Shop Direct Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Shop Direct Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 77 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
85%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Henry Birch
8 Ratings
Pros
  • "(in 5 reviews)

  • "Decent work friendly people good job for what it is(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "There has been a significant turn over in senior management with many of the most respected leaders leaving to go to competitors(in 4 reviews)

  • "Can sometimes be too fast paced(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Liverpool, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shop Direct full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible working, great people, staff discount

    Cons

    Hard to get to and traffic can be bad

    Shop Direct2019-04-08

    Shop Direct Response

    April 9, 2019Employer Brand Manager

    Thanks for taking the time to review us :-)

  2. "Good working environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Warehouse Assistant in Shaw, North West England, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Shop Direct full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Targets are set however no major pressure to reach them, and if exceeded bonuses are given. Employee looks after you Overtime readily available Good shift patterns Good rate of pay

    Cons

    Usually only seasonal work, around Xmas

    Shop Direct2019-03-07

    Shop Direct Response

    April 9, 2019Employer Brand Manager

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review with us, we really appreciate it!

  3. "Good values and benefits - management not always the best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Warehouseman in Oldham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shop Direct full-time for more than 19 years

    Pros

    Pay, Benefits, work - home life balance

    Cons

    LOM's and lower Management, redundancies, no career progression

    Advice to Management

    I've worked for ShopDirect for a long time. Despite being made redundant I genuinely believed our previous CEO Alex and now I believe in our new CEO Henry Birch. I believe that do want to create a happy work environment for all their staff despite huge differences in budgets between Sites (warehouse staff will always be treated like second class citizens compared to the other sites, so I'm not complaining). I'm currently...

    Show More
    Shop Direct2019-03-16
  4. "A mixed bag"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Liverpool, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Shop Direct full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    There are some great people doing some good work at SD. In a great environment at their head office in Liverpool.

    Cons

    Can be a highly corporate and siloed place to work with different areas of the business not always pulling in the same direction.

    Advice to Management

    Need to create a more inclusive environment. Too many people are concerned with empire building and not doing what’s best for the customer.

    Shop Direct2019-03-15
  5. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Shaw, North West England, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Shop Direct full-time for more than 19 years

    Pros

    Great opportunities for Your progression

    Cons

    Re-locating to midlands.loss of employment

    Shop Direct2019-02-23
  6. "Good on the surface"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Buying in Liverpool, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Shop Direct full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great office building - light and airy Great pay and benefits - Flexi time, contributory pension, private healthcare Gym access for free with fantastic gym instructors Really good communication as a business

    Cons

    Location - over a mile from a train station, can’t park at work due to lack of spaces Cliquey environment No progression - people stay at the same level for years with no hope to be promoted Too many meetings Ineffective management Unclear strategies Lazy staff paid too much for doing very little - they’re only there for the benefits Poor behaviour not reprimanded - line managers who don’t know how to manage

    Advice to Management

    They need to get rid of that middle layer of assistants who are lazy, belligerent and paid way too much for what they do Train your leaders to actually manage performance Recruit from wider locations to reduce the clique mentality

    Shop Direct2019-02-27
  7. "Wonderful place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Service Operations Manager in Liverpool, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shop Direct full-time for more than 19 years

    Pros

    Great place to work been here 13 years across multiple roles the culture is world class

    Cons

    Parking can be difficult and expensive if you are unable to locate an on site parking space

    Advice to Management

    Treat those below you well and they will work their hardest

    Shop Direct2019-01-28

    Shop Direct Response

    January 28, 2019Employer Brand Manager

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a positive review on your 13 years here at Shop Direct!! To think of all the things we've achieved as a team in those years... calling time on catalogues, introducing 5 star rated apps, winning employer of the year award, it's been busy and I'm ...

    Show More
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Started off great but has no chance of career progression"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Warehouse Manager in Shaw, North West England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Shop Direct part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - friendly environment - good hours - good pay

    Cons

    - internal politics - favouritism - little involvement in business changes.

    Advice to Management

    Stop playing favourites when hiring managers. It's the reason why management levels leave a lot to desire.

    Shop Direct2018-11-18

    Shop Direct Response

    November 19, 2018Talent Acquisition Partner

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. I'm sorry to hear that your time here didn't live up to early expectations. Happy to chat through though to understand more if you'd like to get in touch - lee.harding@shopdirect.com

  9. "Constantly changing and improving"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Advisor in Bolton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shop Direct full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    They're willing and are actively continually improving work environments. Opportunities to develop are quite frequent internally.

    Cons

    The changes can take a while to take effect so colleagues may not feel the benefits. Middle management can be a little stuck in their ways.

    Advice to Management

    Attempt a common sense approach on some occasions. Continue listening to colleagues to further develop and improve the individuals.

    Shop Direct2018-10-16

    Shop Direct Response

    November 19, 2018Employer Brand Manager

    Thanks for taking the time out to leave a review, we put a lot of focus into our working environment to create a space colleagues feel inspired to work in, so I'm glad you are seeing the changes. However, as you mention, these changes can sometimes take a little time to reach all ...

    Show More
  10. "Great family feel and atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Payment Negotiator in Liverpool, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Shop Direct full-time

    Pros

    Great team and fun working environment, training and support is great,

    Cons

    Would like to see more career opportunities outside of the contact centre

    Shop Direct2018-10-10

    Shop Direct Response

    November 19, 2018Employer Brand Manager

    Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. It’s really good to hear your positive feedback on the training and support you received during your time here, our trainers are based on site and some have moved into training from similar positions to yourself which we feel really ...

    Show More
Found 77 reviews