Shutterstock Reviews

Updated 15 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
51%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
Shutterstock CEO Stan Pavlovsky
Stan Pavlovsky
3 Ratings
Pros
  • "Amazing culture, free lunch, and everyone willing to help you learn(in 56 reviews)

  • "weekly massages, the list goes on(in 35 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "Great opportunity to do amazing work alongside super talented people!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Shutterstock full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The physical environment is amazing and everything you think of when you think of a cool company. But the real value goes beyond the office. What is most valuable to me is leadership's openness to try new things and and the opportunity to work with extremely smart and innovative people. I've learned so much working here - from people who aren't in my area at all. The comp/benefits are great. And most importantly, the direction our business is heading is very exciting. We have some new leadership that is focused on culture and I can already feel the difference. We have definitely seen an improvement in communicating transparently.

    Cons

    We can do a better job at communicating across functions. Sometimes can be siloed and it impacts our ability to move quickly. We also could simplify or improve some processes that help the regions outside of the US run more efficiently and feel more empowered.

    Continue reading
    Shutterstock2020-02-10
  2. Helpful (6)

    "Senior Sales"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Shutterstock full-time

    Pros

    - Good money, good boss

    Cons

    - Quality of key stakeholders at times was poor thus resulting in unn. challenges

    Continue reading
    Shutterstock2018-01-17
  3. Helpful (7)

    "Avoid"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Shutterstock full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Some real talent in the organisation and pays well

    Cons

    Exists in a state of perpetual confusion - makes money despite itself not because of

    Continue reading
    Shutterstock2020-03-26

    Shutterstock Response

    March 31, 2020Shutterstock

    Thank you for your feedback. Shutterstock’s one-of-a-kind platform, high-performing employees, and our experienced leadership team all work together to drive the Company’s success. Our achievements rely on our ability to stay ahead of customer and market demands, which means that priorities will sometimes shift and our ability to pivot quickly and adapt to change is essential. We’re excited about Shutterstock’s vision for the future and are confident that our product and our people will continue to elevate our company to new heights. -People Team

  4. Helpful (2)

    "good experience"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Freelance Entertainment Photo Editor 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Shutterstock full-time

    Pros

    good people to work with

    Cons

    management don't no what they are doing you get more work then you are paid to do

    Shutterstock2019-09-26
  5. Helpful (14)

    "Dysfunctional organisation - beware and do your homework!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Shutterstock full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good quality product They spend a lot of time and invest in onboarding new employees you do get a 1 week induction in NYC HQ But it is full on so you get homework after training which can take 2-4 hours after work so you don’t get to really enjoy the trip There are some genuinely nice people who work there and help you by sharing their knowledge

    Cons

    Beware of false promises - it has the name but not the reputation, employees have a short life span here on average 18-24 months if not less. Even employees with long tenures are leaving in droves. Senior Leadership are mysteriously leaving every week there is someone leaving They use the NYC office experience to sell the dream in other markets when in fact it’s not reality. There are disconnected processes slot of the time very hard to get answers from people to do your job Management lack leadership and direction and are uninspiring Not a flexible working place for a supposed tech company they do not have a WFH policy Targets are unrealistic and unachievable No ongoing training or investment in your career or team There is no culture outside of the NYC office Stingy with expenses compared to other tech companies it is cut throat in the sales organisation for example people stealing deals from your territory and being sly about it. Verticalised teams allows one to be an expert at three vertical but if you’re in the corporate team it’s a very tough sell The hiring process is messy with internal people selling you the dream or not communicating the job expectations and benefits correctly and in turn being sold a lemon Hiring decisions are questionable, hiring people who lack in their experience and lie about people managing

    Continue reading
    Shutterstock2019-07-12
  6. Helpful (13)

    "Do as I say not as I do"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Shutterstock full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good products, great colleagues and training

    Cons

    Poor management. Delegate, delegate, delegate and never manage up.

    Continue reading
    Shutterstock2019-06-19
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Not great"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Keywording 

    I worked at Shutterstock full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free food Central location Up to date with news

    Cons

    Bad culture Rude staff No he support

    Shutterstock2019-05-22
  8. Helpful (20)

    "Passive aggressive middle management"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Shutterstock full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Plenty of free food and drink, designed to prevent you having to leave the office and keep you sat at your desk working, but I suspect all the 'benefits' were really a feel good ruse to disguise the dire atmosphere.

    Cons

    A peculiar hierarchy based on length of service rather than any discernible talent, certainly in my department. Members of staff are discouraged from career progression, you are viewed as being employed for a particular role and that is it. Passive aggressive management style where undermining remarks and complete lack of interest in team members results in shockingly poor morale and staff feeling undervalued. The ridiculous recruitment process that takes months and results in prospective employees getting disheartened and accepting work elsewhere.

    Continue reading
    Shutterstock2018-10-25
  9. Helpful (15)

    "Awful"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Keyworder in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Shutterstock for less than a year

    Pros

    Free food Free massage

    Cons

    Don’t care about employees

    Shutterstock2018-11-26
  10. Helpful (23)

    "Appaling Senior Leadership"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Shutterstock full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Salaries are high for the level of role.

    Cons

    Lack of strategic direction from VP level and above. Lack of investment in staff. High churn rates. It's all about who you know. Blame culture. Focus on reduction of costs above all else, even if that means losing your highly experienced technical teams that are holding your legacy apps together.

    Continue reading
    Shutterstock2018-10-11
Found 339 reviews