Sharp HealthCare Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Oct 5, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 18 of over 826 reviews

4.2
84%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Sharp HealthCare CEO Chris Howard
Chris Howard
135 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great Benefits with generous time off(in 40 reviews)

  • "good benefits, generous vacation time(in 28 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Lower paying than other major San Diego hospitals(in 23 reviews)

  • "Upper management can be misleading(in 18 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "upper management"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Business Analyst

      Oct 5, 2020 - Business Analyst in San Diego, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefit and perks are great.

      Cons

      Overworked but no OT paid allowed, stressful environment, and favoritism coming from upper management

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Sharp HealthCare Response

      Talent Acquisition Consultant

      We’re sorry to hear about your frustration with the pay offered at Sharp HealthCare. Our employees are our greatest asset and we strive to be competitive and offer the best compensation packages to our employees. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with honest feedback.

    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Salary

      Nov 11, 2019 - Department Secretary in San Diego, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people to work with.

      Cons

      Upper management can be misleading.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Good but not the best

      Aug 26, 2019 - Surgery Liaison in La Mesa, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Tuition reimbursement, helpful team and volunteers, rewarding work.

      Cons

      Sad 30 minute lunch, bureaucracy, upper management does not make contact with lower rank employees, hard to move up unless you are in the medical field.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Sharp HealthCare Response

      Human Resources

      We are sorry to hear about your experience. We are constantly looking to improve on overall transparency as well as improve our effectiveness as an organization.

    4. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      contact Center Supervisor

      Nov 29, 2018 - Supervisor in San Diego, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Provide a lot of leadership training

      Cons

      Departments work in silos and are out of touch at times with each others direction of plan or changes. upper management can be out of touch with staff. I had a manager that practice unethically to get desired outcome. He/She would under pay new hires based on experience to save on department budget. was really hard to get support from upper management with outlier staff.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Sharp HealthCare Response

      Talent Acquisition Consultant

      Thank you for sharing your feedback, we always appreciate hearing from our former employees. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed our leadership training. We will voice these issues to Human Resources, and we thank you for bringing these concerns to our attention.

    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Sharp HealthCare is San Diego

      Sep 14, 2016 - Anonymous Employee in San Diego, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Comprehensive medical and dental coverage. EOE that supports work life balance Committed to delivering outstanding patient care Dedicated to patient safety Active in the San Diego community

      Cons

      Top heavy in upper management. There are a lot of CEOs, Senior VPs and VPs. Despite the adoption of LEAN and Six Sigma, innovation is slow to happen. Employee satisfaction is on the decline.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful

      Sharp HealthCare Response

      Talent Aquisition Team

      Thank you for your committed service to Sharp— 10 years is something to be proud of! :) Glad you are happy with our benefits...we think they're stellar too! Work life balance is huge and Sharp can provide that. We will take your suggestions to leadership. Thank you for your time in writing a review.

    6. 2.0
      Current Employee

      The vision is respectable, but management definitely needs work

      Aug 15, 2011 - CME 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Driven towards a culture of safety for patients, outstanding leadership by Mike Murphy and Dan Gross, there are a select group of leaders who are excellent and their heart is in the right place and passionate about providing excellent care

      Cons

      Management can be unethical depending on the department, no confidentiality when you speak to upper management, management sticks together and only looks at the their best interest without being fair to employees

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Nurse Case manager

      Jan 14, 2014 - Registered Nurse in San Diego, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Working with diverse projects. There is favoritism and manipulation with assignments.

      Cons

      My work environment is challenging with the management team looking the other way. I did the right thing and called the " Sharp ethics line and reported the incident to upper management. Instead today, I received an below average annual review of 1.8 stating that case management matrix is off. . My supervisor physically touched me by "poking me in the chest" and I reported it. Where is HR or management on this situation? The irony of the situation it was a witnessed event by a fellow co-worker. There is payback if you report anything and you should not say or do anything. The phone calls for the ethics line are recorded and informed is forwarded to department manager

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      SHARP only values their patients, not the hard working employees

      Apr 7, 2014 - PA in San Diego, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Worked as a physician assistant for 10 years.

      Cons

      Poor management from immediate supervisor. Quick to blame without looking at all the facts first. No apologies when they are incorrect. Quick to believe the comments of others before getting your side of the story. Complaints do not go thru the normal channels. If an MD has an issue with a physician assistant, upper management and HR are quick to believe the MD. Large egos. HR is a function of management, so they will be biased, siding with MD. Anyone under the level of a doctor is expendable. No camaraderie. Backstabbing and harassment occurs. Be careful about reporting it or you will be terminated. MD's annually evaluate the physicians assistants (and nurse practitioners). However, the mid-levels are not allowed to evaluate the MD's. This is sad as physician assistants work hand in hand with MD's. If there is poor camaraderie, pt management, etc. between Midlevels and MD's, it can not be reflected on yearly evals. MD's and upper management have their own interest in mind. Additionally, Midlevels Are not allowed to vote for department chair, per the medical director. He states because it is not written in the bylaws of SRS. Midlevels should have a voice in who they will be working under. There are definitely some MD's that are not fond of Midlevels. End of the year bonuses are appreciated by the Midlevels, however nowhere in comparison to the MD's. I received an end of the year bonus. My net take home on that bonus was $1700. And I work 5 days a week! I don't even have a half day off during the week, like all the MD's are privileged to. When I spoke with with a fellow MD, he said his net take home bonus was 90% more than I took home. You do the math! My poor nurse had an end of the year bonus of $250. SHARP really values surveys and patient satisfaction. However, when it comes to employees, they do not value them and treat them poorly.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great for patients not employees.

      Sep 14, 2014 - Anonymous in San Diego, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Excellent medical provider and customer service. This is the place to go to for treatment but not to make a career out of, so only apply as a last resort or in desperate need of a job.

      Cons

      If you plan on building a career with Sharp you must be related to upper management and the pay is not the best for such a prestigious company.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    10. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Device Deployment Specialist

      Dec 18, 2017 - Device Deployment Specialist in San Diego, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great co-workers. Job was very easy. If you're the type of person that wants to do one thing really good, this is the place. The culture of Sharp is very friendly.

      Cons

      No room to move up in the company. Upper management favored those they knew outside of work. No cross training and therefore limited amount of professional growth.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Sharp HealthCare Response

      Talent Acquisition Team

      Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We appreciate the constructive criticism and will share with our leadership team.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 18 Reviews

    Work at Sharp HealthCare? Share Your Experiences

    Sharp HealthCare logo
    or