Shoe Zone Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Shoe Zone Reviews

Updated Aug 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 61 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
38%
Recommend to a Friend
Shoe Zone CEO Anthony Smith
Anthony Smith
0 Ratings
Pros
  • "25% discount can be useful, especially around Christmas period(in 7 reviews)

  • "25% staff discount, day off for your birthday, holiday allowance for overtime worked(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "Minimum wage, don't get sick pay(in 7 reviews)

  • "That's about 2 weeks in full time work(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Currently a sales assistant at shoe zone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Cramlington, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shoe Zone part-time

    Pros

    Brilliant customer service experience, great staff to work with! Very supportive and helpful. Discount and choice of hours you work.

    Cons

    No extra pay on bank holiday

    Shoe Zone2019-08-21
  2. "Make you work for free"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Basingstoke, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Shoe Zone part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good staff discount on all products

    Cons

    Be prepared to be guilted into a lot of unpaid work. Management quick to pull in the team to encourage us and say we need to pull together and work as a team, but it's a cryptic way of saying you're expected to work entire days for free without pay. Even after doing double my contracted hours, I only get paid what I'm contracted to do.

    Advice to Management

    If you can't get the work done in the time the store is open, either pay your staff to work more hours or manage the staff better. Don't guilt them into doing entire shifts for no pay with 'You're not being a team player'.

    Shoe Zone2019-08-08
  3. "Haven't Had A Very Good Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant in Sudbury, East of England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Shoe Zone part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Uniform is provided for free - Small contribution towards work trousers - Free (out of a selection) work shoes - Christmas bonus's - Hour breaks (only after 4 hours) - Over time is almost always available - You do get some nice customers - 25% off staff discount (but only available after 6 month probationary period)

    Cons

    - Minimum wage - Not so flattering outfit (you get used to the blue) - You don't get paid for coming in earlier/staying after - (In my case) supervisors believe that they are so much higher than they actually are and assign poorer jobs to the less experienced and younger staff - Younger staff tend to get blamed for things automatically (due to the lack of cameras) - Shoplifting is a frequent occurrence -... Management is barely on the shop floor - The stockroom is very messy - hard to navigate and get the stock customers need - Occasional rude customers (but this is almost every job) - Due to lack of staff, I was forced to come in when I was ill because no one could cover me. - No sick pay - Was not allowed to take emergency time off due to a death of a family member

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - Get more involved with your staff - Assess the professionalism of your supervisors

    Shoe Zone2019-06-28
  4. "I worked here for one year and enjoyed my time there"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Retail Assistant Plus in Brighton, England

    I worked at Shoe Zone part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice coworkers and managers, good working environment

    Cons

    Pay could be higher and an update to the uniform regulations would be great

    Advice to Management

    This store has a great management team so keep up what your doing!

    Shoe Zone2019-04-25
  5. "Unfortunately"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor in Seaford, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Shoe Zone part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Training is good and consistent

    Cons

    Salary is shocking and Employer overall put Shareholders before Employees. Expected to work all sorts of hours despite having contracted hours.

    Advice to Management

    To consider the working hours and working conditions of your employees

    Shoe Zone2019-05-19
  6. "Great team, poor company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Shoe Zone part-time

    Pros

    Brilliant staff to work with, great culture and values with friendly management and environment.

    Cons

    Poor pay, few staff benefits, lack of HQ communication.

    Shoe Zone2019-02-18
  7. "Friendly Working Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Shoe Zone part-time

    Pros

    Good co-workers, given a lot of responsibility

    Cons

    Poor pay and not enough full time positions

    Shoe Zone2019-01-27
  8. "Overcontrolling"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in Newport, South East England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Shoe Zone part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A few nice people working there.

    Cons

    Manager and supervisor overcontrolling, telling me what to do and not letting me be proactive. No cameras in shop, spent half of my shift keeping an eye on customers making sure they aren't stealing

    Advice to Management

    Let people get on with their own work rather than bossing them around constantly.

    Shoe Zone2019-02-16
  9. "Best retail job I’ve worked."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Shoe Zone full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice and understanding management Staff easy to get along with Stocking is easy Everything is easy to understand and grasp, and even when you get stuff wrong management doesn’t make you feel stupid Tills easy to use 25% discount can be useful, especially around Christmas period Easy to get time off, at short notice too (was also very accommodating at the fact that I booked a festival before I got the job) Stockroom... easy to navigate Good songs played on the radio and a variety too Customers are mostly pleasant,more so than any other retail place I’ve worked Management understands if you’re a few minutes late Gives me overtime when I want it and especially need it Works around my school schedule with no problem Head office pay for meal at Christmas party night out Head office also send boxes of chocolates at the end of the year to thank staff My regional head office is quite cooperative

    Show More

    Cons

    Can get very quiet at my location and once you’ve done your set tasks, left thinking what to do next Not much opportunity to move up unless you really want to and ask for it No training for opening and closing up/banking so can’t really say much about that Head office can be picky about some things like email club or using your card to log in or checking fill up If there’s not many people employed like at my branch,... more shifts have to be taken on which is fine for somebody like me who wants them but may not be ideal for others Maintenance don’t seem to really care about the store falling apart

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Nothing much, maybe consider making the pay higher than minimum wage? Haha

    Shoe Zone2019-01-11
  10. "Store Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in North Watford, England

    I worked at Shoe Zone full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    25% discount Extra day holiday on your birthday HQ always very helpful

    Cons

    Extra long hours on stock take, but you did get them owed back to you

    Shoe Zone2018-12-06
Found 61 reviews