Shane English School Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Shane English School Reviews

Updated 3 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 78 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
56%
Recommend to a Friend
Pros
  • "Getting paid on time on the 10th of every month(in 8 reviews)

  • "Maximum class sizes are 14 and you always have a TA in the room with you(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "Company accommodation is overpriced(in 7 reviews)

  • "If you're full-time there are a lot of training days and event days which are paid, but a pain to attend(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Changning Government Programme (Primary School)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Shane English School full-time

    Pros

    Good hours and a good work/life balance Good management and training

    Cons

    -A relatively low salary (compared to other ESL companies) and work can feel meaningless. - Unpaid 6 week holiday is crippling -Chinese working environment can be very testing as they value different things from the West.

    Shane English School2017-09-06
  2. Helpful (4)

    "It was quite good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Shane English School full-time

    Pros

    The lessons were great,and the students were largely a pleasure to teach, and training wasn't exactly onerous. All good I'd say

    Cons

    Including travel time, work days could be very long, with 6 day weeks often expected and late finishes being par for the course

    Advice to Management

    Make sure all receptionists have a decent level of English to prevent communication breakdown, and don't put pressure on teachers to accept cover

    Shane English School2017-06-02
  3. "I think it's a great place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - English Teacher in Tokyo
    Recommends

    I have been working at Shane English School part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The management is quite understanding and flexible, the students are great, the commute time to work is very short, in my case and overall I'm very happy with it.

    Cons

    If you are a very creative person and like to design your own classes it could be a bit boring, because Shane has it's own textbooks that you must use. But the books are well designed, easy to use and effective, so I don't mind using them.

    Advice to Management

    I can't think of anything.

    Shane English School2019-07-04
  4. "English Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Shane English School full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Small classes and that was great.

    Cons

    I honestly cant tell you.

    Shane English School2019-05-06
  5. "Good, but inconsistent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - English Teacher in Tokyo
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Shane English School full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Living in Tokyo -Variety of Students -Coursework provided

    Cons

    -Unbalanced schedules -No reward for being a good teacher

    Advice to Management

    Don't dock pay for sick days

    Shane English School2019-04-29
  6. "Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Shane English School full-time

    Pros

    Good work environment. On time pay. Very supportive with settling in

    Cons

    Planning of work seems last minute

    Shane English School2019-03-20
  7. "Easy going, great fun job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - TEFL Teacher in Chengdu, Sichuan
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Shane English School full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They pay you on time. The class sizes are small. The lessons are simple to follow.

    Cons

    The work is repetitive. You have to do demonstrations in front of parents.

    Shane English School2019-02-19
  8. "Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Shane English School

      Pros

      Great work hours and schedule

      Cons

      Not a lot of holidays

      Shane English School2019-01-17
    • Helpful (1)

      "Good job, decent pay, hard work!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Teacher in Tokyo
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I have been working at Shane English School full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      "Proper" teaching methodology Guaranteed pay even if hours fall and there are holidays Great holidays - about 6 weeks paid Good support

      Cons

      Schedules can be heavy Working at weekends

      Advice to Management

      Try to respond a little quicker?

      Shane English School2019-01-02
    • Helpful (6)

      "Worst employer I have ever worked for."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Teacher in Tokyo
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I worked at Shane English School full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      They help you get to Japan and they pay on time. some of the other teachers are good fun.

      Cons

      Before you come to Japan you are told you will definitely have two consecutive days off work. This is a lie. You will be extremely lucky if this is this case. Some poor teachers get Tuesday and Thursday off. They work all weekend every weekend. Expect to have your day off cancelled so that you can do show lesson days to potential clients. This can mean you work almost two weeks without a rest day. Don't rent the...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Pay sick pay, pay health insurance, encourage good health and safety and union membership. Stop treating staff as a commodity.

      Shane English School2019-01-18
    Found 78 reviews