Severn Trent "career progression" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Severn Trent Employee Reviews about "career progression"

Updated 5 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
86%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Pros
  • "Flexible working is supported and encouraged where possible(in 19 reviews)

  • "Fantastic understanding from the business of work life balance and mental health(in 17 reviews)

Cons
  • "You are selected for career progression or development depending on who you know(in 7 reviews)

  • "400 a year (subsidised) parking space at head office where other large companies locally provide it free(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "career progression"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Programmer Engineer in Derby, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Severn Trent full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Staff are really friendly and career progression and training opportunities are great. Company looks after their staff well with lifestyle schemes

    Cons

    There isn’t much that is really bad about Severn Trent water, they have always looked after me. Sometime there can be a lot of travelling between sites but I suppose that is par for the course with a large organisation

    Severn Trent2017-11-12

    Severn Trent Response

    May 23, 2018

    Thank you for your review, we’re glad to hear that you’ve had a great experience working for Severn Trent. Severn Trent pride themselves on being an awesome place to work and it’s great to read that your experiences match our values.

    Continue reading
  2. "Review of work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Accounting and Finance Associate in Coventry, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Severn Trent full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good benefit Training available Upper class senior mngr are approachable

    Cons

    appraisal demotivates staff Little career progression

    Severn Trent2019-11-05

    Severn Trent Response

    November 11, 2019

    Thank you for your review. There seems to to be lots of things you do like about Severn Trent, though we appreciate there are always things we can change from listening to feedback.

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Favouritism and selective process of development."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Advisor in Coventry, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Severn Trent full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I struggle to think of any

    Cons

    Favouritism. You are selected for career progression or development depending on who you know. It does not matter what you achieve and how good you are. There is also some racism managers and team leaders are all white and no Asian or coloured people get the opportunity to progress into these roles.

    Continue reading
    Severn Trent2019-08-15

    Severn Trent Response

    August 20, 2019

    Feedback from our employees is really important to us and in this instance, we are sorry to see that your comments do not reflect the values we hold. We would like to assure you that as an organisation we have a zero tolerance towards discrimination of any kind, along with clear and robust HR policies and processes for current employees to contact us if they would like to report any concerns of the nature you express in your review. As a former employee, we would like an opportunity to find out more about the circumstances you have described here , so please contact us if you'd like us to look into this.

    Continue reading
  4. "Excellent company in the right role"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Care Manager in Derby, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Severn Trent full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    STW offers a brilliant benefits package. Their intentions towards customers is fantastic, whilst sometimes processes get in the way of actually delivering this intention. Development and career progression is possible, and the company strives to provide every individual with a Development Plan. Achieving and delivering this can be hit and miss

    Cons

    As with any large organisation it can feel that at times, the numbers overtake the people who work their and become the priority. Senior Leadership suggest they listen to their people however sometimes fail to actively acknowledge what has been said and make assumptions based on perception.

    Continue reading
    Severn Trent2019-05-14

    Severn Trent Response

    May 31, 2019

    Thank you for your very detailed review, we appreciate the honest feedback, we understand that there are things we can always improve upon and your feedback helps us to better understand what these are.

    Continue reading
  5. "Great Company to be a part of."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Coventry, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Severn Trent full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great working environment. Always lots more to get involved in beyond your work role. Brilliant Pension scheme and other benefits available. CEO is passionate about moving the company in the right direction. Lovely building in Coventry centre with good public trasnport links closeby. Strong Health and Safety culture. Can be flexible to your needs.

    Cons

    Salaries are more in the middle than in the higher end of the range. Pay is not linked to performance. Communication is not great with secrecy keeping information for those it affects. Career Progression is limited. Must often go sideways rather than up.

    Continue reading
    Severn Trent2018-04-19
  6. "Process Eningeer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Process Engineer in Warwick, West Midlands, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Severn Trent for less than a year

    Pros

    Supportive Team Big on Innovation Good career progression

    Cons

    None that i have come across so far.

    Continue reading
    Severn Trent2017-12-27
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Expect a career and not a just a job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Manager in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Severn Trent full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Severn Trent has many excellent people working for the business. A lot of people have worked there for many years as the business offers a challenging career with job satisfaction. I enjoy working here and enjoy my role as part of a large business. It is a good place to work overall.

    Cons

    There are challenges in such a big organisation in making sure you stand out and your efforts are recognised beyond your immediate reporting line. Obtaining responses from colleagues in other departments only seems to happen if you chase and chase! Salaries seem to differ substantially between staff on the same grading and level. Irrespective of knowledge or ability. The business shows no desire to balance this or even incentivise career progression with salary reward. Beyond annual all employee rudimentary reviews. This demotivates and colleagues do leave and move on and will do so until this is addressed.

    Continue reading
    Severn Trent2017-10-30

    Severn Trent Response

    May 23, 2018

    Thank you for your review, we’re glad to hear that you’ve had a good experience working for Severn Trent; and thank you for your honest feedback, we'll take your comments on-board.

    Continue reading
  8. "A great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sourcing Manager in Coventry, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Severn Trent full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Internal career progression Great people to work with Work/Life balance Great office in the city centre

    Cons

    Car parking Some outdated systems Hot desking

    Severn Trent2017-09-13

    Severn Trent Response

    April 3, 2018

    Thank you for your review, we’re glad to hear that you’ve had a great experience working for Severn Trent.

    Continue reading
  9. "Appsqad making the difference"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tech Team Lead in Coventry, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Severn Trent full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Working in my app squad is great. Exceptional pay as we are based in Coventry. last few two years have been very good. I started as a developer, now a Tech Lead and soon will get the role of Development Manager. you can get trained in anything you desire if you are on good terms with manager. I've now attended 16 courses including like html, javascript to Architecture (not sure why... ). Bonus every year and this is not based on performance, so money money. Work from India as my manager let me to work from India for at least two weeks every year. I was also handled well when I was having marital issues. Develop ground breaking mobile apps development are allowed to for what ever we want. This does means sometimes theres no business case however no one seems to mind with enough funding in place. Parties.. well, getting drunk for free on companies time too often

    Cons

    Career progression is slow. Its been more than 2 years since I came from India but only now I am being considered for the role of Developemnt Manager. There should possibility to apply and clean way to apply for porgramme manager and Head of IT. My office is huge, it takes time to go to forth floor so often. Not too many bright people around. I also think we should have more holidays.

    Continue reading
    Severn Trent2017-08-24

    Severn Trent Response

    May 23, 2018

    Thank you for your review, we’re glad to hear that you’ve had a good experience working for Severn Trent; and thank you for your honest feedback, we'll take your comments on-board.

    Continue reading
  10. "Summer Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Severn Trent

    Pros

    Rotational programme Interaction with senior members Collaborative culture People

    Cons

    Some work seemed pointless Career progression

    Severn Trent2016-11-09

    Severn Trent Response

    June 26, 2018

    Thank you for your review, we’re glad to hear that you’ve had a good experience working for Severn Trent. And thank you for your honest feedback, we value this from our employees. We'll take your comments on-board.

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 13 reviews