Sharp HealthCare Employee Reviews about "san diego"

Updated Jan 3, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 41 of over 826 reviews

4.2
84%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Sharp HealthCare CEO Chris Howard
Chris Howard
135 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great Benefits with generous time off(in 40 reviews)

  • "good benefits, generous vacation time(in 28 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Lower paying than other major San Diego hospitals(in 23 reviews)

  • "Upper management can be misleading(in 18 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "san diego"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Decent place to work

      Jan 3, 2021 - Registered Nurse, BSN in Chula Vista, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Excellent work culture, great and affordable health care and fair amount of PTO

      Cons

      Lower paying than other major San Diego hospitals

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Excellent place to work

      Dec 14, 2020 - Registered Nurse in Chula Vista, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good salary for per diem staff, good flexibility. If Sharp had Epic, I’d never want to leave. You really feel appreciated as a sharp employee.

      Cons

      Lower pay compared to other hospitals in San Diego

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Good place to work

      Sep 29, 2020 - GI Registered Nurse in San Diego, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Sharp cares about its patients and employees

      Cons

      Lower pay than other systems in San Diego

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Could be worse!

      Sep 13, 2020 - Patient Service Representative in San Diego, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Clean, modern facilities. Several locations thorough out San Diego County.

      Cons

      I was hired per diem, and worked 40 hour weeks on a set schedule. There was never a position posted in my department for full time and even after a year, they would not convert me.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great Company

      Mar 1, 2020 - LVN in San Diego, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great environment, new technology, lots of training opportunities, professionalism.

      Cons

      Only cons is the pay, low compare to other companies in San Diego

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Sharp HealthCare Response

      Talent Acquisition Consultant

      Thank you for your review and for being part of the Sharp family!

    6. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Depends on your manager

      Jun 14, 2019 - Anonymous Employee in San Diego, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The best health benefits by far Decent PTO accrual Occasional Work From Home depending on manager Possibility for setting your preferred work hours as long as it's 8 hrs Good knowing you're working for the top health care provider in San Diego

      Cons

      Behind the times as far as administrative innovation Almost impossible to get new and creative ideas through A lot of employee turnover in poorly-managed departments Some managers micromanage and have no trust for employees Culture can really lack if you're on the wrong team No cool/fun benefits Most employees are older and are set in their ways A lot of time focused on the wrong thing, wasting time and money that won't grow business

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful

      Sharp HealthCare Response

      Talent Acquisition Consultant

      Thank you for taking time to write such a thorough review. We are disappointed to hear that in less than 1 year you experienced a variety of issues here at Sharp. We appreciate your honest review and will continue to use your feedback to improve the Sharp Experience for our employees as well.

    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      RN

      Oct 22, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great staff, good flexibility, and all around supported, and usually staffed well.

      Cons

      The RN pay is the lowest compared to all major hospitals in San Diego

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great employer

      Jun 30, 2019 - Claims Processor in San Diego, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great atmosphere and lots of employee activity to promote healthy decisions

      Cons

      It's only in San Diego

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Sharp HealthCare Response

      Talent Acquisition Consultant

      Thank you for your service and feedback. We appreciate your time to complete the review.

    9. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Great place to work!

      Mar 12, 2019 - Executive Assistant in Pleasanton, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits, Vision and Mission, Family-oriented, Visibility in the community, Executive Leadership are approachable and "not stuffy," Employee growth, Work-Life-Balance

      Cons

      Location (San Diego-based); wish there was a Sharp in the Bay Area

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Sharp HealthCare Response

      Talent Acquisition Consultant

      Thank you for your review and kind words- you are appreciated!

    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Best Phone call of my life

      May 16, 2016 - Registered Nurse in San Diego, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      When I moved from NYC to San Diego I applied at all of the Hospitals in San Diego. After 3 months (savings gone!) Sharp called and offered me an interview. I didn't know it at the time but that was the best phone call of my life. I've loved working at Sharp for the last 22 years! I love working for a company that has the same values that I do. The Sharp Experience is real at Sharp and we are appreciated for treating our patients and co-workers with kindness and respect. I think Sharp is the most secure healthcare system in San Diego because they've grown market share for over 12 years...the only healthcare system in San Diego to grow market share! I now work at Sharp Home Health and love the team and the flexibility. It is rewarding knowing we get to provide care for patients right in their own home. The patients love us and our work is so rewarding! It's great to get paid to do what feels right. I am glad I got the call from Sharp 22 years ago :)

      Cons

      There is no onsite gym. But Sharp does have Sharp Best Health and we do get discounts on many health options and gyms.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 41 Reviews

    Work at Sharp HealthCare? Share Your Experiences

    Sharp HealthCare logo
    or