Sharp HealthCare Employee Reviews about "san diego"

Updated 1 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
80%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Sharp HealthCare CEO Chris Howard
Chris Howard
35 Ratings
Pros
  • "Management cares about each employee, great benefits, great pay & perks(in 33 reviews)

  • "good benefits, generous vacation time(in 27 reviews)

Cons
  • "The RN pay is the lowest compared to all major hospitals in San Diego(in 20 reviews)

  • "Upper management can be misleading(in 17 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "san diego"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - LVN in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Sharp HealthCare full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great environment, new technology, lots of training opportunities, professionalism.

    Cons

    Only cons is the pay, low compare to other companies in San Diego

    Sharp HealthCare Response

    March 4, 2020Talent Acquisition Consultant

    Thank you for your review and for being part of the Sharp family!

  2. Helpful (1)

    "RN"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sharp HealthCare full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great staff, good flexibility, and all around supported, and usually staffed well.

    Cons

    The RN pay is the lowest compared to all major hospitals in San Diego

    Continue reading
  3. "Great employer"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Claims Processor in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sharp HealthCare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great atmosphere and lots of employee activity to promote healthy decisions

    Cons

    It's only in San Diego

    Sharp HealthCare Response

    August 5, 2019Talent Acquisition Consultant

    Thank you for your service and feedback. We appreciate your time to complete the review.

  4. Helpful (3)

    "Depends on your manager"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sharp HealthCare full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The best health benefits by far Decent PTO accrual Occasional Work From Home depending on manager Possibility for setting your preferred work hours as long as it's 8 hrs Good knowing you're working for the top health care provider in San Diego

    Cons

    Behind the times as far as administrative innovation Almost impossible to get new and creative ideas through A lot of employee turnover in poorly-managed departments Some managers micromanage and have no trust for employees Culture can really lack if you're on the wrong team No cool/fun benefits Most employees are older and are set in their ways A lot of time focused on the wrong thing, wasting time and money that won't grow business

    Continue reading

    Sharp HealthCare Response

    June 18, 2019Talent Acquisition Consultant

    Thank you for taking time to write such a thorough review. We are disappointed to hear that in less than 1 year you experienced a variety of issues here at Sharp. We appreciate your honest review and will continue to use your feedback to improve the Sharp Experience for our employees as well.

  5. "Great place to work!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Assistant in Pleasanton, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sharp HealthCare full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Benefits, Vision and Mission, Family-oriented, Visibility in the community, Executive Leadership are approachable and "not stuffy," Employee growth, Work-Life-Balance

    Cons

    Location (San Diego-based); wish there was a Sharp in the Bay Area

    Continue reading

    Sharp HealthCare Response

    June 17, 2019Talent Acquisition Consultant

    Thank you for your review and kind words- you are appreciated!

  6. Helpful (1)

    "Registered Nurse"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Registered Nurse, BSN in La Mesa, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sharp HealthCare full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Wonderful staff throughout all departments. Great teamwork. Wonderful support staff-CNAs, lab, RT to help with RN workload.

    Cons

    Lower pay than other San Diego hospitals. Poor morale with management after contract negotiations. Management with little respect for their RNs during negotiations. Staff turnover.

    Sharp HealthCare Response

    October 5, 2018Talent Acquisition Consultant

    Thank you for your review and the time you spent working at Sharp. Our leadership takes many factors into consideration during contract negotiations and we strive to keep the mission of Sharp at the forefront of any decision making that takes place. We appreciate your honest feedback and will share it with our team leads. Thanks again for your review and we wish you the best of luck as you continue your career.

  7. Helpful (1)

    "My honest review"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sharp HealthCare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The benefits are really good.

    Cons

    Low pay, under staffed, too much work for pay. San diego is too expensive to be working at a place that pays so low.

    Sharp HealthCare Response

    September 18, 2018Talent Acquisition Consultant

    Thank you for your review and the time you spent working with at Sharp. We are disappointed to hear you feel salaries don't match the responsibilities of your position, we are always open to suggestions that will help us continue to improve as an organization. Thank you again for your review and we wish you the best of luck as you continue your career.

  8. "Room to grow but need to treat employees better"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Coordinator in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sharp HealthCare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Sharp Experience Good pay People are aware of Sharp in the San Diego community and has a positive connotation. The health plan is still new and has opportunities to grow.

    Cons

    Not enough employee engagement, overturn is high, stretch staff very thin, many people go on medical/personal leave and aren’t replaced

    Continue reading
  9. "Occ. Med."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Occupational Health in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sharp HealthCare full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    One of the best healthcare systems in San Diego.

    Cons

    Usually hires as pre-dim

    Sharp HealthCare Response

    October 16, 2017Talent Acquisition Team

    Thanks for your review! Glad that you are a part of our team!

  10. Helpful (4)

    "Information Systems"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sharp HealthCare full-time

    Pros

    Lots of room for improvement. Good pay and benefits. Big fish in little San Diego pond.

    Cons

    Old fashioned management style. Lots of old leaders, who have a hard time adapting to change.

    Continue reading
Found 37 reviews