Severn Trent "flexible working" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Severn Trent Employee Reviews about "flexible working"

Updated 27 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
86%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Pros
  • "Flexible working is supported and encouraged where possible(in 19 reviews)

  • "Fantastic understanding from the business of work life balance and mental health(in 17 reviews)

Cons
  • "You are selected for career progression or development depending on who you know(in 7 reviews)

  • "400 a year (subsidised) parking space at head office where other large companies locally provide it free(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "flexible working"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great work/life blance, varied role."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Engineer in Derby, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Severn Trent full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible working, interesting varied role. An inclusive and diverse workplace with a great culture.

    Cons

    Vast geographical area can mean long distances to travel for meetings or site visits.

    Severn Trent2019-06-13

    Severn Trent Response

    June 14, 2019

    Thank you for the 5* review! Our wonderful employees like you help us create our workplace culture and its so great to be able to see this across the company. We'll be sure to take your comments on-board too as by looking at new ways of connecting our teams, using technology we can help reach more of our large geographical area, with less travel.

    Continue reading
  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Business Leader 

    I have been working at Severn Trent full-time

    Pros

    Customer focus, training, flexible working, good culture

    Cons

    Strategies and structures change so often, benefits rarely get realised.

    Continue reading
    Severn Trent2020-01-27
  3. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Lead in Coventry, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Severn Trent full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great overall reward package, flexible working and lots of opportunities to gain experience

    Cons

    Limited promotion opportunities due to external hires

    Continue reading
    Severn Trent2019-07-07

    Severn Trent Response

    July 8, 2019

    Thank you for the review. Our aim is to create an awesome place to work, so its great to hear about all the things that you love about working here. We also listen to the feedback too so will take your comments onboard moving forwards.

    Continue reading
  4. "A fantastic company with lovely employees and focussed on great customer service and ‘doing the right thing’"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Rewards Manager in Coventry, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Severn Trent full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    A big Company with room and support to grow in your career. Lovely people with a very supportive and collaborative feel. A great reward package with bonus payments at all levels, up to 15% pension contribution from the Company, generous holidays, really open to flexible working and a strong moral and ethical compass.

    Cons

    Nothing really if you’re prepared to work hard.

    Severn Trent2019-06-04

    Severn Trent Response

    June 5, 2019

    Thank you for your review and for your support in reward, which helps us create an awesome place to work for our employees.

    Continue reading
  5. "One of the best places I have worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Severn Trent full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible working is supported and encouraged where possible. It's so refreshing to work for a company that understands its 2019 - we have the technology to enable us to work from anywhere. Fantastic company pension. Mental health is taken seriously. The company provides support in the form of mental health training; mental health first aiders and the the Employee Assistance Programme (which your close family can also use!) Good amount of holiday entitlement; increasing with the number of years service. A range of other flexible benefits e.g buy/sell up to 5 days of leave. A range of training opportunities.

    Cons

    It feels as though Business Leads don't listen to the people on the ground. Decisions are made with no or little consultation. There are managers and business leads who are very knowledgeable yet have no people management skills. More travelling than the average desk job. Something to bear in mind especially if you have limited mileage. In the short time I have worked for the company, I have seen people leave and reapply in order to obtain a better salary. Existing staff members should be rewarded fairly. It's not clear how you can progress. Expensive parking at STC.

    Continue reading
    Severn Trent2019-04-08
  6. "Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Severn Trent full-time

    Pros

    Great people, interesting job, mobility and diversification is common, good employer, clean water and protecting the environment is worth working for, flexible working

    Cons

    Salaries average/low for technical expert roles, some senior leaders can do better

    Continue reading
    Severn Trent2019-04-05
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Blame culture and limited progression - prefer to recruit externally for senior roles"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Coventry, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Severn Trent full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Inspirational CEO Important service organisation, great focus on customer service and building a water legacy for future generations Pay and benefits Flexible working

    Cons

    Very limited progression opportunities - constantly recruiting externally instead of promoting from within. Definitely a blame culture - senior management and executive team always looking to blame individuals rather than providing an opportunity to learn and develop HQ in Coventry is terrible location to commute by car Parking on site is expensive and there is a very long waiting list and it’s expensive to use local cat parks

    Severn Trent2018-11-18
  8. Helpful (1)

    "I work with a solid bunch of people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Severn Trent full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Fair overall package, love the people I work with, flexible working conditions, current CEO is a breath of fresh air (how often do you hear that from shop floor?).

    Cons

    Office locations are not great - you may have to travel (but WFH is common), some of the wider teams can be difficult to work with, habitual and difficult to change ways of working,

    Continue reading
    Severn Trent2018-08-24
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Not bad, could be better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Severn Trent full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent benefits and pay. Great flexible working, with a laid back atmosphere.

    Cons

    Good head office, however generally too slow-moving and stuck in the old ages with people who have been there many years and too stubborn to adapt. Too many other offices are inadequate and outdated much like the company itself.

    Continue reading
    Severn Trent2018-08-21
  10. "Great company to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Design Engineer in Longbridge, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Severn Trent full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    flexible working, career development great leadership accountability brillaint culture good benefits good resources avaialble within the company. Everyday is a different day, you get so much opportunity to develop skills within your department and also outside the department. Management is very understanding, no bossy culture. You are given your own work (depending on the deaprtment) and have all authority to make decisions.

    Cons

    No major negatives about the company. Some people are not satisfied witht he salary bands but HR is working hard to introduce the tranparency in it. Salary comes with the hard and smart work - if you deserve it then you will get it.

    Continue reading
    Severn Trent2018-07-27

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 19 reviews