Sensée "working from home" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Sensée Employee Reviews about "working from home"

Updated 29 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
68%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Sensée CEO Steve Mosser (no image)
Steve Mosser
63 Ratings
Pros
  • "Its the same as any office - don't think just because you're working from home it's easy(in 43 reviews)

  • "No commute, flexible hours, working from the comfort of your own home(in 18 reviews)

Cons
  • "The first allocation of the holiday allowance for Aril 2019 to March 2020 has only just been released this week(in 10 reviews)

  • "Team leaders are dire and have zero skills as leaders(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "working from home"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Love it!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Member Service Adviser in Stafford, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sensée part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I have had both physical and psychological problems whilst working for Sensee over the last two and a half years. I have been treated with kindness and understanding throughout. My experience has been that the management culture is committed to assisting me to become the confident, positive employee that I now know myself to be. Obviously the pros are working from home while other people battle through rain,hail and snow to get to work in a crowded noisy place only to return home frazzled. I feel that I am not only an employee of Sensee but a partner. I contribute my computer, phone line and growing expertise. They pay me, and as an added bonus, help me to win battles with depression, and various physical problems that would preclude me from going out to work. Where else would a 65 year old woman with COPD and emotional issues get a job these days anyway? I love my job and would recommend it to anyone who is motivated, willing to invest in the necessary hardware and would like to boot the commute.

    Cons

    Booking shifts and holidays can be a challenge. This is an area that I know the company are working on and I usually manage to sort any difficulties out.

    Continue reading
    Sensée2020-02-29
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Flexible working with great managerial support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sensée full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Managers are supportive and will help you progress.

    Cons

    Working from home can feel isolated at times.

    Sensée2020-02-11

    Sensée Response

    February 12, 2020Office Administrator

    Thanks for taking the time to leave this review - we appreciate the feedback!

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Had high hopes but let down badly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sensée

    Pros

    None. Unless you're in perfect health and then might not need to work from home anyway!

    Cons

    Discrimination against my health. Highly illegal actually. Facsist Outlook. Only wanted the perfect people. No health problems or they pull their offer. AFTER you've spent a fortune on a new pc. Second monitor and office furniture. They wiped out my bank then dropped me over a hospital appt.

    Continue reading
    Sensée2020-02-24

    Sensée Response

    February 28, 2020Office Administrator

    We pride ourselves at Sensée in having the UK's most diverse workplace that welcomes people from all walks of life with a common need or desire to work from home…. Given the nature of our client’s training requirements, we do have to state that attending training in full is a mandatory requirement although we do support individual situations as much as possible. When an important appointment falls during a critical part of the training sometimes we have limited flexibility even to catch up from recordings of the training. When this happens we try to move people to another training group if one is available at the time or alternatively we keep people’s applications on hold until the next training group does become available. We take any offers of employment made very seriously as we appreciate the investment you make in your journey to work with us. That investment is equally as great for ourselves so we do not take such decisions lightly and only do when absolutely necessary. If you would like to discuss your situation with the Sensée HR team, please feel free to contact them.

    Continue reading
  4. "Stressful and poor training"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Leeds, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sensée full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work from home, fit around family

    Cons

    Poor training, loads of IT issues, struggle to get good shifts, lots of split shifts

    Sensée2020-02-03

    Sensée Response

    February 12, 2020Office Administrator

    Thank you for your feedback. The homeworking nature of our model does present some challenges in communication, however we put a lot of effort into supporting our teams, particularly due to the remote nature of our model. We do our best throughout the recruitment and onboarding to be as transparent as possible about what life at Sensée is like, as we appreciate that our model is not suitable for everyone. We have delivered our training to 1000s of Home Agents in our time, and have won awards as a testament to the quality of our training, so we are sorry to hear that this did not work out for you.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Motor Co Coordinator in Leith, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sensée full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Real living wage + achievable incentive means that I usually earn £10.05 per hour, which all things considered isn’t too shabby for working from home. You don’t even get that in some “normal” call centres. Great friendships made (yes even virtually) everyone happy to help out with shift swaps if needed. I have a great manager, always makes himself available. Overtime available whenever I need it usually.

    Cons

    Hours release can be a bit of a free for all, but if you are there for release you normally get your first choice or as near as dam it.

    Continue reading
    Sensée2019-11-12

    Sensée Response

    November 14, 2019Office Administrator

    Hi there,I'm glad to see that you've been enjoying your time at Sensee! Your feedback means a lot!

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Not as great as it appeared to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Aberdeen, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sensée full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Working from home and missing out on the commute is such a fab idea

    Cons

    Most of it - support is not good at all.

