Search Consultancy Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Search Consultancy Reviews

Updated 18 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
79%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Search Consultancy CEO Richard Vickers (no image)
Richard Vickers
6 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people, great training from Day 1(in 7 reviews)

  • "Search offered great training which I found useful having joined the company with no previous experience(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "Commission structure is extremely confusing, and not even senior management properly understand it(in 6 reviews)

  • "Recruitment/Sales is hard work, be prepared(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good agency"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Ayr, Scotland
    Recommends

    I worked at Search Consultancy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Payed well, Long term contract

    Cons

    I have no complaints with them

    Search Consultancy2020-02-18
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Outdated Company declining"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruitment Consultant in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Search Consultancy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great People to work with there.

    Cons

    Terrible facilities. Horrendous upper management structure.

    Continue reading
    Search Consultancy2020-02-06
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Bad experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Billing Analyst in Glasgow, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Search Consultancy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    No pros wasn’t happy there

    Cons

    Micro managed, very strange environment, wouldn’t recommend.

    Search Consultancy2020-02-03
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Good opportunity and experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Video Interview Assessor 

    I have been working at Search Consultancy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Ok pay, good friendly team and helpful management. Work is easy enough and was a great way to ease me back into full time employment after time away raising my family.

    Cons

    Temporary contract, so can be let go at drop of a hat when work tails off. But

    Search Consultancy2020-02-03
  5. "Supportive, Patient, Empowering."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Search Consultancy full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Not treated like a number. Opportunities to develop and progress in abundance.

    Cons

    Lack of flexible working opportunities but starting to see small signs of that potentially changing.

    Continue reading
    Search Consultancy2020-01-13
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Managing Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Search Consultancy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    A company that truly invests in you, providing you work hard.

    Cons

    Tired offices and equipment.

    Search Consultancy2020-01-09
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Used to be a great recruitment business, hopefully some day it will be again"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Divisional Manager in Glasgow, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Search Consultancy full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some really good recruiters and managers have worked here however many have left in recent years. The company has a well-crafted training programme which provides solid baseline skills for trainee recruiters however with the sheer vast turnover of employees means they are in many ways an exhausted resource.

    Cons

    Offices are of low quality, especially in Scotland where there has been a clear lack of real investment. Even basic things like toilet seats are not there which can be degrading for employees. Systems are exceptionally old and poor and not fit for modern day recruitment. This has been ignored by the executive board and has been for many years with a declining effect on commercial capability and productivity in such a competitive market. That aspect is really inexcusable in any recruitment business. A recent change in executive leadership has also lead to a mass exodus of good people leaving, many of which, were strong billing consultants and highly experienced managers with vast industry expertise, networks and positive energy that in some cases left in horrendous ways. Its a shame, as many were the people who built a really good culture there in the first place. The true cost of this will no doubt take time to establish. The commission structure has been created with a level of complexity that even with a company designed webinar to explain it very few still understand it, including the management team. It cannot be explained at interview so new consultants and managers go in blind and in good faith that it will be ok. It simply is not market competitive, but designed to be perceived that it is. It takes new employees quite a long time to figure that out before the penny drops. This is an honest opinion of someone who knows the recruitment industry very well. If you are new to recruitment it can be a great place to start for the training, if you are an established consultant there are far better agencies to work with. It may change in the future but with a company of this size that can take a number of years, hopefully it does.

    Continue reading
    Search Consultancy2020-02-13

    Search Consultancy Response

    February 19, 2020Social Media & Events Executive

    Thanks for taking the time to write a review. It’s always disappointing to hear negative comments, but I hope my response can provide insight to readers who might be considering a career move. Over the past five years, Search has relocated five of our 15 offices, with moves to brand new locations in Brighton, Inverness, Leicester, Liverpool and Manchester. In Scotland, our West George Street office in Glasgow was refurbished in 2019, and our Central Services departments relocated to a brand new office in 2017. We have also recently opened new offices in London and Birmingham and we have development plans for Edinburgh & Dundee too. As part of the refurbishment programmes, our technology has been refreshed. We are able to provide WIFI across all of our offices and VPN access is available for all staff who require flexibility to work remotely. We embrace new technology and are early adopters of a number of innovative rec tech products that are changing our approach to recruitment and providing our staff with the very best technology to grow their individual businesses and be successful. Where facilities problems arise, they are always addressed at the point where the issue is raised. The comfort and well-being of our employees is always a priority. Following brand new investment in 2017, our business has experienced significant change and restructure, allowing for a more streamlined approach with clearer paths for career progression for those who succeed and perform well. We are proud of our loyal workforce, where 25% of colleagues have worked with us for more than 5 years. It has also been pleasing to see us create development opportunities for some of our high performing, loyal staff. The commission structures require both Managers and Directors to invest time in reading them, ensuring they understand the detail and can then relay it to their teams in ways that are easily adopted by their people. Those who take the time to do this are getting excellent results. I understand for some this requires individuals to take some time out to grasp the detail. Our newly appointed CEO has personally reviewed all of the schemes and believes they are some of the most generous schemes he has come across in the recruitment space. Clearly those Managers who don’t invest the time to understand them or explain it to their teams struggle. The Exec team at Search meets regularly and reviews all feedback both anecdotal and from our quarterly Search Speak internal surveys. We prioritise any points raised and ensure individuals are accountable for updating and communicating action plans to the business as a result. We clearly can’t always provide everything on the wish list and no business is perfect, but we seek to make Search a great place to work in all that we do. I’d welcome the opportunity to chat to you personally about some of the points you’ve raised and provide clarity on the actions we have in place currently. I’m sorry that Search didn’t appear to be the right place for you to develop your career further and wish you all the best for the future. Thank you for your feedback. Debbie Caswell COO

    Continue reading
  8. "Love every minute!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Search Consultancy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Excellent training, great support from managers, encouraging environment to grow, good reputation in the market, recognising high performers, best people in the market, integrity. over my 5 years with Search i feel that I have grown professionally and learnt a lot about the market and the job. It's never boring!

    Cons

    Offices could be a little bit more modern, computers need an upgrade.

    Search Consultancy2019-12-24
  9. "Exceptional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Director in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Search Consultancy full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Fosters Development through great training Provides exceptional support from marketing, legal, finance etc Aims for sustainable client relationships rather than quick gain Great office atmosphere

    Cons

    None I can think of!

    Search Consultancy2019-12-18
  10. "The road to success"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Manager Credit Control in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Search Consultancy full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I love the job I do, the buzz you get when you achieve your goals, not only dealing with clients, but also interacting with the consultants and managers.

    Cons

    To be honest I don't have any

    Continue reading
    Search Consultancy2019-12-03

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 166 reviews