Silicon Valley Bank Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Silicon Valley Bank Reviews

Updated 11 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
58%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Silicon Valley Bank President & CEO Greg Becker
Greg Becker
236 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great organisation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Contract Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Silicon Valley Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The benefits are great and generally they promote an inclusive and diverse culture.

    Cons

    The organisation is continuously evolving which can make it confusing at times to understand everything that changes.

    Silicon Valley Bank2020-01-14
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Avoid UK branch - Cult environment with widespread bullying"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Silicon Valley Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    SVB has an incredibly talented client facing team which extends from the Relationship Management team right through to the staff based on the telephones in the Client Service team. The company’s mission statement is incredibly inspiring and they are lucky enough to have some of the best clients you could ask for. Salaries are for the most part slightly above average market.

    Cons

    Flat structure hindering career development, poor leadership from a great deal of management (far too many do not have the slightest idea of the business they are supposedly there to manage and or hold the management skills of a wet flannel – I have even witnessed first hand certain managers spend the afternoon watching movies on their iPad rather than do work), widespread bullying with little to no action being done to address the issue even when reported to HR, broken systems that don’t talk to one another which results in a lot of manual work and a great deal of backlog (this is incredibly shocking given that SVB claims to be a Fintech bank), jobs mis-sold (a very common issue within the UK branch), KYC and Compliance side of the business is in my opinion beyond repair given how closed off to feedback on regulatory issues they are – I wouldn’t be surprised if during the FCA’s next visit they received a fine.

    Continue reading
    Silicon Valley Bank2020-03-09

    Silicon Valley Bank Response

    March 10, 2020SVB Team

    We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. Acting with integrity and taking responsibility are core values at SVB and our team lives them every day. We take reports of unprofessional behavior, including bullying, seriously and encourage you to report it to HR or a senior leader in or outside of your group. With regards to our KYC and Compliance teams, they play and incredibly important role in the UK branch and like all of our employees they are committed to protecting our clients and our business. We take financial regulations seriously and are confident in our compliance.

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Used to be good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Silicon Valley Bank

    Pros

    Flexible working. Salary is very good for a back office position. As a whole it’s a lovely place to work if you have a manager that gets the SVB culture

    Cons

    As the bank is growing the friendly culture is diminishing. Considering it’s a tech bank the systems are very dated and as such much time is wasted which is frustrating.

    Continue reading
    Silicon Valley Bank2020-01-22

    Silicon Valley Bank Response

    January 29, 2020SVB Team

    Thanks for your review. We are indeed a fast-growing company, and as such we are making significant investments in our systems and processes. Our culture is key to our success and will continue to be as we grow and evolve.

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Good company but bad team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Silicon Valley Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Interesting clients, some nice people.

    Cons

    Bullying was reported and ignored.

    Silicon Valley Bank2020-01-24

    Silicon Valley Bank Response

    January 29, 2020SVB Team

    Two of our key values are to start with empathy for others and speak and act with integrity. These values drive what we do and how we do it every day, and we believe it's critical that we live these values throughout the company. We will share your feedback internally.

    Continue reading
  5. "Best place I've worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Silicon Valley Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Hands down the best colleagues and work culture I've had in my career. It's challenging and very (very!!) fast paced, but hugely rewarding.

    Cons

    Hard to think of any, really.

    Silicon Valley Bank2019-07-26
  6. Helpful (7)

    "Avoid UK branch."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Ops Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Silicon Valley Bank for more than a year

    Pros

    The people. Very different culture and it took me a while to adjust. Laid back office with a chilled dress code that I will miss when I leave.

    Cons

    For a firm that portrays being at the cutting edge, this is an illusion. I have seen tables with better technology! Poor management. You will get the blame for implementing their bad decisions. Just say yes sir and yes mam. Abysmal expertise as a bank. If it was a merchant, it would be called Trotters Independant Traders.

    Continue reading
    Silicon Valley Bank2019-08-06
  7. Helpful (12)

    "UK office is a mess"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President in Highbury, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Silicon Valley Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great people - Great clients - US business seems more well run - Very profitable

    Cons

    - Systems are a nightmare, a lot of time is spent trying to keep customers happy when we’re making big errors - No flexibility/family focus, work life balance is tough - Feel like an outsider if you’re not chummy with UK management - Lots of ‘fun but mandatory’ internal events that are usually a waste of time - Some teams work really hard, others never seem to be in the office - Only way to progress is to suck up to the management - Performance rewards are subjective, again, sucking up to management means more money

    Continue reading
    Silicon Valley Bank2019-06-08
  8. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Facing - SVB London in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Silicon Valley Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    SVB is a great place to work, although you should expect challenges associated with fast growing business. SVB has acted with integrity and shown me empathy when I needed help and I would like to call out my colleagues in HR for their understanding, support and go the extra mile to ensure my needs were catered for

    Cons

    Lack of automation and product capabilities can at times be frustrating

    Continue reading
    Silicon Valley Bank2019-02-08
  9. Helpful (8)

    "Shambles"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Silicon Valley Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Office is in a central location and fitted out well. Coffee in the canteen is cheap too. Quite easy to sit along on the ride to nowhere if that’s your thing.

    Cons

    Preferential treatment of any colleague who worked at the previous office ‘Lothbury’, This elite tribe will wander the office around quoting their employee # status to avoid doing any actual work. The whole place is a massive clique (as other reviews have pointed out). You’ll either be in it or you won’t and that will be made clear to you early on. The job you sign up for won’t be the one you end up doing. There are manual processes (and errors) everywhere but nobody checks what anyone else is doing so feel free to make things up as you go along. Lack of experience and leadership within the management team is evident and becoming a growing problem as nothing ever gets done. Big shout out to the ‘change’ team here. Be prepared for other colleagues to tell you how much they hate working here in your first week.

    Continue reading
    Silicon Valley Bank2019-01-12
  10. "Loans Admin"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Loan Administration in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Silicon Valley Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work/life balance. Salary good

    Cons

    I can't think of any cons

    Continue reading
    Silicon Valley Bank2018-10-03
Found 400 reviews