Secret Escapes Employee Reviews about "career progression"

Updated Jan 24, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 120 of over 135 reviews

3.7
76%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Secret Escapes Co-founders Alex Saint and Tom Valentine (no image)
Alex Saint and Tom Valentine
71 Ratings
Pros
  • "Beautiful office in Holborn with free food, drinks etc(in 17 reviews)

  • "Flexible working, really great company for work/life balance(in 7 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Low salary and low career progression(in 7 reviews)

  • "You see the business changing and developing right in front of your eyes and I am so grateful to be a part of the Secret Escapes journey(in 5 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "career progression"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great place to work

      Nov 11, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Friendly environment Great, determined and hard working people

      Cons

      Can not think of anything

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Secret Escapes Response

      Thank you for your review! I am glad you enjoyed your time at Secret Escapes :)

    2. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Gone downhill

      Jan 24, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Generous with perks like free lunch and breakfast, good snacks, drinks and flexible/hybrid working

      Cons

      Used to be happier teams and more positive culture but the Hr department have changed and since this happened it has declined. Hr business partners appear to have negative impact

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Worked with great people

      Aug 2, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Working with fast-paced and hardworking individuals

      Cons

      It would be great to know more about the vision of secret escapes

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Secret Escapes Response

      Thank you for your positive review! I am glad you enjoyed working with us- we take work seriously (ourselves not so much...) and look out for eachother :)

    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Best place I have worked so far

      Jul 5, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Employees and management living the company values - High levels of autonomy - Exciting industry - Opportunities for professional and personal growth - Great offices - International crowd - Lots of social and employee well-being focused events and initiatives - Embracing diversity and inclusion

      Cons

      - Nothing that has not been addressed once brought to the management attention

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Secret Escapes Response

      Thank you for your positive review!

    5. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Not as progressive as they'd like you to think

      Aug 6, 2021 - Staff Accountant in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Great bunch of people and plenty of social initiatives -Good location

      Cons

      -You will be penalised for your maternity/paternity leave -When I worked there the director of Global Ops was also the director of HR (Massive conflict of interest) -Low base pay -No career progression -No education or training opportunities -Senior management is a very closed circle of friends -Nepotism

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Secret Escapes Response

      Thank you for your feedback. I am glad you enjoyed our many social events and the work environment. I am sorry to hear that you felt hindered in your role, please could you email recruitment@secretescapes.com so we can discuss in more detail. Many thanks...

    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great place for flexible working

      Jun 25, 2021 - Senior Analyst in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible approach to working Free food and drinks during 'normal' times Fun office with ping pong and pool tables etc. Regular updates from the founders

      Cons

      Structure can be unclear due to flat/flexible working structure, but not necessarily a bad thing for some people, does require taking more personal initiatives if you want to progress.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Secret Escapes Response

      Thank you for your review! I'm pleased you enjoyed our unique and fun office perks, regular company updates and flexible working arrangements :) Our company culture encourages everyone to take initiative and voice their opinions, so I am happy you noticed that at SE...

    7. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Good company culture

      Jun 23, 2021 - Manager in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good company culture and activities organized by the HR team

      Cons

      Limited progression opportunities and using poor systems

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Secret Escapes Response

      Thank you for your review! I am really glad you appreciate their initiatives - our highly skilled People Team is set to change the world :) But change can be quite challenging and often requires time to implement the correct support structure.

    8. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      good pace to work

      Jun 11, 2021 - Market Manager in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      good enviroment and nice to work office

      Cons

      none that i can remember . good place.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Secret Escapes Response

      Thank you for your review! I am glad you enjoyed your time at Secret Escapes :)

    9. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Low career progression

      Jun 18, 2021 - Commercial in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good Balance work/life and great colleagues

      Cons

      Low salary and low career progression

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Secret Escapes Response

      Thank you for your review! I am pleased to hear that you agree with us when we say that ''We Are Good People'' and we love working as a team. But ''We are also Committed'' to see our people thrive and build amazing careers at the right time and with the right resources :)

    10. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Good company to work for

      Jun 1, 2021 - Sales Producation Coordinator in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Relaxed, good people, work from home

      Cons

      I can't see there are many downsides

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Secret Escapes Response

      Thank you for your review! We are glad to hear you enjoy being a part of our community. Our people are truly amazing :)

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 120 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Secret Escapes Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Secret Escapes? Share Your Experiences

    Secret Escapes logo
    or