Search Consultancy Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Search Consultancy Reviews

Updated 3 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
78%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Search Consultancy CEO Richard Vickers (no image)
Richard Vickers
1 Ratings
Pros
  • "The company has a very good training programme, management support and office environment(in 6 reviews)

  • "Great people, great training from Day 1(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "Recruitment/Sales is hard work, be prepared(in 5 reviews)

  • "The bonus structure is difficult to understand but once it's explained its a really good scheme(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Exceptional Company with Exceptional People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Divisional Manager in Liverpool, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Search Consultancy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Fantastic training, which is ongoing throughout your career, with supportive co-workers and managers making it an amazing place to be

    Cons

    Unable to think of any cons working for Search, it doesn't feel like a job when you love what you do

    Advice to Management

    Just simply, look after your staff and they will look after you.

    Search Consultancy2019-12-03
  2. "The road to success"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Manager Credit Control in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Search Consultancy full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I love the job I do, the buzz you get when you achieve your goals, not only dealing with clients, but also interacting with the consultants and managers.

    Cons

    To be honest I don't have any

    Advice to Management

    Be open and honest

    Search Consultancy2019-12-03
  3. "A well oiled machine!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Divisional Manager in Brighton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Search Consultancy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I've been involved in a couple of recruitment companies that sometimes you can get lost in and become a number, rather then a name... These were SME sized rec coys, but since joining Search it has well and truly opened my eyes to why certain agencies grow - Its the infrastructure that is built around the employees. If you are needing any form of help, the Search team can support you in any direction! As... mentioned in headline "A well oiled machine!"

    Show More

    Cons

    No cons to mention at this stage in the employment

    Search Consultancy2019-11-22
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Really unprofessional, better agencies out there"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrator/PA in Glasgow, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Search Consultancy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They have good contracts with the big clients

    Cons

    I found on many occasions they would offer me interviews they would say an email has been sent with details but many times I would have to chase this up as the email wasn't received. They would never give me an indication of what to expect from an interview which I found odd as most agencies do, to help you get the position. Trying to get hold of your consultant always proved difficult, not quick in getting back to... you. After many interviews I eventually got a job through them. I was told after 2 months my contract would be ending. The agency rather than be upfront, didn't put me forward for any work thereafter, just ignored my calls etc when I tried to call looking for work. Coming across as incredibly rude and unprofessional. When I did manage to speak with someone they claimed I received negative feedback from the client as I had been late many times....I had in fact been late twice and had contacted them to let them know this due to train cancellations etc. Search wouldn't put me forward for any further jobs after this as they claimed 'we have the clients best interest at heart' rather than supporting myself. We parted ways. I've worked for many agencies all over and this by far is possibly the worst agency I have come across.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Communication is key this seems to be lacking in many of your consultants. Brief your agency staff properly before an interview.

    Search Consultancy2019-11-14
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Appalling"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Agent in Glasgow, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Search Consultancy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Absolutely no pros whatsoever, disgusting company

    Cons

    Told me they had a position for me, so i left my previous job, then called me two days before i was due to start to say they hadn’t sent away paperwork early enough so my start date was pushed back, meaning i was out of work for a week (something i can not afford). phoned me two days before the revised start date to tell me the paperwork still hadn’t been sorted so i couldn’t start the position. were meant to call a... few days later with another position for me but just failed to contact me. so i have now had to miss out on a months wages, when they knew i was getting married at the end of the month. absolutely disgusting. not apologetic in any way, wouldn’t even admit to being at fault.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    don’t screw people over.

    Search Consultancy2019-11-14
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Average company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant in Leeds, England

    I have been working at Search Consultancy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good training and nice working environment

    Cons

    Dishonest about commission schemes, lack of recognition or reward for hard work, only hear from top managers if it’s negative

    Search Consultancy2019-10-05
  7. "Professional Company, Excellent training"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Liverpool, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Search Consultancy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great support network, team atmosphere, excellent training and structure

    Cons

    Can't actually think of any!

    Search Consultancy2019-09-13
  8. "Best Company to Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Search Consultancy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Training and support second to none

    Cons

    There are no cons

    Search Consultancy2019-09-06
  9. "Excellent for career progression & development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Consultant in Liverpool, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Search Consultancy full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Search Consultancy practices what they preach when they say "people are their business", I remember the CEO saying this to me when I was on my first training course 10 years ago and it has always resonated with me. The company is forward thinking in how they train consultants and how they can reward them outside of a normal commission structure. I think a lot of people appreciate that working for Search means you... are working for a dynamic organisation who wants to change with the times and do what they can do be the best.

    Show More

    Cons

    This is a sales job (unless you join Search in a support/head office function) so it is hard. You will quite literally get out of it what you put in - the company offers a great support network from managers and training, so if you don't utilise them or are not up for a challenge, then this probably isn't the career for you.

    Advice to Management

    Everyone has a different style in how they respond to targets, so spend the time working out what are your consultants strength and promote that. Some sales people are better face to face than on the phone. Adapt targets to get the most return from your team.

    Search Consultancy2019-08-29
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Worst Agency Ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Liverpool, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Search Consultancy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice office building to register in

    Cons

    Terrible communication, ignored, low wages, irregular payments, unprofessional, steer clear

    Advice to Management

    Get more staff to cope with demand and employ better staff

    Search Consultancy2019-09-18
Found 156 reviews