Shore Thing Marketing Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Shore Thing Marketing Reviews

Updated 3 Oct 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 73 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
56%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Richard Dinella
42 Ratings
Pros
  • "Teaches good entry level thinking(in 8 reviews)

  • "This business teaches you to be strong minded, and to have a kick butt attitude and work ethic(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "They don't directly tell you it's a door to door position that is 100% commission(in 11 reviews)

  • "And it's 100% commission the amount of time and effort put in didn't reflect in the check(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Competitive opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in South Plainfield, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Shore Thing Marketing for more than a year

    Pros

    Great environment and opportunity and overall a wonderful culture to succeed and grow into

    Cons

    there are not many cons that i can think over i understand what i was getting myself into so the longer hours and commission was just part of the job to me

    Advice to Management

    You're a stud Rich never change

    Shore Thing Marketing2018-10-03
  2. "Sales Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Shore Thing Marketing full-time

    Pros

    Great learning experience, learned a lot through the whole training and internship

    Cons

    Bad pay, almost zero to no incentives for interns to work harder

    Advice to Management

    Don't tell them that you have the option of a base pay if you condition it with making a quota first.

    Shore Thing Marketing2017-08-09
  3. "Very good working environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in South Plainfield, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Shore Thing Marketing (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Extremely motivational working environment for young interns

    Cons

    Dont live up to what they say they will pay you

    Advice to Management

    Management was great

    Shore Thing Marketing2017-02-07
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Horrible place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in South Plainfield, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Shore Thing Marketing full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    No pros whatsoever this place sucks and is a pyramid scam

    Cons

    They require a 10+hour day. There rip you off with pay. They tell you there is a base rate but only pay you commission and not even all of it. I never got paid what I earned. I complained and just got a bonus. This place is a time suck. They require you to be there all day and then after your shift you have to stay after quite late and play games then go out to eat. You do not make enough money to do that. This place...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Pay your employees and cut your ridiculous hours

    Shore Thing Marketing2017-02-22
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Don't Let This Be Your First Choice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Shore Thing Marketing

    Pros

    Easy interview - kind coworkers - laid-back atmosphere.

    Cons

    Being paid is not a guarantee.

    Advice to Management

    Pay people.

    Shore Thing Marketing2016-12-30
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Door to door sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Shore Thing Marketing

    Pros

    Energetic outgoing people friendly competitive environment training everyday employee fun night

    Cons

    Door to door sales no growth with in a year People will stay for 2 weeks max no benefits only commission

    Advice to Management

    The work you put it so it can take up to 2-4 years

    Shore Thing Marketing2016-10-06
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Hindsight 20/20"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Entry Level Account Manager in South Plainfield, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Shore Thing Marketing full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    It's a lot of fun, the environment is amazing. If you are good at sales, this job is great.

    Cons

    It's door to door sales. You pay for everything. (No Benefits) Drive your car around all day. Sometimes no income. They say base salary of 400 dollars a week or 100% commission... however if you don't 10 sales you don't get anything. You feel like you're conning people even if you are saving them money.

    Advice to Management

    Please don't be so shady about everything. Keep telling us to have integrity, when you guys sign people up for Direct Energy even if it isn't saving them money.

    Shore Thing Marketing2016-07-17
  8. Helpful (3)

    "eh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Shore Thing Marketing (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Can't really think of any pros.

    Cons

    They hide what the actual position is during the interview. They don't directly tell you it's a door to door position that is 100% commission. They expect you to work longer hours than originally told. The manager plays favorites and the employees all have a cultish mindset. Also, there is no work life balance you will be spending all of your time at the job.

    Advice to Management

    Be honest during the interviews

    Shore Thing Marketing2016-06-21
  9. Helpful (8)

    "Please Don't Join "THE BUSINESS""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Corporate Trainer in South Plainfield, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Shore Thing Marketing for more than a year

    Pros

    You MIGHT make a friend or two. Otherwise, there are zero pros I can give to them. Just being honest. (This review is not a reflection of Rich. This is about the other team and CEO he shares an office with).

    Cons

    1. You are just a number to them. 2. You will not have a personal life. 3. Your personal life will become your work life and that is highly frowned upon, but they brought it upon you. 4. The D2D "owner" is a snake. He plays favorites and will turn on you the second he feels threatened. 5. It's literally like a cult. 6. If you are desperate for work, this is the place for you, otherwise please don't quit your job...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    First of all, don't match up interviewees with peopl they can "identify with" just to get them to like that person, so they'll start. Second, tell them what it is. Third, stop being snakes.

    Shore Thing Marketing2016-06-22
  10. Helpful (2)

    "entry level"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shore Thing Marketing full-time

    Pros

    the pro of working here , i get to travel all over the world . i get to be able to show my people-skills and prove my work ethic to my manager. One thing people are afraid of is working hard and they want a salary of $10 and hour and be comfortable i do not want to be comfortable and depend on a 401k when i retire i want to be able to retire in my 20's or 30's and here i can do that

    Cons

    um um um um um .....

    Advice to Management

    Keep motivating us as well as yourself your doing a great job

    Shore Thing Marketing2016-05-12
Found 73 reviews