Shawbrook Bank Reviews

Updated 1 Jan 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.0
48%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Shawbrook Bank Interim Chief Executive Officer Ian Cowie (no image)
Ian Cowie
16 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Senior Management do not seem on the ball in terms of what middle managers are doing around day to day people management(in 4 reviews)

  • "long hours(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. "Great culture"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shawbrook Bank full-time

    Pros

    Culture Leadership Flexibility Lack of bureaucracy

    Cons

    Difficult to think of anything.

    Shawbrook Bank Response

    December 7, 2020Head of Resourcing

    Thanks for your comments

  2. Helpful (1)

    "Worst company I have every worked for"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Brentwood, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Shawbrook Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Some people are very professional, most are NOT .... stay away!

    Cons

    Lack of management HR appalling Bullying in the workplace

    Shawbrook Bank Response

    January 5, 2021Head of Resourcing

    Thanks for taking the time to post your review. We`re obviously disappointed to read about your concerns so in order for us to address them directly we would appreciate some time with you to try and get a better understanding. Please email us at askHR@shawbrook.co.uk to set up a time convenient for you.


  3. "Busy place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Analyst in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Shawbrook Bank full-time

    Pros

    Plenty to do, often challenging

    Cons

    Felt a little short-handed at times

    Shawbrook Bank Response

    November 19, 2020Head of Resourcing

    Thanks for your comments.

  4. COVID-19

    "Great employer"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Underwriter in Peterborough, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shawbrook Bank full-time

    Pros

    First class support during COVID period

    Cons

    Continued restructuring of underwriting teams

    Shawbrook Bank Response

    November 6, 2020Head of Resourcing

    Thanks for your comments.

  5. Helpful (1)

    "review"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Collector 

    I worked at Shawbrook Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    flexible work nice people company socials

    Cons

    poor management the pressure can be too much

    Shawbrook Bank Response

    September 28, 2020Head of Resourcing

    Thanks for taking the time to post your review. We`re obviously disappointed to read about your concerns so in order for us to address them directly we would appreciate some time with you to try and get a better understanding. Please email us at askHR@shawbrook.co.uk to set up a time convenient for you.

  6. Helpful (1)

    "Would not recommend"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Business Analyst in Brentwood, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Shawbrook Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Culture has got better than a few years back. - The company has made in-roads to improving diversity and inclusion

    Cons

    - Senior Management do not seem on the ball in terms of what middle managers are doing around day to day people management. - Controls lacking in certain areas - Pay structure is not transparent and neither is bonus payout (they will just give what they want) - Lack of training and development for I.T. staff (tiny budget for 2020 which was insufficient) - Micro-management - Lack of empathy

    Continue reading

    Shawbrook Bank Response

    November 6, 2020Head of Resourcing

    Thanks for taking the time to post your review. We`re obviously disappointed to read about your concerns so in order for us to address them directly we would appreciate some time with you to try and get a better understanding. Please email us at askHR@shawbrook.co.uk to set up a time convenient for you.

  7. Helpful (2)

    "Not bad"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Tester in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Shawbrook Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Offices, Flexible working and

    Cons

    Management sets unrealistic project timescales

    Shawbrook Bank Response

    July 31, 2020Head of Resourcing

    Thanks for your comments.

  8. Helpful (2)

    "Good in some places, can do better"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Risk Analyst in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Shawbrook Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good culture and team spirit

    Cons

    Lack of career development and opportunity

    Shawbrook Bank Response

    August 7, 2020Head of Resourcing

    Thanks for taking the time to post your review. We`re obviously disappointed to read about your concerns so in order for us to address them directly we would appreciate some time with you to try and get a better understanding. Please email us at askHR@shawbrook.co.uk to set up a time convenient for you.

  9. Helpful (2)

    "Headless chicken"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Brentwood, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Shawbrook Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great salary and great benefits for the employees.

    Cons

    Bad place to work you have to keep telling the top hierarchy of the team that you are needed in the company to keep the job.

    Continue reading

    Shawbrook Bank Response

    July 31, 2020Head of Resourcing

    Thanks for taking the time to post your review. We`re obviously disappointed to read about your concerns so in order for us to address them directly we would appreciate some time with you to try and get a better understanding. Please email us at askHR@shawbrook.co.uk to set up a time convenient for you.

  10. Helpful (5)

    "The WORST Company I have ever worked for"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Brentwood, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Shawbrook Bank full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The people on the ground are mainly friendly

    Cons

    Management team are awful, no Direction or real Leadership which led to huge confusion, frustration and anger. Human Resource team are only there for the Senior Management, no support for staff on the ground what so ever, they had a lump it or like it attitude. No signs of the output from the numerous "Staff Surveys" ever benefitting the broader staff at all Money being wasted in all the wrong areas, with the biggest money wasters being promoted rather than shown the door Complete lack of training and / or promotional prospects

    Continue reading

    Shawbrook Bank Response

    August 7, 2020Head of Resourcing

    Thanks for taking the time to post your review. We`re obviously disappointed to read about your concerns so in order for us to address them directly we would appreciate some time with you to try and get a better understanding. Please email us at askHR@shawbrook.co.uk to set up a time convenient for you.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 62 English Reviews