Skipton Building Society Reviews

Updated Sep 2, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 117 of over 124 reviews

4.2
88%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Skipton Building Society Group Chief Executive David Cutter
David Cutter
69 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexible options for work life balance(in 7 reviews)

  • "Good benefits and holidays package along with this(in 6 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Rewards package less competitive than Leeds/Manchester(in 5 reviews)

  • "Senior management are very good but not enough rotation of department heads etc(in 4 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great place to work

      Sep 2, 2021 - Team Leader in Skipton, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      A real culture of doing the right thing for colleagues and customers. You can tell it’s a mutual owned by its members and not just chasing the bottom line for the benefit of shareholders. There’s plenty of opportunities to develop yourself and if you put the energy and effort in the rewards follow.

      Cons

      The location of the HO seems to make recruitment a challenge. Maybe offering more remote working options would help with this.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee

      A Great Place to Work

      Aug 20, 2021 - IT Service Desk Analyst in Skipton, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Management make a clear point of if you want to progress they will bend over backwards to help you as long as you work hard. Remote working.

      Cons

      Can't think of any at all.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Good experience

      Aug 26, 2021 - Customer Service Representative in Bournemouth, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Ppl are nice generally , but HQ is too far away

      Cons

      Old fashion mentality run building society

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great internship

      Aug 23, 2021 - Digital Content Developer in Skipton, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Community feel - Really got stuck in with the job - Effectively working from home - Bonus - Good management

      Cons

      - Work/Life balance - Sometimes stressful

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      D

      Jul 21, 2021 - Credit Management in Skipton, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good team to be involved in

      Cons

      Pay isn't brilliant for the work you do

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      The job’s good, team and leader good, but culture and senior management…not so much

      Jul 19, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Skipton, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - My Team Leader and team were very supportive - They throw some pretty good parties - Good bonuses usually

      Cons

      - Low pay compared to competitors - Senior Leadership do a lot of talking and a lot of decision making without knowing anything about the teams or services they impact, then claim no responsibility when it backfires - Skipton Direct (the customer operations and call centre area) is full of micro-managers - VERY cliquey, opportunities to progress or develop will only be offered to those whose “faces fit” - Unless you have the words “senior”, “leader” or “head of” in your job title, it can be very difficult to get any ideas listened to, a lot of emphasis is placed on the seniority of the individual when assessing credibility - Overly politicised workplace, there are competency tests sent to the entire business about political movements and entire seminars done by HR senior leaders presenting their own political ideologies as fact, which makes for a very uncomfortable environment if you find yourself disagreeing with anything said - Very confusing performance framework, so unclear as to how to achieve good performance ratings

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Skipton Building Society Response

      Resourcing Manager

      Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at Skipton Building Society. We appreciate this and are always open to honest, constructive feedback, helping us understand our colleague’s overall experience, so we can continually focus on the moments that matter to them. As an organisation we have a deep rooted culture based on trust and ownership underpinned by a one team mindset. We are disappointed to hear that your personal experience was not always a positive one. We would welcome a conversation with you, to further understand your concerns and listen to any suggestions you may have on how we can address them. If you’re open to this, please contact our Culture, Engagement and Wellbeing Lead Maria James @ maria.james@skipton.co.uk.

    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Analyst

      Jun 4, 2021 - Digital Analyst in Skipton, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fun, Great colleague, People focussed

      Cons

      Lack of ambition for expanding the business

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Good Place To Work

      May 4, 2021 - Mortgage Adviser in Skipton, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fair pay good level of work life balance

      Cons

      Bonus could be more in line with competitors

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great for short term

      May 4, 2021 - Customer Relationship Consultant in Taunton, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      SBS is a great stepping stone for people who wish to further themselves within the financial industry. As my first role within the industry it has taught me a lot in my short time of being here. The atmosphere is professional but not excessive and there are plenty of laughs to be had with your colleagues. During my time here I have unfortunately had a few problems at home and I have to say that Skipton definitely aid you with out-of-office issues that may arise. As a company I feel aided by them and don't feel judged for having a life outside of the workplace.

      Cons

      Unfortunately, the main issue with SBS as a whole is the route for progression. If you are the type of person who is a real go-getter then I would probably advise stearing away from SBS. I was told there was room for progression after reiterating the importance of this to myself many times in my interview process and since being there for a short amount of time I feel like I have already hit a very low ceiling. The problem with this is that it makes colleagues stagnate and become complacent.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Poor staff moral

      Apr 30, 2021 - Customer Service in Skipton, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good canteen food , nice environment

      Cons

      Poor staff moral, management doesn’t help

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 117 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Skipton Building Society Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Skipton Building Society? Share Your Experiences

    Skipton Building Society logo
    or