Sensée "no commute" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Sensée Employee Reviews about "no commute"

Updated 14 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
68%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Sensée CEO Steve Mosser (no image)
Steve Mosser
63 Ratings
Pros
  • "Its the same as any office - don't think just because you're working from home it's easy(in 43 reviews)

  • "No commute, flexible hours, working from the comfort of your own home(in 18 reviews)

Cons
  • "The first allocation of the holiday allowance for Aril 2019 to March 2020 has only just been released this week(in 10 reviews)

  • "Team leaders are dire and have zero skills as leaders(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "no commute"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (2)

    "Wonderful company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Southend-on-Sea, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sensée full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible, relaxed, excellent training, excellent team leader support, work life balance, no commuting, real progression, support those with disabilities, friendly environment. I love my job and they have been one of the best companies I've worked for. If you're thinking about it, go for it. Helped build my confidence and happiness. Great if you do your best work solo. Lots of hours available and fits well around my family

    Cons

    If you like working in an office with others, it can be different to be at home. But everyone is chatting and you have great team leader support, so you never feel alone. Online livedesk team help with queries

    Continue reading
    Sensée2020-02-14
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sensée full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Full time work from home Dedicated and supported training Great virtual relationships with colleagues and managers Committed coaching sessions Working for big brand names No commute Good support systems

    Cons

    Picking the hours I work is done on a first come first served basis so I need to ensure I am quick. Need to buy own equipment and therefore if it goes wrong it’s my responsibility to fix it- not really a con and personally think it’s a fair approach but wanted to call it out

    Continue reading
    Sensée2019-09-04

    Sensée Response

    September 17, 2019Office Administrator

    Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback - it's greatly appreciated.

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Approach with caution"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sensée part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    No Commute Customers were mostly nice

    Cons

    A typical day at work revolved around answering telephone calls. I learned a few things as time progressed. Customers were a joy to be in contact with. I swiftly became familiar with company computer systems. In my opinion, there were those in management who were clearly a detriment to the company. Working from home you require remote support on occasion. I discovered that you soon relied on favourites in management who would provide the correct support with nothing too much trouble. Yet, there were those who had been promoted and given a pay rise, who clearly believed that they could now experience an easy ride. They would belittle and bark orders, being constantly on your back, but had little or no knowledge about the company, client, systems or how to provide support. As you would expect with a home based job you hardly get to know your colleagues at all. Initially, there was a system in place whereby colleagues could communicate with each other privately. It was never used to talk about our private lives, i found that it was a great way of providing assistance to each other, to pass on information. This was taken away from us. I firmly believe that the company became a little paranoid. Divide and conquer! There was a culture in the workplace which often left me quite perplexed. You would often encounter problems and difficulties which could easily have been avoided if the management had passed on relevant new information. It seemed that they were content to hit it head on then deal with the aftermath afterwards. Rather than discussing potential pitfalls before they have a chance to occur. The hardest part of the job was the structure by which your weekly hours were chosen. At a designated time each week you were expected to log in then swiftly choose the hours that you would prefer for the following weeks. This was fraught with stress as not only might you actually be working when the new hours were released, but it was a free for all with your fellow colleagues. Best case scenario you acquired hours that suited you in the main, on days you could manage. Worst case scenario, your hours were split over all available company hours throughout the entire seven days of the week, with the likely case that on some days you might have to do ten hours or more, on other days you are booked in for a solitary half an hour. As for the life/work balance debate this is definitely not a good system for achieving this. You often felt isolated, alone and tied to the house and job. . I would recommend this job if you like communicating to mostly lovely customers, you can ignore the god complex displayed by many of the management, you don't mind the awful stress of how your hours will be allocated, and you don't mind having your work/life balance shattered in favour of all work no life. I now have a job that actually gives work life balance.

    Continue reading
    Sensée2019-09-04

    Sensée Response

    September 17, 2019Office Administrator

    Thank you for your very comprehensive feedback - you have made some salient points that we will take on board regarding management consistency. We make a huge effort to communicate effectively to all of our colleagues as we believe that engagement and reduction in isolation is the key to making homeworking successful. And so I’m disappointed that you felt this didn’t work for you. Our retention of people is very high compared to other contact centres, and our weekly agent satisfaction surveys (as well as regular feedback from colleagues) suggests that they would disagree with you when it comes to life/work balance – the feedback shows that Sensée homeworking offers a very good life/work balance for the majority of people most of the time. We continue to stress that whilst homeworking with Sensée may not work for everyone, for a large number of people the real living wage, no commute and positive life/work balance works really well. I would suggest rather than “Approach with caution” interested people should approach with an open mind and make sure that homeworking works for them by discussing any concerns with our Recruitment team before joining.

