Screwfix "rota" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Screwfix Employee Reviews about "rota"

Updated 29 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
81%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Screwfix CEO John Mewett
John Mewett
81 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "it isn't to bad as you do a 7am - 3pm or a 10am - 6pm if you are full time(in 17 reviews)

  • "Terrible rota management, always changing managers, 6am starts(in 15 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "rota"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Anyone looking for a job? Apply here!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant in Welwyn Garden City, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Screwfix full-time

    Pros

    Its absolutely fantastic! Its a young company, and Im a young person, they look after everyone they employ! They are very diverse and equal when hiring employees. It is a very delightful place to work, not only the workload you do, but the persons you work with; they are friendly and the work is fun! As its such a young company, its very easy and open to move up through, your options broaden the more you gain knowledge of what to do next. The benefits are fantastic, you get 20% staff discount; and after probation you get a further 20% discount at B&Q, the healthcare depending on what you pay is great, includes free dental etc. Knowing my pension is sorted too! I can try to think of ways there isnt good about this company; but I cant find any.

    Cons

    Its mainly shift work, you need to keep a look of your shifts on the rota throughout the week as it can always change. I have no problem with that, but anybody needing to stick to a routine, might be stuck with shifts they may not want, or wont be able to be given the same shifts all the way through each month.

    Continue reading
    Screwfix2016-03-16
  2. "It was a great company to work for, until the Store Manager was replaced"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Assistant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Screwfix part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The staff are absolutely wonderful. Most of the customers are regulars that we get to know on a personal level. Screwfix really makes customer service work so easy and friendly that you feel at home when you're at work.

    Cons

    Managers change frequently, so different attitudes to get used to. Managers can be very abusive and insulting, I was told "not my problem" by my manager on whatsapp when I explained the reason why the rota change was not suitable for me on a particular day. No flexibility at all to have a life outside of work when the rota is set up even though I did not agree to the extra overtime hours. Rude and unsupportive comments when I opened up in regards to my dads new disability (complete visual impairment - blindness in both eyes) which is a very sensitive issue for me was a deal breaker for me. I could not continue working in a place like that any more.

    Continue reading
    Screwfix2020-01-29
  3. Helpful (1)

    "WORST PLACE TO WORK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Screwfix part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Ok pay for retail & that’s the only pro

    Cons

    Working mixed shifts all week & having your shifts changed last minute. Always the same people doing the same jobs day in & day out Being made to feel unimportant Managers have a power trip Nothing is fair in the work place I’ve workee here for three years now & I’ve been made to feel like crap by every manager that’s comes in. Last year I had a health issue that this job caused & I was made to feel like a burden the whole time I was signed off. When I was allowed to start working normally I was made to feel like I was nothing in that place as I still had adjustments in place as I couldn’t do the full job due to work over pushing me & not getting others to help. Even though I’ve spoken so many times about wanting to progress in the company I’ve never been asked or told about new job roles coming up. I’ve been stuck on the same hours since I started & no one once has sat down with anyone from the team an asked if any of us wanted to progress in the company I’ve had management slate other staff memebers off to me & them do the same about me to other staff. It’s makes other staff members not like you I really wouldn’t recommended this if you wanted a career. If your a student or just starting to look for a job then maybe start out here but you’ll get no where in the ways of a career & earning good money. As for work/life balance. There isn’t any, yiu are made to work a mixture of shifts every week that you have no way to plan anything. You also don’t get your 4 weeks worth of rotas up ever & normally have two weeks up at a time an just hope you don’t need to make any plans for those weeks. If you ask inadvance about hospital appointments or to have a certain day off your told no book it as holiday even if the rota for that week is up. When I had health issues I was sent by the company for a check up & I had to book that in my own time as they would change any of my shifts even though it was for them.

    Continue reading
    Screwfix2018-11-06

    Screwfix Response

    November 12, 2018Talent Director

    Sorry to hear about your experience with us. We would really like to discuss this further so we can look into it in more detail. Please could you email reviews@screwfix.com with your contact details so that we can get in touch with you.

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Don’t bother"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service in Birmingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Screwfix full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I guess the pros is you get paid

    Cons

    Awful to work for very low salary and are not flexible with working careers, rota goes up on a Friday or Saturday for the following Monday. No progress. To many clicky managers that look after there friends Catalog changes they expect all staff to go in on a Sunday when the shops shut between 4-8 if you don’t then expect a recording of conversation

    Continue reading
    Screwfix2018-09-02
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Service Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Service Assistant in Birmingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Screwfix full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    * Great company * Well organised and driven * Room for progression (if you play the game)

    Cons

    * Work/life balance revolves around a 4 week rota but can change with 24 hours notice, so not really a 4 week rota * Management teams can be terrible (lazy, delegation of their own tasks, letting people get away with murder because they are friends) to the point where you have no idea how they were promoted (play the game) and they let the store fall apart * Staff morale can be low at times (management) which makes progress through the week slow (delivery put away, PI checks etc.) which all flows into the following day/week * Salary and availability of contracts (hours)

    Continue reading
    Screwfix2018-03-25
  6. Helpful (6)

    "worse place ive ever worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trade Plus in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Screwfix part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Customers are nice. Some colleagues are nice.

    Cons

    Absolutely awful management, you nver know what your rota will be from week to week, awful work/life balance.

    Continue reading
    Screwfix2018-03-07

    Screwfix Response

    March 14, 2018Resourcing Manager

    We have followed up on your feedback. For us to follow up further, please contact our independent, external, confidential reporting line, Speak Up - https://wrs.expolink.co.uk/kingfisher

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Awful managers. Dread going to work every day."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Customer Assistant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Screwfix

    Pros

    Nice co-workers. Nothing else unfortunately.

    Cons

    Dreadful management. Its like them (managers and supervisors) against the rest of the staff. We were told when we couldn't work over our eight hours one day that it was highly likely the manager would not let us pass our probation period. This was to all of us, even those on 12 and 20 hour contracts who had done more than enough overtime that week. Out of the ten people who started with me 8 of us are looking for other jobs after only two months. Managers/supervisors are often overheard gossiping about staff. The tills don't work more than they do work so customers are left waiting around for ages while the tills freeze and you have to do their orders all over again which is ridiculous and shouldn't happen in this day and age. Only half and hour lunch on full time hours and just one ten minute break when doing a six hour shift which is rubbish. When on a 7am shift we are told we should arrive at 645 ...why should we when we are paid from 7? I understand we need to be at our tills at 7 but they shouldn't tell us to get there fifteen minutes early. Also those of us on part time hours are put on the rota for loads of extra hours without being consulted first so childcare etc. is messed up. Supervisors stand around chatting but love being on a power trip telling other staff to go do something if they dare to chat to a colleague.

    Continue reading
    Screwfix2015-02-03

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 7 reviews