Shire Senior Manager Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Find jobs for Senior Manager

Shire Senior Manager Reviews

Updated 3 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.2
25%
Recommend to a Friend
11%
Approve of CEO
Shire CEO Flemming Ornskov, MD
Flemming Ornskov, MD
9 Ratings
  1. "Shire"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Product Manager in Sydney
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Shire full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Working in the rare disease space and identifying people living with rare diseases.

    Cons

    Specialist company trying to use a GP sales model

    Shire2020-03-03
  2. "Dynamic environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Manager 

    I worked at Shire full-time

    Pros

    Dynamic environment caused many job responsibility changes, which created opportunities

    Cons

    May not fit for some people

    Shire2019-07-19
  3. "Rewarding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Shire full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very positive atmosphere and always supportive

    Cons

    Did not have any concerns or experience any negativity at this company.

    Shire2018-08-19
  4. Helpful (20)

    "disorganization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Lexington, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Shire full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    dedicated employees working hard to help each other and the customers we searve

    Cons

    This place is completely mis-managed. I get the impression that the executive team and upper management does not know or understand these rare diseases. Therefore, do not know how to manage the company. Interestingly, the sales teams targets for many are nowhere near being attained, but yet we continue to exceed our financial forcasts - the numbers do not add up. This place has no direction of what Shire wants to be. There is only one good outcome and that is to acquired by a different company....which hopefully happens soon. It is really hard coming to work everyday.

    Continue reading
    Shire2017-12-09
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Senior product manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Product Manager 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Shire full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good people, opportunities for career growth

    Cons

    Too many acquisitions, re-orgs that cause distruption

    Continue reading
    Shire2017-04-13
  6. "Aggressive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Shire full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I worked for Baxalta when it got acquired. My severance package was quite generous.

    Cons

    All hell broke loose without much understanding from the new Shire management. Shire CEO publicly stated that he's not committed to employee retention.

    Continue reading
    Shire2017-04-18
  7. "Newly acquired Baxalta."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Program Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shire full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Initial indications are good that leaders are focused on improving the quality of life for people with rare and chronic diseases.

    Cons

    Some signs of impulsive decision making in absence of basic information. Heard from several individuals of a track record of re-org cycles every 18 months to 2 years. Possibly change for sake of change.

    Continue reading
    Shire2016-09-21
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Sr. Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Shire full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great company to work for.

    Cons

    To many reorg.. can't focus on one thing

    Shire2016-09-07
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Ok company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shire

    Pros

    Benefits, salary. Work life balance

    Cons

    Managers are not the best. Mostly selected for technical talent not manager skills. Not good at all.

    Continue reading
    Shire2016-06-29
  10. "Love the culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Project Manager in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shire

    Pros

    Great benefits, culture and future

    Cons

    Because of the growth, there are a lot of things constantly changing

    Shire2016-01-29
Found 12 reviews