Search Consultancy Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Search Consultancy Reviews

Updated 9 October 2018
106 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Search Consultancy CEO Grahame Caswell
Grahame Caswell
60 Ratings

106 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • "Commission structure for Perm Consultants changes after 12 months (not sure about Contract Consultants)" (in 4 reviews)

  • "I have yet to come across any which is fantastic news in comparison to my previous track record of picking terrible recruitment agencies to work for" (in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (1)

    "Search Consultancy - Excellent Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Crawley, West Sussex, South East England, England
    Current Employee - Consultant in Crawley, West Sussex, South East England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Search Consultancy full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Search is my first recruitment job and couldn't ask for better training and guidance. From the moment I started at Search I was provided with all information required to carry out my job effectively and constant development with my manager. The opportunities to develop and be promoted are clearly laid out and targets are clearly set.
    Everyone at Search are so helpful even across Divisions if need any advise and senior management are heavily involved and contactable regarding anything. I couldn't imagine working for another recruitment company.

    Cons

    Had no bad experiences regarding Search and would recommend to anyone looking to join Recruitment.

    Advice to Management

    To carry on being involved in all levels of Consultants development and makes such a difference to someone new coming into Recruitment to learn of experienced Managers and Directors.

    Search Consultancy Response

    8 Mar 2018 – Marketing Delivery Manager

    Many thanks for taking the time to leave such an exceptional review of Search and we’re so pleased that you’re enjoying working with us so much. We hope you continue to enjoy working in the Crawley... More


  2. "Exemplary Recruitment Consultancy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Divisional Manager in Glasgow, Scotland
    Current Employee - Divisional Manager in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Search Consultancy full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    - Easily the best agency I have worked for from a quality, training and ethics perspective
    - Friendly and respectful working environment
    - No micro management
    - Plenty of opportunity for promotion and career development

    Cons

    Really nothing that I can think of that's in any way detrimental

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    Search Consultancy Response

    14 Sep 2018 – Marketing Manager

    Thanks for taking the time to leave such a great review on your experience of working at Search. Our values and our industry leading training are what sets us apart from the competition, so I'm... More

  3. "Good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Manchester, England
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Manchester, England

    I have been working at Search Consultancy part-time

    Pros

    I was doing it along with my degree, so it was extremely convenient that it was flexible. I could go whenever I wanted and it was a decent salary.

    Cons

    You can't always find shifts

    Search Consultancy Response

    15 Oct 2018 – Social Media & Events Executive

    Hi,

    Thank you for leaving your review of Search Consultancy.

    We are glad you had a positive experience and wish you luck in your employment with Search and the future.

    Thanks!


  4. "Great and best Recruitment Company to work for by far"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Manchester, England
    Current Employee - Consultant in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Search Consultancy full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great salary, Commission is fantastic, people are great, you get treated like an adult, no micro managing, extremely fun and professional environment.. IIP Platinum, training is by far the best I’ve come across…. You are rewarded for your hard work continuously and you feel very appreciated..

    Cons

    No cons. I find any I will update

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    Search Consultancy Response

    5 Sep 2018 – Marketing Manager

    Thanks very much for taking the time to leave such a positive, 5 star review. Much appreciated! I'm delighted that you're enjoying your time at Search and feel rewarded and appreciated for all of... More


  5. "A great company for hard working, recruitment professionals looking for rewarding long-term careers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Training Director in Crawley, West Sussex, South East England, England
    Current Employee - Training Director in Crawley, West Sussex, South East England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Search Consultancy full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    A company that puts the onus on quality over quantity and shows a real desire to help the people who work there to become exceptional at what they do.
    A CEO and COO who genuinely want people to be happy and successful at Search and are willing to help them to achieve those objectives by investing considerable time, money and resources in their initial training and ongoing development; our Platinum Investors in People status is testimony to this.
    A positive environment where people are encouraged to aspire to be the best they can be and where talent is not shackled, but flourishes.
    A positive coaching culture and people with lots of experience who act as mentors and positive role models for less experienced colleagues.
    A company where senior management don't hide behind their titles and are expected to lead from the front by not just "talking the talk", but by also "walking the walk".
    A team environment where success is celebrated by everyone.
    A high number of consistently high performers who have worked for Search for many years.
    Great career prospects for those people who want to lead and grow successful businesses.

