Shore Thing Marketing Reviews

Updated 26 Apr 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
55%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Shore Thing Marketing President  Richard Dinella (no image)
Richard Dinella
43 Ratings
Pros
  • "Teaches good entry level thinking(in 8 reviews)

  • "This business teaches you to be strong minded, and to have a kick butt attitude and work ethic(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "They don't directly tell you it's a door to door position that is 100% commission(in 11 reviews)

  • "And it's 100% commission the amount of time and effort put in didn't reflect in the check(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Uncomfortable Work Environment"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in South Plainfield, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Shore Thing Marketing full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Enjoyed my coworkers, even though they changed every week.

    Cons

    - Was forced to watch a female co-worker roll a hot dog across the floor with her nose after she lost a sales bet. Richard (Owner) would set up bets like this between salespeople for "Fun" and have us all watch. - Was told by the Richard to "Don't let my family hold my career back" when I asked for 3 days off to be with my dad during a serious surgery.

    Shore Thing Marketing2020-04-26
  2. "Competitive opportunity"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Account Manager in South Plainfield, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Shore Thing Marketing for more than a year

    Pros

    Great environment and opportunity and overall a wonderful culture to succeed and grow into

    Cons

    there are not many cons that i can think over i understand what i was getting myself into so the longer hours and commission was just part of the job to me

    Continue reading
    Shore Thing Marketing2018-10-03
  3. "Sales Representative"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Shore Thing Marketing full-time

    Pros

    Great learning experience, learned a lot through the whole training and internship

    Cons

    Bad pay, almost zero to no incentives for interns to work harder

    Continue reading
    Shore Thing Marketing2017-08-09
  4. "Very good working environment"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales in South Plainfield, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Shore Thing Marketing for less than a year

    Pros

    Extremely motivational working environment for young interns

    Cons

    Dont live up to what they say they will pay you

    Continue reading
    Shore Thing Marketing2017-02-07
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Horrible place to work"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in South Plainfield, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Shore Thing Marketing full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    No pros whatsoever this place sucks and is a pyramid scam

    Cons

    They require a 10+hour day. There rip you off with pay. They tell you there is a base rate but only pay you commission and not even all of it. I never got paid what I earned. I complained and just got a bonus. This place is a time suck. They require you to be there all day and then after your shift you have to stay after quite late and play games then go out to eat. You do not make enough money to do that. This place really sucks. You work like an 80 hour week for barely any pay. Stay away

    Continue reading
    Shore Thing Marketing2017-02-22
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Don't Let This Be Your First Choice"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Shore Thing Marketing

    Pros

    Easy interview - kind coworkers - laid-back atmosphere.

    Cons

    Being paid is not a guarantee.

    Continue reading
    Shore Thing Marketing2016-12-30
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Door to door sales"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Shore Thing Marketing

    Pros

    Energetic outgoing people friendly competitive environment training everyday employee fun night

    Cons

    Door to door sales no growth with in a year People will stay for 2 weeks max no benefits only commission

    Continue reading
    Shore Thing Marketing2016-10-06
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Hindsight 20/20"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Entry Level Account Manager in South Plainfield, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Shore Thing Marketing full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It's a lot of fun, the environment is amazing. If you are good at sales, this job is great.

    Cons

    It's door to door sales. You pay for everything. (No Benefits) Drive your car around all day. Sometimes no income. They say base salary of 400 dollars a week or 100% commission... however if you don't 10 sales you don't get anything. You feel like you're conning people even if you are saving them money.

    Continue reading
    Shore Thing Marketing2016-07-17
  9. Helpful (3)

    "eh"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Account Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Shore Thing Marketing for less than a year

    Pros

    Can't really think of any pros.

    Cons

    They hide what the actual position is during the interview. They don't directly tell you it's a door to door position that is 100% commission. They expect you to work longer hours than originally told. The manager plays favorites and the employees all have a cultish mindset. Also, there is no work life balance you will be spending all of your time at the job.

    Continue reading
    Shore Thing Marketing2016-06-21
  10. Helpful (8)

    "Please Don't Join "THE BUSINESS""

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Corporate Trainer in South Plainfield, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Shore Thing Marketing for more than a year

    Pros

    You MIGHT make a friend or two. Otherwise, there are zero pros I can give to them. Just being honest. (This review is not a reflection of Rich. This is about the other team and CEO he shares an office with).

    Cons

    1. You are just a number to them. 2. You will not have a personal life. 3. Your personal life will become your work life and that is highly frowned upon, but they brought it upon you. 4. The D2D "owner" is a snake. He plays favorites and will turn on you the second he feels threatened. 5. It's literally like a cult. 6. If you are desperate for work, this is the place for you, otherwise please don't quit your job to come here. 7. You won't get benefits. 8. 11-8 will turn into 10-11 real quick. 9. They make you pay for your own gas (with zero reimbursement) and the recommended team nights come out of your pocket as well. 10. DON'T trust anyone you work with. 11. And to all of my fellow college grads, please please please don't even entertain the interview! You are better than this "company"! 12. You will not be a "business owner," you will end up workin for other clients, selling their product, while still being under the control of Cydcor. You won't own anything, sweetheart.

    Continue reading
    Shore Thing Marketing2016-06-22
Found 74 reviews