Shane English School Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Shane English School Reviews

Updated 15 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
40%
Recommend to a Friend
Pros
  • "Shane Taiwan also always paid on time and had a vacation time scheme that allowed for a decent amount of travel time at almost any point in the year(in 11 reviews)

  • "This company was small in Chengdu, China and a wonderful experience(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "Company accommodation is overpriced(in 7 reviews)

  • "If you're full-time there are a lot of training days and event days which are paid, but a pain to attend(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Changning Government Programme (Primary School)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Shane English School full-time

    Pros

    Good hours and a good work/life balance Good management and training

    Cons

    -A relatively low salary (compared to other ESL companies) and work can feel meaningless. - Unpaid 6 week holiday is crippling -Chinese working environment can be very testing as they value different things from the West.

    Shane English School2017-09-06
  2. "Awful working environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teacher 

    I worked at Shane English School part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great kids, which is the saddest thing about the job becuase the school is so awful

    Cons

    Awful materials Awful coworkers Teaching assistants rarely speak English and those that do leave within a few weeks I was given completely different from work from what I was promised by my recruiter Innaccurate and illegal exchange rate Did not receive my six month wage increase... of $0.50 per hour Low wage compared to almost all other schools in the city Worst school I have worked for in my three years as a teacher across three countries Admin is incapabale of performing any of their funcitons Admin woud rather make teachers endure awful student behaviour than call their parents, in case the parents are offended Six day a week schedules with split shifts that still only provide a 20 hour week No techonology to use in class of any kind I saw five experienced teachers leave of their own accord in less than 8 months employment

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Give up

    Shane English School2019-11-07
  3. Helpful (4)

    "It was quite good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Shane English School full-time

    Pros

    The lessons were great,and the students were largely a pleasure to teach, and training wasn't exactly onerous. All good I'd say

    Cons

    Including travel time, work days could be very long, with 6 day weeks often expected and late finishes being par for the course

    Advice to Management

    Make sure all receptionists have a decent level of English to prevent communication breakdown, and don't put pressure on teachers to accept cover

    Shane English School2017-06-02
  4. "Good start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Shane English School full-time

    Pros

    Foreign management which makes communication easier

    Cons

    Lots of work with little pay

    Shane English School2020-01-04
  5. "There’s better companies out there"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - ESL Teacher in Shanghai, Shanghai
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Shane English School full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Chinese office staff were helpful. Our drivers to take us between schools were great! I was always paid on time . Basically only good for teaching experience so you can move onto a better company.

    Cons

    High turn over of foreign managers which caused the branch to be very disorganised. Could never use personal days/holidays as there were no replacement teachers available. Constantly having my schools that I worked at changed- I was at 4 different schools over the course of 10 months which was very inconvenient as they were all at opposite sides (in the very outer suburbs) of Shanghai. If you don’t have a TESOL they give you “training “ as an equivalent and charge 1000 + yuan depending on where you are from (non native English speaking)

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Treat your staff better and you will retain them

    Shane English School2020-01-15
  6. "Easy but not stable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Preschool Teacher in Shanghai, Shanghai
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Shane English School full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There is not hard following up by the administration Easy going with holidays or personal lives Able to have side jobs

    Cons

    Not structured institution you have to rely on yourself in anything there is no communication with the high management and teachers

    Shane English School2019-11-12
  7. "typical English school in Japan"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher in Tokyo
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Shane English School full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    housing supplied, salary paid, good students

    Cons

    leaders are immature, dodgy contract, expect you to eat lunch on train to next lesson

    Advice to Management

    dont break Japan labor laws

    Shane English School2019-11-26
  8. "Decent Workplace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - English Teacher in Kunming
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Shane English School full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great environment, relaxed and flexible, good co-workers

    Cons

    Poor management due to franchising.

    Shane English School2019-11-07
  9. "Truly truly terrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Shane English School full-time

    Pros

    A visa and that’s it.

    Cons

    An embarrassment to teaching. All about the profit. The quality of teaching is very poor indeed, schools often old and smelly. The schedules are long and you often have to do a lot of unpaid work.

    Shane English School2019-11-28
  10. "Wasn’t given a full month salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Wenzhou, Zhejiang
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Shane English School full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Absolutely nothing good about this company

    Cons

    They don’t pay on time and other month didn’t receive anything

    Advice to Management

    Pay workers their well deserved salary

    Shane English School2019-10-29
Found 93 reviews