Selection Services Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Selection Services Reviews

Updated 21 Jan 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.4
36%
Recommend to a Friend
20%
Approve of CEO
Selection Services CEO Grahame Harrington (no image)
Grahame Harrington
6 Ratings
  1. "Fantastic service offered and professional management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Allocator in Bromley, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Selection Services full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A higher salary would be nice. But I have enjoyed the training I have been given and the knowledge I have gained by doing my apprenticeship , I feel part of a dynamic team. We do work hard but get rewarded with events that are held for us. I love coming to work as it's something new each day.

    Cons

    Would like to see a bit more structure in middle management as I feel certain people got promoted wrongly

    Continue reading
    Selection Services2015-06-25
  2. "Good company to get started in the IT field"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - First Line Analyst in Croydon, England
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Selection Services full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Relaxed environment Nice people Good training and patience

    Cons

    Confusion with who is in charge at times. Lack of communication. Minimal career progression Salary is below expected for the role

    Continue reading
    Selection Services2019-01-21
  3. "Awful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Selection Services

    Pros

    Pros, getting out of there before my soul ws destroyed for good. Service guys were a great bunch and stuck together in adversity as all in the same boat

    Cons

    Directors were just interested in making money, understaffed and putting several accounts on teams that were sold as dedicated

    Continue reading
    Selection Services2017-02-16
  4. "Service desk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Selection Services full-time

    Pros

    The company as a whole is definitely a great place to start your IT career as you do end up doing more than your job description states.

    Cons

    Middle management have no power as they keep changing the rules and stating that 1 minute something is signed off to fill positions and then it's up in the air again. I wouldn't recommend a long term career there. Since the new service desks manager took over, changes have been made.

    Continue reading
    Selection Services2015-10-08

    Selection Services Response

    December 23, 2015Head of Marketing

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. All our managers are empowered to find ways to help staff pursue their careers within Selection. The 'advice to management' will be raised with the SLT and we hope you will take the opportunity to speak with us directly about your ideas and career aspirations

    Continue reading
  5. "Cowboys"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Engineer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Selection Services full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Worked on a Government site and got clearance which looks great on the CV when it comes to choosing another job role

    Cons

    Having to leave a site role to cover for a driver who suddenly left was an eye opener. Being sent to Warrington from Bromley to plug in a monitor in a court house was not fun, or the subsequent jaunt to Telford to replace a 'dead' plasma screen (hadnt been switched on) brought the same roll of the eyes. No vetting of calls caused issues, unusualbwork culture of having to keep in with the 'Mr Big's' of the firm. One colleague was sacked by phone, so I decided to jump before I was pushed.

    Continue reading
    Selection Services2015-11-07

    Selection Services Response

    December 23, 2015Head of Marketing

    Selection has changed significantly as a business over the past 5 years, largely as a result of the MBO in 2010. Although posted recently, we think this employee is writing about a time when the business was very much a family-run organisation where most people were happy to 'muck in' and help out when problems arose. We're delighted to have just renewed our ISO accreditations which ensure that our processes are sound (always two people to lift heavy items for example). The 'sacking by phone' seems to us to be a spurious allegation made by a third party. We always follow best practice guidelines for handling employee discipline or grievance matters but if there is someone who believes that they have been unfairly treated in the recent past we would encourage them to make contact with our HR team as soon as possible.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Honest Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Engineer in Bromley, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Selection Services

    Pros

    They have low barriers to entry. If you want to get an I.T. job on your C.V. they do not require much in terms of experience or qualifications.

    Cons

    Salaries way below sector average; I almost doubled my salary when I left. No training or future prospects in the company; progression only available if you cosy up to the right people. Low moral. Questionable ability of some of their engineering team. To date, they are the only company that I have worked for that have had their 'Investors in People' accreditation taken off them. I would not recommend this company for anyone other than a novice that wanted an easy way into the industry. Even then, I would advise that they jump ship to a better company quickly.

    Continue reading
    Selection Services2015-04-15
  7. "Should be re branded Selective Services to their staff. HR could certainly improve their relations."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Engineer in Bromley, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Selection Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    As a managed services provider you have the potential to be posted to a decent site. Some sites include the Ministry of Justice and a global Financial firm in Canary Wharf.

    Cons

    Below market rate pay Low morale Poor middle management Lack of investment or rather selective investment in staff.

    Continue reading
    Selection Services2015-02-17
  8. "Good technical employees, poor management and work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Selection Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    As a managed service provider, many technical areas are covered with good room for skill development. Work life balance is easily defined and overtime can be completed as desired.

    Cons

    Middle management are keen to build personal empires at the expense of the company image, customers are often treated badly to serve internal point scoring. Projects are delayed by months. External contractors are brought in to complete the project work, in order for individual departments to charge higher costs to other departments. This is to the detriment of full-time employees in the projects they are allowed to work on. In turn this also incurs higher costs and often a poorly delivered project to the customer. Internal processes are adjusted to a large company and do not suit the small business environment SS operate in. Poor/badly kept office space (disgusting environment to work in).

    Selection Services2014-04-21
  9. "Enjoying time, great for progression. Wrong middle management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Selection Services full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great social. Great progression if you work hard, however you have to work at the social aspect of the business to achieve this. Freedom to drive your own work.

    Cons

    Middle Management poor and needed to be looked at (apparently done since I left).

    Continue reading
    Selection Services2014-03-20
  10. "Ability to work way up, if know the right people and spend enough time there"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Selection Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Can work way up and try hand a different things - breach to become IT

    Cons

    Bad salary Bad management Have to spend years working in a dull position with empty future promises to move up, once you've been there long enough 20 days Holiday

    Continue reading
    Selection Services2014-02-27
Found 12 reviews