Sewell Automotive Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Sewell Automotive Reviews

Updated 23 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 165 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
74%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
J. Carl Sewell Jr.
121 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work with great people that are willing to help and go the extra mile(in 24 reviews)

  • "Sewell is a great company with a good reputation(in 15 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Sales associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sewell Automotive full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Company car Very competitive pay Your work depends on your success Will always have clients buying cars Company events Private family company

    Cons

    Long hours Work weekends Very difficult work life balance

    Advice to Management

    Pay attention to the associates who put in the work and actually want to move up in the company. Don’t let the good ones go away to other companies. A lot of high potential associates are here. Give them the shot

    Sewell Automotive2019-06-12
  2. Helpful (1)

    "The job isn't for everyone, but the company is incredible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sewell Automotive full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Their hiring process is extremely competitive, so you end up being surrounded by a ton of super high achieving, really well rounded, fun people -High paying: if you hustle and work as hard as you can, the earning potential, especially for a recent graduate is unbelievable, and high achievers are rewarded with a lot of opportunities -World class training and a ton of resources to set you up for success -A lot of extra...

    Show More

    Cons

    The job won't be for everyone. The hours are long and you'll work every saturday that you don't take off. The earning potential is amazing, but you have to be very self motivated to put in the hours and get the number of sales leads you need. Just be very honest with yourself about your level of discipline and ambition as you go through the process

    Sewell Automotive2019-06-06
  3. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sewell Automotive full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great training, positive work environment and great recognition for hard work. The director is amazing.

    Cons

    The pay is very poor for what the Customer Care Representatives go through.. We answer 100+ phone calls a day, most of the time it is a customer cussing us out or asking us questions we can not answer. The job is extremely stressful and there is a work force involved that is extremely cruel and rude to the associates under her.

    Advice to Management

    Please pay attention to how the "work force" gossips and makes fun of the associates under her.. Please pay attention to those who have been there for a while and whom silently work hard each and every day.

    Sewell Automotive2019-06-23
  4. "This job can wear you down"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Service Manager in Spring, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sewell Automotive full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Sewell hires amazing well-rounded people. There is a lot of training and managers and technicians do invest time to help you learn. Position has taught me unparalleled time-management, negotiation, patience and customer service. You can make very good money.

    Cons

    Expect to work most Saturdays, and long days (sometimes 7am to 7pm). 5 days PTO for first year. Management pressures you to come in on your day off. Bonuses are partially based off customer reviews, which means a customer who may not be angry with you, but upset about their vehicle can burn you badly. Company prides themselves as a family company, however, their views on work-life-balance could use some work....

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    My managers and I were very close and I stayed as long as I did because I felt supported. However, please be mindful that we do need time away from work to recharge. The company does have a high turnover rate mainly from employees getting burnt out.

    Sewell Automotive2019-03-25
  5. "Sewell automotive Customer Service Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sewell Automotive full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very polite staff, focus primarily on promoting within, 15 days of PTO after a year

    Cons

    Very picky on clothing such as shoes, socks and the way your shirt may or may not look

    Sewell Automotive2019-03-22
  6. Helpful (1)

    "The best in the industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Service Manager in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sewell Automotive full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - You get to dive right in and learn - Mentorship training - A culture that deeply cares about its people - Amazing customers - Salary out for entry level - They hire based on people and not experience - The benefits and training programs

    Cons

    - The physical demands of standing for 10 hours a day in service - Long Hours - Work/life balance is very hard to find - Car industry - Doing the same thing every day

    Advice to Management

    Please continue to have an emphasis on taking care of your people first. It was my favorite thing about the company. I left due to receiving another opportunity.

    Sewell Automotive2019-04-02
  7. "Great People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sewell Automotive full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work with great people that are willing to help and go the extra mile

    Cons

    Long hours, hard to wrap up work before taking time off

    Sewell Automotive2019-02-21
  8. "Great employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sewell Automotive full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Care about their employees and contribute considerably to their development.

    Cons

    Retail hours can be hard and you will inevitably deal with rude or unreasonable customers.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to invest in the development of all employees and create opportunities for people from different dealerships to know one another and have a sense of unity.

    Sewell Automotive2019-01-23
  9. "Worst company ever!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Service Technician 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sewell Automotive full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Not many,Maybe a free coffee

    Cons

    80% of your work os perfformed for free : bring and find vehicle to the shop-no pay.Multipont inspection-no pay,everyday team meeting -no pay,test drive-no pay,recheck of complain-no pay

    Advice to Management

    How can you sleep good at night knowing you make people do the free work for you?

    Sewell Automotive2019-02-21
  10. "Too good to be true"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sewell Automotive full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    awesome people, lots of free food, company events

    Cons

    The longer you work at this company, the more you realize how flawed management is.

    Sewell Automotive2019-01-28
Found 165 reviews