Shearer's Foods Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Shearer's Foods Reviews

Updated Dec 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
43%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Shearer's Foods Chief Executive Officer Bill Nicktakis (no image)
Bill Nicktakis
9 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great pay and benefits, an abundance of overtime if you need it, and sometimes even when you don't(in 16 reviews)

  • "Good benefits, decent pay,nice co-workers(in 15 reviews)

Cons
  • "Fast paced, it is 24 /7 workplace(in 9 reviews)

  • "(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Route sales rep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Route Sales Representative 

    I worked at Shearer's Foods full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits And decent pay

    Cons

    Long hours, hard on work life balance

    Shearer's Foods2019-12-11
  2. "Not what it used to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Various in Massillon, OH

    I worked at Shearer's Foods full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Pay is decent, coworkers are great

    Cons

    Turnover is very high, too much overtime

    Advice to Management

    Learn to take care of your employees better. This will greatly help your turnover issue.

    Shearer's Foods2019-12-13
  3. "Horrible people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Machine Technician in Burlington, IA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Shearer's Foods full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Some descent hardworking people that work there because they have no other choice.

    Cons

    Human resources employees only have their best interest in mind. I was terminated because one of them didn't relay a message and wouldn't admit that I had even called because he forgot to write it down or do the simplest task his job required. They also kept all my pens and over $8 in change out of my locker, when you're employment ends they won't allow u to even be present when clearing your locker. What classy... people. Turnover is around 30% or more. Posted monthly. No wonder

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Hire better people, talk to your employees and let them know you're aware that they exist instead of treating them like a number.

    Shearer's Foods2019-11-04
  4. "Very good job and great upper management that are willing to work with you."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sanitation in Navarre, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Shearer's Foods full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good Schedule, consistent hours and easy work

    Cons

    Dirty and very hot in summer

    Advice to Management

    Leads do not really do much for what they're paid.

    Shearer's Foods2019-09-15
  5. "Good Pay, but hot and messy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Processor in Brewster, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shearer's Foods full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good Pay, Advancement, Decent benefits

    Cons

    Hot, mandatory overtime, lack of vacation

    Advice to Management

    Make sure everyone is doing their job

    Shearer's Foods2019-08-30
  6. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - PMO in Perham, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Shearer's Foods full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay good benefits good people

    Cons

    Long hours and short breaks

    Shearer's Foods2019-08-20
  7. "Not a good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Maintenance Mechanic in Guelph, ON
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Shearer's Foods full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    easy to join in this place

    Cons

    lesser job security. they treat people like slave. Not recommend to work there at all.

    Advice to Management

    be honest

    Shearer's Foods2019-09-20
  8. "My training was exceptional. They really seemed to care for their employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Packer in Newport, AR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Shearer's Foods full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The pay was good with chance of advancement

    Cons

    It does get real hot. But breaks are given

    Advice to Management

    Treat all employees ad equals

    Shearer's Foods2019-07-22
  9. "Dont get hurt on the job you'll get fired even tho you pass the drug n alcohol test."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lineworker in Perham, MN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Shearer's Foods full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The pay is ok but benefits suck

    Cons

    If you get hurt and take any days off they give you attendance points and when you get to 9 points they fire you but they call it a voluntary quit so they dont have to pay unemployment benefits. I dont know about anywhere but perham mn, but that location sucks. 12 he shifts suck. Insurance plan is terrible.

    Advice to Management

    Get some compassion and consideration for employees that get injured on your property and have to call in because of severe pain due to those injuries I had dr notes for every absence and he knows it was due to that slip n fall injury and I still received points for it.

    Shearer's Foods2019-06-23
  10. "Packer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Packer in Brewster, OH

    I worked at Shearer's Foods part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Set Schedule, FT opportunities available

    Cons

    Fast paced, hot work environment

    Shearer's Foods2019-04-30
Found 160 reviews