Siemens Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Siemens Reviews

Updated 19 November 2018
155 reviews

Filter

Filter

UK - All CitiesFull-timePart-time

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO

155 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • "Die richtige Work-Life-Balance kann manchmal schwierig sein" (in 91 reviews)

  • "No cons as I enjoyed working there" (in 90 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (1)

    "Great company that cares for its staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Applications Engineer in Poole, England
    Current Employee - Senior Applications Engineer in Poole, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Siemens full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    The role is challenging yet rewarding and I work alongside a great team.
    Our working hours are flexible so I can work around family commitments and know that the company recognises the days you put long hours in. They are similarly very accepting of home working as long as it suits the work you need to do.
    The benefits are good and also flexible - you choose what you want to have.
    The company itself is proud to push all staff to act as if they own the company. Treat everyone fairly, recognise how we can improve the company and especially how to can reduce our carbon footprint; the company is keen to do what we can to help improve the planet whether in carbon reduction or aligning with charities around the world to help bring power, water, a future etc to all.

    Cons

    The learning curve is sharp; you are expected to jump in to a new role with both feet and get up to speed as soon as possible. As long as you have passion for a role then this shouldn't be an issue.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to respect staff and all levels and you'll continue to be rewarded. My colleagues and I are very dedicated to this company and it makes it a pleasure to work here.

    Siemens Response

    28 Jun 2018 – Talent Acquisition Specialist

    Hello! What a fantastic review - it's so nice to hear your passion shine through for your role and that you are being such a good ambassador for Siemens.


  2. "The best place I’ve ever worked."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Special Projects in London, England
    Current Employee - Special Projects in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Siemens full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Great Culture
    Loads of Opportunity
    Brilliant People

    Cons

    Trying to embrace digitalisation but the majority of IT senior management old in both age and more importantly thought. A lot are too risk averse and don’t like to be challenged!

    Advice to Management

    Get younger blood in, certainly those with passion and entrepreneurship shouldn’t be shot down and wasted.

  3. "Lead Signalling Design Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Signalling Design Engineer in Derby, England
    Current Employee - Lead Signalling Design Engineer in Derby, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Siemens full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Training, Good Overtime Rates, Culture

    Cons

    Yet to find a company that rewards effort/commitment with being pushed by the employee


  4. "KAM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kam in London, England
    Former Employee - Kam in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Siemens full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Varied work, great colleagues, opportunities to change and/or promotion.

    Cons

    Large corporate, Management by check box.

    Advice to Management

    They need to change, root out nepotism.

    Siemens Response

    7 Nov 2018 – Talent Acquisition Specialist

    Hello. Thanks for your review. We wish you all the best in your future career.


  5. "Lots of Benefits to Working here, Pay isn't one of them"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Traffic Engineer in Poole, England
    Current Employee - Principal Traffic Engineer in Poole, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Siemens full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Flexible Working, good team, varied and interesting work.

    Cons

    Pay rises are always incredibly disappointing, even when all targets are met and the company has record profits. Becomes very irritating

    Advice to Management

    Sort out the pay structure to make it more transparent

    Siemens Response

    7 Nov 2018 – Talent Acquisition Specialist

    Hello. Thanks for taking the time to leave a review and highlighting the flexible working conditions and interesting work. I hope you feel comfortable discussing feedback on your pay reviews with... More


  6. "Simens Senior systems engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Systems Engineer in Leicester, England
    Current Employee - Senior Systems Engineer in Leicester, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Siemens full-time

    Pros

    Training opportunities
    Bonus and overtime
    Salary is good in general

    Cons

    Career progress can be difficult
    knowledge transfer/sharing

    Advice to Management

    Give the same level of opportunites to all the staff

    Siemens Response

    16 Oct 2018 – Talent Acquisition Specialist

    Hi, thank you for taking the time to write a review.


  7. "Great variation in roles and investment in personal development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head of Business Development in Manchester, England
    Current Employee - Head of Business Development in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Siemens full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Great benefits
    Great investment and development

    Cons

    Slow to change and highly process driven culture can hamper progress over perfection

    Siemens Response

    23 Oct 2018 – Talent Acquisition Specialist

    Hello. Thanks for taking the time out of your day to leave a review. I'm really pleased you've highlighted the great benefits. We receive this feedback from so many of our employees!

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Good company, poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Development Manager in Manchester, England
    Former Employee - Business Development Manager in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Siemens (More than a year)

    Pros

    Good company to work for with great opportunities to move around globally.

    Cons

    Poor management, undervalued staff, low recognition for work.

    Advice to Management

    Higher level management should conduct annual review to check welfare of their employees under the department they work for, allowing individuals to come forward regarding work concerns.

    Siemens Response

    11 Sep 2018 – Talent Acquisition Specialist

    Hello, thanks for taking the time to write a review. I I hope you felt comfortable raising some of your concerns with your direct line manager in your annual reviews. I wish you all the best in your... More


  9. Helpful (1)

    "Siemens electricity transmission projects business - mostly good, some bad!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Engineer in Manchester, England
    Current Employee - Principal Engineer in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Siemens full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Successful business with interesting projects
    By in large friendly people
    Generally flexible working arrangements

    Cons

    Lack of technical development opportunities
    Variable quality of line management
    Lack of empowerment of competent engineers
    Tendency to "pigeon-hole" people
    Unwilling to change
    Not great office environment
    Unnecessarily complex processes for minor day-to-day activities

    Advice to Management

    See cons!

    Siemens Response

    11 Sep 2018 – Talent Acquisition Specialist

    Hello. Thanks for taking the time out of your day to leave a review. I'm really pleased you've highlighted the flexible working arrangements as that's something that is high on the agenda at the... More


  10. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Global Account Manager in Waterlooville, England
    Current Employee - Global Account Manager in Waterlooville, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Siemens full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Salary; people; opportunities; technology; innovation

    Cons

    There's nothing wrong with the company.

    Siemens Response

    21 Aug 2018 – Talent Acquisition Specialist

    Hello. Thanks for taking the time out to write a review.


Showing 3,346 of 6,492 reviews
Reset Filters