Seattle Genetics Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Seattle Genetics Reviews

Updated Aug 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 86 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
51%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Seattle Genetics CEO Clay B. Siegall (no image)
Clay B. Siegall
59 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good work environment, helpful colleagues, professional work culture(in 10 reviews)

  • "Great co-workers, area is nice, pay and benefits are good as well(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "Public transit does not serve the Bothell sites very well- can be a tough commute by car unless you live north of campus(in 7 reviews)

  • "Decisions were made by very few people while senior management don’t seem to have an open channel for feedbacks(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Facilities Technician 
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Seattle Genetics full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, competitive salary and an incredible mission.

    Cons

    No gym or cafeteria. The company is growing fast but is having a hard time keeping up with the changes required internally to match its pace.

    Seattle Genetics2019-08-23
  2. "Great place to intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Intern in Bothell, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Seattle Genetics full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I didn't do typical "intern" work, all of my projects had an impact on my department or the company. I was treated like a regular employee, and management and higher ups make an effort to get to know the interns and offer help . The CEO also held a lunch and learn with interns, which I thought was great.

    Cons

    There could be more food options.

    Seattle Genetics2019-08-15
  3. "SeaGen is amazing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Coordinator in Bothell, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Seattle Genetics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This company is employee focused and does everything it can to provide a work environment that fosters collaboration and ingenuity. The people are great and the C-suite is accessible. This is not common for large companies! Pay is above average for the area, employee benefits are incredible (PTO, stock options, vested 401K and generous bonuses/ raises, flex hours, etc.)

    Cons

    I like working here so I can't say there are cons

    Seattle Genetics2019-08-02
  4. Helpful (2)

    "High growth means lots of change; pros continue to outweigh cons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - N/A 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Seattle Genetics full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Incredibly friendly and collaborative work environment with lots of opportunity for career growth and development. The company has a bright future due to our pipeline and I can see myself here for years to come.

    Cons

    We're in high growth mode right now which means lots of change. That being said, company leadership is receptive to employee feedback and has a track record of addressing concerns head-on and making positive changes via employee engagement surveys.

    Advice to Management

    If we're expected to continue to grow as quickly as we have in recent years, we'll need to be more open to the idea of remote employees.

    Seattle Genetics2019-07-18
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - QA Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Seattle Genetics full-time

    Pros

    Great Pay, Good Benefits, Awesome Staff

    Cons

    I dont have any cons to share

    Seattle Genetics2019-07-11
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Growing Company, good for job stability, job satisfaction varies greatly depending on department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Seattle Genetics full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Company is growing. There is definitely a sense of job stability. Benefits are adequate. Salary is variable between and within departments. The work/life balance in some departments is very good.

    Cons

    Some departments reward employees more regularly and provide opportunities for advancement. Others do not promote from within. The rapid growth over the last year has made the culture change within the company. More difficult to get work accomplished or feel supported by management. Would still recommend to someone that lives in the area since there aren't that many biotechs north of Seattle.

    Seattle Genetics2019-07-25
  7. Helpful (6)

    "Mixed feeling"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Scientist in Bothell, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Seattle Genetics full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Some of the drugs go on to help cancer patients. CEO speaks to the whole company almost every Friday, most effective communication and leadership. Most people works with a sense of purpose.

    Cons

    The company does not have a diverse workforce. Non-white Directors are extremely rare. Female directors are recent phenomenon. The pay was below industry standard for employee. The senior management has pretty high pay though.

    Advice to Management

    Stop promoting jerks. Pay the market rate to your employees. Ask whether minority/female Employees actually have fair opportunities.

    Seattle Genetics2019-06-15
  8. Helpful (6)

    "Poor work culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Scientist in Bothell, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Seattle Genetics full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people who are bright, motivated and passionate for what they do

    Cons

    Lack of leadership, guidance, and strategy. Poor management at the top and lack of acceptance of people’s belief and backgrounds. Also poor communication at the top leads to confusion at lower levels.

    Advice to Management

    Bring in new leadership and communicate better. Offer the opportunity for individuals to express their ideas with the fear. Recognize individuals of various types and not of one kind. Reward team work and create a culture that accepts team efforts.

    Seattle Genetics2019-07-08
  9. Helpful (6)

    "More politics, less research."

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Seattle Genetics

    Pros

    Pay is the best in the area, good benefits and stock options

    Cons

    Refusing to adapt to change even though good scientists are leaving. Research is not being able to move forward because of politics. Ideas and creativity are not encouraged. Lateral moves are impossible. Under the right leadership it would be a great place to work.

    Advice to Management

    Anyone with potential will not thrive in this toxic environment. If things don’t change too soon you will only be left with people who couldn’t find another job.

    Seattle Genetics2019-07-05
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Good work place, weak middle management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Seattle Genetics full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly staff from other departments. Happy hour.

    Cons

    Middle management in my experience for my area so far lacks communication and unfairly treats entry-level employees, but they treat highly experienced employees at level two or higher positions and value them very well.

    Seattle Genetics2019-06-13
Found 86 reviews