Siemens Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Glassdoor uses cookies to improve your site experience. By continuing, you agree to our use of cookies. OK | Learn More

Siemens Reviews

Updated 14 January 2018
134 reviews

Filter

Filter

UK - All CitiesFull-timePart-time

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Siemens CEO Juergen Maier
Juergen Maier
54 Ratings

134 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    "Three months in and it's feeling like a great place to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Employee Engagement Manager in Nottingham, England
    Current Employee - Employee Engagement Manager in Nottingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Siemens full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    There is a lot of variety in my role. Things work! People are friendly and helpful, there is a flexible working approach and a huge commitment to training, CSR and people's wellbeing.

    Cons

    The complexity of Siemens takes a while to get your head around but that's not surprising as there so much that Siemens is involved with.

    Advice to Management

    I look forward to seeing yet more diversity at all senior levels of the organisation.

    Siemens Response

    29 Nov 2017 – Senior TA Specialist

    Hi, we are really pleased that have had a great start at Siemens. Thank you for leaving a review!


  2. "Great Place - Would always go back"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Treasury in London, England
    Former Employee - Treasury in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Siemens full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Smart and friendly people, great working hours, flexibility and benefits, opportunities to grow and advance in your career

    Cons

    Locations are usually not in the city center

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    Siemens Response

    4 Jan 2018 – Employer Branding Specialist

    Hi - thanks for taking the time to leave a review, we're glad you had a positive experience with us!


  3. "Project Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Engineer in Rochester, South East England, England
    Current Employee - Project Engineer in Rochester, South East England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Siemens full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    - Technical challenges
    - Exciting projects - forefront of engineering
    - Busy (never a dull moment)
    - Opportunity to take real ownership of projects
    - Travel opportunities

    Cons

    - Pay, in my experience I was capped at the level I entered in with no clear route to obtain an increase in pay, despite increased experience & increased responsibility (without physically changing jobs / gaining promotion)
    - Short notice travelling required
    - Poor support from different Siemens business units (on both on technical & non technical front)
    - Long hours seemed to be the norm

    Advice to Management

    More awareness needs to be made on what the different business functions do, and better support between different Siemens businesses.

    Too much reliance on key personnel leaving various single points of failure across various businesses - this adds pressure on the personnel if they are that point, and in my experience it seemed that Siemens did not compensate these people for the time / effort put in.


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Service Coordinator in Manchester, England
    Current Employee - Service Coordinator in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Siemens full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Excellent company benefits with being able to work from home, being able to do voluntary days having flexible hours insure canteen

    Cons

    The only thing that’s u my con is that I travel a distance to work that can take anywhere from 40 mins to 2 hours in a 25 mule journey

    Advice to Management

    Keep in listening to your employees and there needs

    Siemens Response

    4 Jan 2018 – Employer Branding Specialist

    Hi - thanks for taking the time to leave a review!


  6. "Positive Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Lincoln, England
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Lincoln, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Siemens full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Good opportunities for personal career development. The company responds positively to a positive work ethic and offers opportunities to develop experience in a range of interesting and challenging areas within your chosen department. The breadth of experience within the department along with the willingness for senior staff to share knowledge and experience makes work life enjoyable and development very achievable.

    Cons

    With an international downturn in the market affecting all companies in a competitive business area, less contracts are available than perhaps were available in previous years. This cannot be considered a true negative, as alternative interesting opportunities and customers appear as the company explores innovative solutions within the market.

    Advice to Management

    Continue offering opportunities for personal career development, as it inspires company loyalty and a positive working environment.

    Siemens Response

    4 Jan 2018 – Employer Branding Specialist

    Hi - we're really glad to hear you're having such an enjoyable and positive experience with us. Thanks for leaving a review!


  7. "Not a bad place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Royal Leamington Spa, England
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Royal Leamington Spa, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Siemens full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Very Good benefits including pension etc. flexible hours, good career progression opportunities. Friendly environment. Some very knowledgeable employees and generally reliable products to work with.

    Cons

    Ever increasing workload, hard work not always recognised and lots of challenges and issues dealing across other Siemens businesses. Often feel like a very small cog in a big wheel


  8. "Graduate Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Frimley, England
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Frimley, England
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Siemens full-time

    Pros

    Structured graduate program in Building Technologies with fun rotations, great support and wonderful management. Friendly staff, big opportunities and open mindedness across the board mostly. The director is friendly, approachable and open to ideas even when you are only a graduate. I am absolutely loving this position so far and would highly recommend it to anyone thinking of joining the company.

    Cons

    None so far, the experience has been very positive.

    Siemens Response

    11 Dec 2017 – Employer Branding Specialist

    Hi - really glad to hear you're loving your time at Siemens! Thanks for taking the time to leave a review.


  9. "Best company I have worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Accountant in Chippenham, South West England, England
    Current Employee - Accountant in Chippenham, South West England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Siemens part-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Very flexible working hours, great benefits, friendly people, very good health and well being programme. Siemens is a very responsible company with great involvement with local community and charities.

    Cons

    Shared services can be a nightmare - trying to get a simple authorisation can take weeks to approve

    Siemens Response

    11 Dec 2017 – Employer Branding Specialist

    Hi - we're really glad you're having such a positive experience with us, thanks for taking the time to leave us a review!


  10. "Endless Opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Trainee in Chippenham, South West England, England
    Current Employee - Trainee in Chippenham, South West England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Siemens full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Siemens are continually finding ways for us to develop and being early on in my career I feel I have endless opportunities available to me. I believe Siemens is a happy place of work and I am proud to be a Siemens employee.

    Cons

    Offices could be brightened up.

    Siemens Response

    11 Dec 2017 – Employer Branding Specialist

    Hi - thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review, we're really glad you're feeling supported in your career and that you're proud to work for Siemens - we are too!


  11. "Head of Customer Services - Rail Infrastructure"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Head of Customer Service in Chippenham, South West England, England
    Current Employee - Head of Customer Service in Chippenham, South West England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Siemens full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    To work in a company like Siemens gives you lots of opportunities to work in an international environment and like in my case to work and improve the life of the society in 3 different countries in the last 10 years.

    Cons

    As in all big companies certain things can become too bureaucratic which limits flexibility and agility.

    Advice to Management

    I think the management is already aware of the need of a more agile organization which works as a holding of companies with certain degree of autonomy to react to this new fast changing digital world . This is the reason for the recent changes in the organization like Siemens Healthineers, Siemens Gamesa, Siemens Alstom,...


Showing 4,702 of 5,390 reviews
Reset Filters