    Cons

    If people have a positive disposition and are hard working, talented and dedicated, there are none that I have seen.

    Advice to Management

    Never compromise on the quality of the people we hire, because if we want to be recognised as the best at what we do, then we have to make our people the best at what they do and that begins by employing the right people.

    Search Consultancy Response

    28 Aug 2018 – Marketing Strategy & Planning Manager

    Hi,

    Thank you for sharing your 5* experience working with Search. We are glad to hear that your time with Search has been positive with many good points to highlight.

    We hope that your... More


  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great Training, Horrible Office building!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Search Consultancy full-time

    Pros

    Search seemed to invest a lot of time and effort in training new employees

    Cons

    I found the working environment to be quite childish and immature. It was not for me, I resigned as it lacked professionalism for me.

    Search Consultancy Response

    19 Sep 2018 – Marketing Manager

    Hi,

    Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your experience working with Search.

    I'm disappointed to read about your negative experience and, although it doesn't make happy reading... More


  7. "Training"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Search Consultancy full-time

    Pros

    Very well established company that has good relationships with clients and is on a number of PSL's with reputable companies. Respected name within the industry so candidates are happy to work with us.

    Cons

    IT equipment, WI-FI and resources need upgrading (or implementing).

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing! But please also give some consideration to the IT facilities within the business.

    Search Consultancy Response

    16 Aug 2018 – Social Media & Events Executive

    Hi,

    Thanks very much for taking the time to share your feedback. We are glad to hear that you enjoy being part of the Search team and happy with the work our Management are doing.

    Thanks!

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Politics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Consultant in Manchester, England
    Former Employee - Sales Consultant in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Search Consultancy full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Decent Year 1 Commission Structure, though it is extremely hard to understand
    A few Directors are personable and approachable

    Cons

    The politics particularly around Senior Management Level are obvious to see. This also spreads across regions, individual offices and teams.

    Not a great place if you're a Technical recruiter, not too bad a place if you're not.

    Training is good for trainee's but not very useful or flexible for those with some experience. I would go as far as saying it is a waste of time with those with 12 months experience. It seems to be there to feed the Trainers ego's more than anything.

    CEO very strange man, besties with some, blanks others.

    Commission structure is extremely confusing, and not even senior management properly understand it. It also punishes the experienced consultants on higher salaries.

    Management commission structure is very unattractive when compared to others.

    Search Consultancy Response

    28 Aug 2018 – Marketing Strategy & Planning Manager

    Hi,

    Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your experience working with Search.

    We are sorry to hear you have had a negative experience and always welcome feedback on how we can... More


  9. "Just no work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Chef in Leeds, England
    Current Employee - Chef in Leeds, England

    I have been working at Search Consultancy full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    I wasnt there to see any pro's

    Cons

    3 days work in 3 weeks is not something I can live on

    Advice to Management

    Dont employ people unless you have work, you are ruining their lives

    Search Consultancy Response

    16 Aug 2018 – Social Media & Events Executive

    Hi,

    Thank you for your feedback, we're sorry to hear you have had a negative experience working with Search Consultancy. Please could you drop us more details directly at reviews@Search.co.uk and... More


  10. Helpful (1)

    "Senior Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Manchester, England
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Search Consultancy full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Culture, People, Leadership, Training & Development, Flexibility

    Cons

    not applicable at the moment.

    Search Consultancy Response

    9 Jul 2018 – Marketing Delivery Manager

    Thank you so much for leaving us a 5* review. We are delighted that you enjoy being a part of Search, and hope that you continue to have such positive journey with us. Here's to another five years!... More


Showing 106 of 116 reviews
Reset Filters