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Salaried home based role"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Sensée part-time

    Pros

    No commuting Paid training Opportunities to move up the ladder Great group of colleagues

    Cons

    Holiday planning needs more thought

    Sensée2019-02-07

    Sensée Response

    July 4, 2019Office Administrator

    Hi there, It's great to see this positive review! With regards to your feedback around holidays, we're constantly trying to improve our systems to ensure they work well for everyone!

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (6)

    "Stay Away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Agent - DPD in Burnley, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sensée full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working from home so no commute, saves on transport costs.

    Cons

    Lot of politics involved, if you don't fit in you'll struggle. I saw plenty of staff ignored and seemed to be the only one making an effort to talk to. Management aren't the best, there are a few great team leaders but the rest are shocking. Live Desk team leaders are just a joke. I saw one promoted within a month of being on the account, not knowing a single thing and regularly had to deal with one issuing warnings when he gets upset and tries to hand out wrong information, potentially damaging for the consumer on the phone. Often goto advise is transfer the call to DPD's in house departments so it gets them off our queue. Booking hours is a free for all, if you're on a call when they're released then good luck. Hardly any time to wrap up calls, if you've had a particularly lengthy or complex one, you'd let Live Desk know you need a few minutes to type up the notes and action anything and then be thrown into a call 30 seconds later being unable to action the callers requests. You're just a number, a cog in the system. A few weeks into working we was all put at risk of redundancy, after they'd just recruited more staff onto the contract too. Spending weeks in limbo and in various meetings, being unable to discuss it with other staff due to the threats of disciplinary action. If you're out spoken, not in your shell and have a backbone you'll struggle. Some team leaders like to walk all over their staff and if they stand up or correct wrong doing you'll eventually get the boot. Ongoing training is none existent. Booking holidays is none existent too, thirty seconds into them being released they was all taken. Similar with hours booking too, meaning you could be working 0800 - 0830, 0900 - 1100, 1400-1700 - 1900-1930 as there isn't any hours available, they preach about flexibility with working from home but you won't have a social life due to the ridiculous booking system. Security is ridiculous too, turns out the team leaders can track your every move, see your screen, your files, website history and webcam even when not on shift and logged into another user account. I found that out the hard way after leaving the job and dissecting the software myself.

    Continue reading
    Sensée2019-01-22

    Sensée Response

    January 25, 2019Office Administrator

    Thanks for taking the time to give your feedback, and I’m sorry Sensée didn’t work out for you. We have tried to create a homeworking environment that works for everyone, and based on the feedback we get from our weekly employee surveys, most of the time we are successful in so doing. However there will always be some people who it doesn’t work out for. I think some of your comments are unfair with regard to the team leader support and management and our processes in general, but your point about spying is incorrect – we do not monitor outside of working hours and only do so during an employees working day as required by our clients to ensure our cyber security levels meet the standard required. And any monitoring is based strictly on the needs of the job and with the acceptance of the employee in the first instance. Protection of our employees’ and clients’ data is crucial to us and the business. This would be no different than in any contact centre.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sensée full-time

    Pros

    You get to work from home so no commuting which is really nice. Working from home is different to being in an office and took some adjustment but it works for me

    Cons

    You need to know it's flexible but not flexi time - but you do know a few weeks in advance.

    Sensée2018-11-08

    Sensée Response

    November 21, 2018Office Administrator

    Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave this review - it's nice to see you've benefited from the Sensée working model :)

    Continue reading
  7. "Genuine Home Working for Well Known Companies"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Agent in Wakefield, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sensée full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    No commute, flexible hours, working from the comfort of your own home. Lots of support from the management team on my account and also when I have needed to contact HR or IT they have been very helpful. Support is available during shift in the form of a Live Desk and this also gives you the opportunity to chat with colleagues. You do have to buy your own equipment and have a spare room to work from dedicated to work, but this is not a problem for me and I am grateful to have the opportunity for Sensee and really enjoy the variety of work on my account.

    Cons

    As others have mentioned, it can be difficult to book preferred hours as they are released to everyone on your account at the same time, however I am usually always able to book 90% of hours that I want each week. An app would be great to be able too book them away from your desk.

    Continue reading
    Sensée2018-06-10

    Sensée Response

    August 15, 2018Office Administrator

    Hi there! Thank you for taking the time to leave this great review! We appreciate your comments and will be taking them on board.

