Shoppers Drug Mart Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Shoppers Drug Mart Reviews

Updated 17 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
68%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Shoppers Drug Mart CEO Mike Motz (no image)
Mike Motz
399 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Theft not being addressed by head office to resolve(in 67 reviews)

  • "Lower pay especially with the minimum wage(in 54 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Amazing!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at Shoppers Drug Mart full-time

    Pros

    Great management, amazing team environment, loved working there. fast paced, great training, great co-workers

    Cons

    none I loved everyone I worked with

    Shoppers Drug Mart2019-01-25
  2. "Stock"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Stocker 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Shoppers Drug Mart part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    flexible hours, close to home

    Cons

    poor management, early morning hours

    Shoppers Drug Mart2017-10-30
  3. "Reasonable hours, good benefits, successful Canadian company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Shoppers Drug Mart full-time

    Pros

    Reasonable hours, good benefits including cheap Goodlife membership, successful company that has succeeded for a number of years, investing in the health of Canadians

    Cons

    A lot more politics after being acquired by Loblaw and more dotted line reporting. Larger teams including Loblaw often requires travel to Brampton and slower decision making.

    Advice to Management

    Need to retain the lean team and nimbleness that Shoppers had prior to the Loblaw deal as this was the key to success for many years. Loblaw teams are way too large and everyone is a specialist - lack of accountability in many areas.

    Shoppers Drug Mart2017-10-01
  4. "Marketing Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Shoppers Drug Mart full-time

    Pros

    My area was quite open for new ideas and would act upon them. It felt like a small startup in a large company. Management listened to idea and would give credit to those who come up with them.

    Cons

    With a small startup feel there wasn't necessarily room for growth into a new role as there weren't new roles available.

    Shoppers Drug Mart2016-10-06
  5. "Good Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Heathrow, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Shoppers Drug Mart

    Pros

    lots of great things working for world duty free group. Lots of opportunities in the business and for the career seeker looking for opportunities.

    Cons

    Opportunities are limited as you have to wait for turnover or until new positions are created. Looks for internal employees for career opportunities.

    Shoppers Drug Mart2016-03-20
  6. "cosmeticiton"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Cosmetician in Aldergrove, Northern Ireland
    Recommends

    I have been working at Shoppers Drug Mart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    its an enjoyable experience learn alot

    Cons

    minimum wage, repetitive salses based job

    Shoppers Drug Mart2013-05-27
  7. "Decent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Cashier 

    I worked at Shoppers Drug Mart part-time

    Pros

    Clean, relatively easy, flexible hours

    Cons

    Customer service, hours, uniform, system

    Shoppers Drug Mart2019-10-16
  8. "Great Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pharmacist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Shoppers Drug Mart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work closely with many talented individuals . Similar systems store to store.

    Cons

    Some stores are open till very late which means some possible late shifts , but only a con if that doesn't suit you.

    Shoppers Drug Mart2019-10-15
  9. "Excellent Retail Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cosmetician/Beauty Expert in Brantford, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Shoppers Drug Mart full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    • Team-driven, supportive community • Education opportunities • Hourly wage + commission + gratis • Accommodating work-life balance

    Cons

    • Not much room for upwards movement • Quality of work culture depends entirely on management team • High turnover rate • Few full-time opportunities

    Advice to Management

    I would encourage those in management positions to foster teamwork in their employees and encourage team members to support each other, rather than compete. Continue valuing education and training opportunities. Invest further in employee wages and opportunities for higher hourly pay, based on experience, training received, and time working for the company.

    Shoppers Drug Mart2019-10-16
  10. "Great Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cosmetician 

    I have been working at Shoppers Drug Mart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good commission rate, great management.

    Cons

    No part time benefits

    Shoppers Drug Mart2019-10-14
Found 2012 reviews