    Sensée2019-10-25

    Sensée Response

    November 14, 2019Office Administrator

    Thank you for your feedback.We make a huge effort to effectively support all of our colleagues. The homeworking nature of our model does present some challenges in communication, however we believe that engagement and reduction in isolation is the key to making homeworking successful. And so I%E2%80%99m sorry to hear that you felt the support was not good.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Does what it says on the tin."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CSA 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sensée full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work from home, choose hours, impressive clients. Able to spend more time with family.

    Cons

    Calls drag but no different to normal call centre. Hours are first come first serve.

    Continue reading
    Sensée2019-09-04

    Sensée Response

    September 17, 2019Office Administrator

    Thanks for leaving this review - it's great to see things have been working out for you!

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sensée full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Full time work from home Dedicated and supported training Great virtual relationships with colleagues and managers Committed coaching sessions Working for big brand names No commute Good support systems

    Cons

    Picking the hours I work is done on a first come first served basis so I need to ensure I am quick. Need to buy own equipment and therefore if it goes wrong it’s my responsibility to fix it- not really a con and personally think it’s a fair approach but wanted to call it out

    Continue reading
    Sensée2019-09-04

    Sensée Response

    September 17, 2019Office Administrator

    Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback - it's greatly appreciated.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bupa Member Service Advisor in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sensée full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You get to work from home Flexible hours Caring and Supportive Management

    Cons

    Can be difficult to get the shifts you want to work and sometimes have to work long days.

    Continue reading
    Sensée2019-08-29

    Sensée Response

    November 14, 2019Office Administrator

    Thank you for taking the time to leave this review! We're glad Sens%C3%A9e has been working for you.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Approach with caution"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sensée part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    No Commute Customers were mostly nice

    Cons

    A typical day at work revolved around answering telephone calls. I learned a few things as time progressed. Customers were a joy to be in contact with. I swiftly became familiar with company computer systems. In my opinion, there were those in management who were clearly a detriment to the company. Working from home you require remote support on occasion. I discovered that you soon relied on favourites in management who would provide the correct support with nothing too much trouble. Yet, there were those who had been promoted and given a pay rise, who clearly believed that they could now experience an easy ride. They would belittle and bark orders, being constantly on your back, but had little or no knowledge about the company, client, systems or how to provide support. As you would expect with a home based job you hardly get to know your colleagues at all. Initially, there was a system in place whereby colleagues could communicate with each other privately. It was never used to talk about our private lives, i found that it was a great way of providing assistance to each other, to pass on information. This was taken away from us. I firmly believe that the company became a little paranoid. Divide and conquer! There was a culture in the workplace which often left me quite perplexed. You would often encounter problems and difficulties which could easily have been avoided if the management had passed on relevant new information. It seemed that they were content to hit it head on then deal with the aftermath afterwards. Rather than discussing potential pitfalls before they have a chance to occur. The hardest part of the job was the structure by which your weekly hours were chosen. At a designated time each week you were expected to log in then swiftly choose the hours that you would prefer for the following weeks. This was fraught with stress as not only might you actually be working when the new hours were released, but it was a free for all with your fellow colleagues. Best case scenario you acquired hours that suited you in the main, on days you could manage. Worst case scenario, your hours were split over all available company hours throughout the entire seven days of the week, with the likely case that on some days you might have to do ten hours or more, on other days you are booked in for a solitary half an hour. As for the life/work balance debate this is definitely not a good system for achieving this. You often felt isolated, alone and tied to the house and job. . I would recommend this job if you like communicating to mostly lovely customers, you can ignore the god complex displayed by many of the management, you don't mind the awful stress of how your hours will be allocated, and you don't mind having your work/life balance shattered in favour of all work no life. I now have a job that actually gives work life balance.

    Continue reading
    Sensée2019-09-04

    Sensée Response

    September 17, 2019Office Administrator

    Thank you for your very comprehensive feedback - you have made some salient points that we will take on board regarding management consistency. We make a huge effort to communicate effectively to all of our colleagues as we believe that engagement and reduction in isolation is the key to making homeworking successful. And so I’m disappointed that you felt this didn’t work for you. Our retention of people is very high compared to other contact centres, and our weekly agent satisfaction surveys (as well as regular feedback from colleagues) suggests that they would disagree with you when it comes to life/work balance – the feedback shows that Sensée homeworking offers a very good life/work balance for the majority of people most of the time. We continue to stress that whilst homeworking with Sensée may not work for everyone, for a large number of people the real living wage, no commute and positive life/work balance works really well. I would suggest rather than “Approach with caution” interested people should approach with an open mind and make sure that homeworking works for them by discussing any concerns with our Recruitment team before joining.

    Continue reading
Found 47 reviews