Shoppers Drug Mart Beauty Expert Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Shoppers Drug Mart Beauty Expert Reviews

Updated 2 Apr 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
72%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
Shoppers Drug Mart President Mike Motz (no image)
Mike Motz
18 Ratings
  1. "good job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Beauty Expert in St. Catharines, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Shoppers Drug Mart part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    get to try new products

    Cons

    Expect to work More than hired for

    Shoppers Drug Mart2020-04-02
  2. "Cosmetician at SDm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cosmetician/Beauty Expert in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Shoppers Drug Mart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - lots of free product/ gratis given - tasks at hand are very easily completed with not much effort needed - atmosphere and staff is friendly and likeable. - discount is useful of cosmetic products - building a network of various clients and developing lasting bonds with customers

    Cons

    - can be an unfair, and uncomfortable at times - there is no room to grow, progress, and establish yourself in a related field.

    Shoppers Drug Mart2020-02-01
  3. "Work at shoppers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Beauty Expert in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shoppers Drug Mart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It's a friendly and positive work environment

    Cons

    you should work on holidays and as part time you have no guaranteed benefits

    Shoppers Drug Mart2019-12-29
  4. "Good discount but little flexibility"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Beauty Expert in Ottawa, ON
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Shoppers Drug Mart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I enjoyed my co-workers as well as the range of ways to get points and discounts. If you work in beauty there are tons of opportunities to learn about new and exciting products. Trainings aren't paid but free food and products are awesome.

    Cons

    In my store we didn't recycle any beauty packaging, or anything period. Huge amounts of disposable waste. Theres a very high turnover, could have been the centralized location. There was always huge stress over theft because of the layout of the most expensive products (fragrance).

    Continue reading
    Shoppers Drug Mart2019-12-30
  5. "Professional makeup artist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Beauty Boutique Expert in Abbotsford, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Shoppers Drug Mart full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The customers made me happy

    Cons

    Can’t think of any

    Shoppers Drug Mart2019-12-10
  6. "Disorganized management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Cosmetician/Beauty Expert 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Shoppers Drug Mart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Low stress company to work for,

    Cons

    Management can be very disorganized and wages are stagnant, they won't pay a dime over minimum wage unless you're on a salary. Having different managers for different departments means there are widely differing expectations from multiple bosses who all expect that you answer to them.

    Shoppers Drug Mart2019-12-05
  7. "Great Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cosmetician/Beauty Expert 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Shoppers Drug Mart full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Commission, Management, Training, Products and Coworkers. I know many sales positions in beauty don’t have commission so this is great! My cosmetics manager is very sweet and easy to talk to, the training schools and gratis are awesome and the coworkers are fun and great people.

    Cons

    Low base pay and working every weekend and holiday late hours. Wouldn’t recommend this job if you have kids or want to spend time with family ever.

    Continue reading
    Shoppers Drug Mart2019-11-17
  8. "Terrible sad place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Beauty Expert in Saskatoon, SK
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Shoppers Drug Mart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The company offers an employee discount

    Cons

    Just a toxic place full of gossip and unhappy people. Management very immature (caught talking trash about employees to other employees). The people that succeed in this environment are people who have no other good options and will be there for life.

    Continue reading
    Shoppers Drug Mart2019-12-05
  9. "Excellent Retail Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cosmetician/Beauty Expert in Brantford, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Shoppers Drug Mart full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    • Team-driven, supportive community • Education opportunities • Hourly wage + commission + gratis • Accommodating work-life balance

    Cons

    • Not much room for upwards movement • Quality of work culture depends entirely on management team • High turnover rate • Few full-time opportunities

    Continue reading
    Shoppers Drug Mart2019-10-16
  10. "Depends on the team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Beauty Boutique Expert 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Shoppers Drug Mart part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Who you work with can really make the difference

    Cons

    Management often blame corporate for poor treatment of employees

    Continue reading
    Shoppers Drug Mart2019-10-24
Found 99 reviews