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head Office Employee in Yeovil, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Screwfix full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People, culture, tempo of work, physical environment, pay and benefits better than most

    Cons

    A lot of change in a very short period of time unclear whether in the right direction yet

    Screwfix2019-07-16
Found 261 reviews