Shutterfly Director Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Shutterfly Director Reviews

Updated 17 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.2
16%
Recommend to a Friend
Shutterfly CEO Hilary Schneider
Hilary Schneider
0 Rating
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Good people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director, SEO in Redwood City, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Shutterfly full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great people culture. Not toxic or political. Fast paced Adapt to change faster

    Cons

    Too many changes in management/leadership Shifting goalpost for 2 years due to the change in leadership

    Shutterfly2019-12-17
  2. "Used to be a great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Senior Director 

    I worked at Shutterfly full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits and culture of transparency

    Cons

    Lots of leadership changes of late

    Shutterfly2019-12-18
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Lots of change at the company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director in Redwood City, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Shutterfly full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    You can work very little and still get promoted if management likes you.

    Cons

    Lack of clarify in one's role. Company likes to invent titles so that people feel valued.

    Shutterfly2019-07-31
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Worst job I ever had"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Art Director 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shutterfly for less than a year

    Pros

    Allows you to work from home once a week. Free drinks and coffee.

    Cons

    Poor management, lack of vision, big egos and no strategy. As an AD you pretty much babysit projects. Ultimately their lack of creative strategy affects the business. It hurt to see money being thrown out of the door. People leave here constantly. They hired very talented people but don't put their talents to work. They rely mostly on the hardworking of interns and jr. designers. Trust me you really don't want to work here. Save yourself. Name means nothing if it cost your integrity.

    Continue reading
    Shutterfly2018-11-07
  5. Helpful (9)

    "No vacation time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director, Product Management in Greenville, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Shutterfly full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good salary ...need five words so here's more

    Cons

    They just changed the policy and Innow have no time off without manager approval and it's a "Silicon Valley mentality" meaning IRS expected you eat & breathe the company and not take any of the time off. I'd planned for six months to have the kids for a week this summer and then they booked a big meeting and wouldn't let me take time off.

    Continue reading
    Shutterfly2017-06-15
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Great People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Director in Redwood City, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Shutterfly full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people, and a great overall market focus of creating products that capture memories for the world to re-experience that "one time" in the past that make your brain perk up a little bit and that smile about that "one time".

    Cons

    Going through a technology transition and a leadership transition. I believe that the new leadership will drive the company in the right direction and they will emerge stronger, but during times of change there will be uncertainty.

    Continue reading
    Shutterfly2016-09-03
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Director in San Ramon, CA

    I worked at Shutterfly for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Most people "nice" on the surface. birthday = vacation-day, celebration of various festivals. Attempts at growth organically and inorganically.

    Cons

    Growth attempts not aggressive enough. Too much tolerance for incompetence. Ship adrift in the open waters feeling.

    Continue reading
    Shutterfly2016-05-29
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Opportunistic white boys club in steep decline"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Director in Redwood City, CA

    I worked at Shutterfly full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Smart people! Good collaboration! Great mid-Peninsula locale! Everything's always on sale or even better, it's free! Excellent strategy for customers.

    Cons

    Not a good place for talented designers or writers! Re-orgs every 4-6 months. Makes for a rancid culture and weak morale where everyone is looking for a way out.

    Continue reading
    Shutterfly2016-03-23
  9. Helpful (7)

    "Good company, fading fast"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Redwood City, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Shutterfly full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people, connected to the customer, awesome work-life balance

    Cons

    Too many MBA types at the top that focus on winning the battle (this quarter) than the war (future of the company)

    Continue reading
    Shutterfly2015-07-13
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great company, great management."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Senior Director of Marketing in San Francisco, CA
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shutterfly for more than a year

    Pros

    Shutterfly is a strong mid sized company that feels more cozy and friendly than its size might suggest. It's easy to talk to people, easy to access the people you need to do your work, and easy to succeed (if you work hard and you're good at what you do, of course).

    Cons

    It can get a bit hectic during holiday rush times, but that's the nature of the business. These times are high stress, and a must-succeed atmosphere will either drive you to succeed, or drive you out the door.

    Shutterfly2015-07-16

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 18 reviews