    Continue reading
  8. "Great for Some"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Member Service Adviser 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sensée part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    For some, working from home is a real bonus - no commute, ability work in PJs (if that's what you want to do) and no expensive canteen lunches. Decent technology - I had no issues with technology at all, the systems (both client and company) worked well. Some colleagues seemed to have frequent issues, but the fact that it seemed to be the same people having the same issues made me think the fault was not in the technology. One downside to this is that if an agent does suffer a tech issue which is not acknowledged as being a company fault or affected EVERYBODY, they are not paid for the time they are off-line. Fair enough, but this really is exploiting home workers as this wouldn't apply in a normal office. Really good colleagues - not really a lot of opportunity to interact, but I really liked everybody I came into contact with from trainers to team leaders and colleagues. Like any workplace, I am sure there must be people who would be less than enjoyable to work with, but that's just the luck of the draw and I seemed to win!

    Cons

    Hours - it really is first come for scheduling. As a result, if you are not in the system at the very moment hours are released, you are unlikely to get decent shifts. Many times I had days with half an hour on, half an hour off, an hour on, an hour off and so on meaning I had to be available from 8am to 8pm for maybe 4 hours work. Annualised Hours - good idea from the client and company, bu could mean working 24 hours one week and 36 the next. Makes planning of "real" life very difficult. Flexibility - seemed to be a one way street. I would often be asked (sometimes very forcibly) to change my working hours from those booked to alternative hours, sometimes even on the day; however, on the very few occasions I asked if I could change my hours, I had to arrange shift swaps with others. Luckily, I had some very accommodating colleagues, but even so it took a lot of time and effort to arrange. Isolation - for me, home working didn't suit. I really missed having other people around - if only to hear what they were saying to customers and to share either challenging calls or those where you really delighted the customer. Yes, you can post on one of the chat walls, but it's not quite the same.

    Continue reading
    Sensée2018-02-20

    Sensée Response

    April 12, 2018Office Administrator

    Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We're glad that your employment with us had its positives. You have raised some fair points, and we apologise that you did not find yourself suited to our working model. We do our very best to be accommodating to all of our employees, however we are aware that we will never be able to suit everyone - so we do our best to accommodate as many as we can. As an employer, we will continue to do everything we can to continue to improve our environment for all of our employees, and we thank you for your comments as they will help us towards our goal.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Source of income, better than nothing. However there's a high turnover of staff for a reason."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sensée full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working from home means there's no commute saving money and time (there's a certain perk to being able to work in pyjamas too)! I was always paid on time and correctly, holidays were usually accepted pretty quickly and my line manager was very nice (although this appears to be pot luck).

    Cons

    The pay isn't great, quite annoying knowing you're earning less than the people who are employed by the contractor directly despite you doing the exact same job. Benefits such as holiday pay, sick pay etc is the minimum required by law so again, not great. The company seem to make flexible working their main selling point to potential employees however in my experience it's literally the furthest away from flexible working you can get. Hours were released every 4 weeks and was a case of fastest finger first when booking them. If you happened to be on shift during hours release then you could look forward to 4 weeks of horrendous hours. Split shifts were pretty much a daily occurrence, would often find myself working 14 days in a row before I managed to get a day off. When I joined I was told I would have to commit to two weekends per month, in reality I think the only time I got a full weekend off during the 17 months I worked there was when I booked it as holiday. Would often be told I was doing overtime rather than asked. Trying to get a manager to take a call when a customer wanted to speak to one was like trying to get blood from a stone leaving you in a very awkward position. There's very little opportunity to progress and it's definitely more of a job than a career.

    Sensée2017-11-30

    Sensée Response

    December 1, 2017Office Administrator

    Hi, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We really do appreciate the feedback. We're sorry that you feel Sensée has not delivered on some of the points which we promote. We encourage all of our staff to let us know if they find themselves having issue with something. However, from our internal employee satisfaction surveys, the majority of our employees prefer that they can pick their own hours. We promote the fact that we can offer more flexibility, when compared to a traditional bricks and mortar contact center. We will be taking your points on board about the other points you raised in effort to improve even more!

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (9)

    "Customer Service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Customer Service in Middlesbrough, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sensée part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    No commute, always paid on time

    Cons

    I was there 5 years and worked many different accounts and was also deputy team leader and team leader. I was still pushed out instead of redeployed when the account I was on ceased homeworking, nobody's safe really but it was good while it lasted I suppose.

    Sensée2017-08-11

    Sensée Response

    September 7, 2017Office Administrator

    Hi, Thanks for taking the time to leave a review - we really do appreciate your feedback. We're sorry that your time at Sensée has left you feeling this way. Very occasionally, clients choose to reshuffle their resources for strategic reasons - we're very sorry if you've been affected by this. We offer full employment contracts - not zero hour or self-employment. So, in the event things like this happen, we always try our best to move our people to other clients first. And, even if this isn't possible - this still offers more rights to things that'll help. If there are any particulars that you would like to discuss, we'd love to hear from your at HR@sensee.co.uk - we'll be more than happy to answer you questions.

    Continue reading
Found 18 reviews