Screwfix Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Screwfix Reviews

Updated 20 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
80%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Screwfix CEO John Mewett
John Mewett
78 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good Salary, 20% Staff Discount, Job progression, Work life balance(in 44 reviews)

  • "(in 25 reviews)

Cons
  • "it isn't to bad as you do a 7am - 3pm or a 10am - 6pm if you are full time(in 17 reviews)

  • "Terrible rota management, always changing managers, 6am starts(in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Brilliant All Round"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Yeovil, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Screwfix part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Quite relaxed environment and everyone is very relaxed and friendly with each other.

    Cons

    I can't complain about anything really the environments great and nothing that is unusual for a work environment.

    Screwfix2020-02-05

    Screwfix Response

    February 21, 2020Talent Director

    Thank you for your review, I'm so glad you love working here!

    Continue reading
  2. "Screwfix"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Sales Supervisor in Hemel Hempstead, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Screwfix full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good people working around you and good environment

    Cons

    Sometimes feel like you’re asked to do more than you’re paid to do. They make the salary seem good yet the pay jump between management levels is silly! Yet a supervisor gets one pound more an hour than a sales advisor

    Continue reading
    Screwfix2020-02-21

    Screwfix Response

    February 21, 2020Talent Director

    Thank you for your review. I'm glad you enjoy working here however if you want to chat to us further about any concerns regarding pay or anything else please let us know on reviews@screwfix.com

    Continue reading
  3. "It's a gamble on working at a good store"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant in Plymouth, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Screwfix part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    At a good store, the team and management are great, Company has ok benefits, You learn a lot in a short time.

    Cons

    At a bad store management tend to be pushy and micromanage staff Head office is out of touch with the store staff, progression is a myth if you're younger than 30.

    Continue reading
    Screwfix2020-02-19

    Screwfix Response

    February 21, 2020Talent Director

    Thanks for your review. I'm happy to hear about your pros however I'm sorry you had a mixed experience. If you'd like to talk to us further about this we'd be more than happy to chat on reviews@screwfix.com

    Continue reading
  4. "Dont put yourself through it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Management in Birmingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Screwfix full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Was good to work for in years gone by

    Cons

    Promises made by higher management are always questionable as they supposedly always have "a plan"

    Continue reading
    Screwfix2020-02-19

    Screwfix Response

    February 21, 2020Talent Director

    I'm sorry to hear you don't recommend Screwfix as a place to work. I'd value getting some more info on this if possible, if you're happy to then please email reviews@screwfix.com

    Continue reading
  5. "Top employer with excellent opportunities to grow within the company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Branch Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Screwfix full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fantastic pay and holiday packages, flexible working hours, opportunities for growth and development, good work-life balance, well established in the market

    Cons

    Head office is too far from London

    Continue reading
    Screwfix2020-01-28
  6. "The people make the job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant in Welwyn, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Screwfix part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible around my studies, relaxed environment for a retail job

    Cons

    Managers can be quite pushy when they need somethings but don't seem to have the same capacity for other employees.

    Continue reading
    Screwfix2020-02-08
  7. "Decent If Studying"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Assistant in London, England
    Recommends
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Screwfix part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    20% Discount off anything Laid back environment

    Cons

    Management can be pushy Booking annual leave is a pain

    Continue reading
    Screwfix2020-02-03

    Screwfix Response

    February 6, 2020Talent Director

    Thanks for your review. If you'd like to speak to us further about the cons you've mentioned please email us on reviews@screwfix.com

    Continue reading
  8. "It was a great company to work for, until the Store Manager was replaced"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Assistant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Screwfix part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The staff are absolutely wonderful. Most of the customers are regulars that we get to know on a personal level. Screwfix really makes customer service work so easy and friendly that you feel at home when you're at work.

    Cons

    Managers change frequently, so different attitudes to get used to. Managers can be very abusive and insulting, I was told "not my problem" by my manager on whatsapp when I explained the reason why the rota change was not suitable for me on a particular day. No flexibility at all to have a life outside of work when the rota is set up even though I did not agree to the extra overtime hours. Rude and unsupportive comments when I opened up in regards to my dads new disability (complete visual impairment - blindness in both eyes) which is a very sensitive issue for me was a deal breaker for me. I could not continue working in a place like that any more.

    Continue reading
    Screwfix2020-01-29
  9. "Okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor in Birmingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Screwfix full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The team at the store

    Cons

    Very varied shifts from week to week

    Screwfix2020-01-25
  10. "Growth opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Branch Manager in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Screwfix full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    If you want to develop, this company will provide all the tools you need to push yourself

    Cons

    Tough work through peak months

    Screwfix2020-01-09

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 315 reviews