Severn Trent "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Severn Trent Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated 26 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
86%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Pros
  • "Flexible working is supported and encouraged where possible(in 19 reviews)

  • "Fantastic understanding from the business of work life balance and mental health(in 17 reviews)

Cons
  • "You are selected for career progression or development depending on who you know(in 7 reviews)

  • "400 a year (subsidised) parking space at head office where other large companies locally provide it free(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Friendly and Welcoming"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Engineer in Derby, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Severn Trent full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly business with a very welcoming atmosphere, excellent connections in Graduate cohorts and with the Graduate HR support team. Exciting and challenging projects on critical assets. Fantastic understanding from the business of work life balance and mental health

    Cons

    It systems sometimes struggle to fulfil requirements.

    Severn Trent2019-11-26

    Severn Trent Response

    December 3, 2019

    Thank you for your review! Work/life balance and mental health are really important to us so pleased to see you can feel that as core of the culture here.

    Continue reading
  2. "Good place to work, but career routes rarely clear"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Project Manager in Coventry, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Severn Trent full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    A business with people who genuinely do their best to do the right thing. Including consideration of work-life balance, stress.

    Cons

    People seem to be spread thinly in a number of areas, so it can be difficult to do a good job and bring in new improvement when people only have time to focus on only very urgent work.

    Continue reading
    Severn Trent2019-11-16

    Severn Trent Response

    November 18, 2019

    Thank you for the review. Pleased to see that you note good work-life balance as one of the pros here, as it is really important to us. We appreciate the feedback too and always keen to capture new ideas and improve, so we'll take that onboard.

    Continue reading
  3. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in Coventry, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Severn Trent full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Security Pay Ability to develop Flexibility (My Business Lead is a great support) Perks such as free advice service, ability to buy leave, cinema vouchers etc.

    Cons

    Main jobs in my area of focus are based at head office and challenge my work life balance

    Severn Trent2019-09-17

    Severn Trent Response

    September 23, 2019

    Thank you for the review. Its great to hear about all of the things that you enjoy about working here. Especially the supportive flexibility from your Business Leader, which is really important to helping towards a better work/life balance for you.

    Continue reading
  4. "Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Severn Trent full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Work life balance is great

    Cons

    To many graduates employees in the business

    Continue reading
    Severn Trent2019-08-20

    Severn Trent Response

    September 2, 2019

    Thanks for the review. Great to hear you enjoy the work/life balance as it's really important. We appreciate the feedback too as we do want everyone to be able to develop in their roles and our 'Developing You' pages of our intranet offers great guideance on how to do that at any point in your career with us. As for the Graduate and Undergraduate schemes it might feel bigger than it is, as some of schemes require new graduates rotate through diffrent departments to gain experience. Historically we take about 30 new Graduates or Undergraduate placement students each year across the business departments. With about 6000 employees here at Severn Trent at the moment, we think thats about right for us for now and helps us grow new talent for the future too.

    Continue reading
  5. "Process Engineer - Severn Trent Water"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Process Engineer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Severn Trent full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work life balance Non- salary benefits

    Cons

    Little to no contact with management

    Severn Trent2019-08-13

    Severn Trent Response

    August 14, 2019

    Thank your for taking the time to give us a review. Great to see that you especially value the benefits and work/life balance at Severn Trent as they are such important parts of what make up a good job. We'll also take on your feedback, much appreciated.

    Continue reading
  6. "Diverse and supportive company that I'm proud to be part of!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Communications in Coventry, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Severn Trent full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Diverse and inclusive Opportunities for progression and development if you want it. Such a big company, you can end up getting experience in other areas you would never have originally thought of. Supportive management with creative freedom Loads of volunteering opportunies, as well as being a company that works hard to protect the environment Good ethics, with a CEO who's present and works hard and respected Cares about work life balance, and making sure you're okay Company that pulls together as a great team

    Cons

    I haven't really got any

    Severn Trent2019-06-12

    Severn Trent Response

    June 13, 2019

    Thanks for the 5* review. It's so great to hear about all of the things you love about working here at Severn Trent.

    Continue reading
  7. "Team Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Manager in Coventry, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Severn Trent full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    - Reward package including salary, holidays and shares - Great people - Development opportunities - Work life balance

    Cons

    - No free parking at the HQ

    Continue reading
    Severn Trent2019-06-04

    Severn Trent Response

    June 5, 2019

    Thank you for our 5* review. It's great to hear about what you love about working here and that we're doing a great job.

    Continue reading
  8. "Severn Trent Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Specialist in Coventry, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Severn Trent full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    So many pro's to include. Having worked in varying sectors, I was firstly taken aback by how supportive my own team members were. This was something that I found incredibly helpful during my first few months. If you have a question, then ask. It's a safe environment, and people across the business are will to share/support. Severn Trent as an organisation use a variety of tools to help teams be productive, and understand if you are meeting the measures that have been set. If you're not, there's no finger pointing, and as a team you work through the tools available, to help identify a solution, It's the Severn Trent way. Work/Life balance - It depends on the workload you have, and role you're in, especially if it's shift based, but you will get a good worklife balance at Severn Trent. Annual leave allocated is very good, and there's the option of buying additional days. Personally, I've been encouraged to make sure I don't miss big events at school that my children are particiapting in. Knowing that's seen as important to me, is extremly positive. Plus, there's not been an expectation that I'll be making the time up, by having to work into the night. The team works together, and as a unit we meet our objectives. Yes, there can be long hours, but the supportive environment, means it's not a chore. Development - Lots of opportunities to develop further knowlegde of the business, and yourself professionally. Mentoring programmes are available, and the performance framework is clear. Regular meetings with Line Managers will take place, and that helps. The focus isn't purely output output output! It's about you, how you are contributing, are you developing, what do you want to do next, and how can YOU, make that happen. That's a great feeling. Finally, there's some incredibly inspiring people who work at Severn Trent, From the CEO, down to Level 1 colleagues. We're in a great place with our PR19 submission, and that's down to incredibly dedicated staff, across all levels.

    Cons

    If you're working in certain areas of the business, you're going to need to be able to drive. A lot of our sites aren't accessible by public transport. For colleagues that don't drive, then that does cause a bit of a headache. The upside is that colleagues will always help out. One to consider though if you're applying for a role which means you'll need to get across the region.

    Continue reading
    Severn Trent2019-02-04
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Customer service advisor billing agent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Severn Trent full-time

    Pros

    Never work on a Sunday and get a bonus in July of about 600

    Cons

    Long hours different shifts every week so difficult to get a work life balance

    Continue reading
    Severn Trent2019-01-23
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Genuinely an awesome place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Coventry, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Severn Trent full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great Work/life balance Flexibility Lots of responsibility and autonomy Great benefits People are great Great internal opportunities Amazing senior leadership

    Cons

    Pay structure is very hidden Processes can be slow and clunky Can be unreceptive to change

    Continue reading
    Severn Trent2018-11-08

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 22 reviews