Skipton Building Society Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Skipton Building Society Reviews

Updated 13 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
77%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Skipton Building Society Group Chief Executive David Cutter
David Cutter
38 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Doesn't pay quite as well as Leeds city centre, but the advantages definitely make up for it,(in 4 reviews)

  • "The exec team have to get the balance between putting customers first and being a profitable business(in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "A proper Mutual."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Relationship Consultant in Guildford, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Skipton Building Society full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great company, really care about customers and colleagues.

    Cons

    As a company based in the North, opportunities are less in the South.

    Skipton Building Society2020-03-10
  2. "Good place to progress"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Divisional Manager in Skipton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Skipton Building Society full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Flexible options for work life balance. Good benefits package. Study support.

    Cons

    Some disconnect between HO and branches

    Continue reading
    Skipton Building Society2020-02-28
  3. "Skipton"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant in Holborn, England
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Skipton Building Society part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay and flexi hours

    Cons

    Weak management and not enough communication

    Skipton Building Society2020-03-05
  4. "Average"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Customer Service in Skipton, England

    I worked at Skipton Building Society full-time

    Pros

    Large company scope for career opportunities

    Cons

    Lower than average pay grades

    Skipton Building Society2020-03-01
  5. "Supportive and open culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Branch Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Skipton Building Society full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Skipton is one of the more supportive workplaces I have been in, with people who seem genuinely interested and keen to share experience and give feedback. There is lots of development opportunity within the role, supportive and understanding management and a fantastic culture of helping the customer through delivering the right outcome for them and not necessarily the business.

    Cons

    The company is growing, potentially a little fast for what it is ready for, hopefully though it doesn't lose its unique and customer centric culture in the process. A bit of 'this is how it's always been done' in terms of many processes, though positive about the direction senior leaders want to take process and customer journey design.

    Skipton Building Society2020-01-29
  6. "Excellent Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashier in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Skipton Building Society full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good team to work with

    Cons

    Not the same prospects as the larger banks

    Skipton Building Society2020-01-27
  7. "A fantastic place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Technical Project Manager in Horsforth, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Skipton Building Society full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fantastic culture and values for staff and amazing work/life balance makes working here really fun and enjoyable. The people here are what makes the place.

    Cons

    Doesn't pay quite as well as Leeds city centre, but the advantages definitely make up for it,

    Skipton Building Society2019-10-14
  8. Helpful (1)

    "From the outside they look great but on the inside it's empty."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Rather Not Say 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Skipton Building Society full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Some really nice, supportive people work there. Good restaurant/café facilities for breaks/lunches. Lay out a lot of incentives for the staff. Organise a number of events/parties for the staff throughout the year. Staff benefits.

    Cons

    The management/team leaders, how most of them got their position I will never know, very few have good people skills. They're all very cliquey and will tell you what you want to hear, but when it comes down to needing them for support, they're not there for you; I felt they were very false. The car parking facilities are a joke, considering how many people work there. Insufficient training time & follow-up support: you get some very intense training and then are expected to just remember it all & then you're put to work. Extra training, help & support is needed, but you feel like the last people you can go to are the team leaders, you have to keep asking colleagues for help, which makes you feel like a burden. For all the staff incentives and the benefits and the idea they like to portray that they really care for their staff and offer a lot of support and we're all one big happy family isn't true, there's a lot of people there who are struggling with loneliness, with their mental health, with making friends, with the job, the hours, the stress of their role, the low pay and although Skipton make out they listen and really care, I'm not entirely convinced they do, they just dangle a big carrot and hope it's enough.

    Continue reading
    Skipton Building Society2019-10-04
  9. "Ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Compliance Officer 

    I worked at Skipton Building Society full-time

    Pros

    Nice workplace and impressive facilities

    Cons

    Know there arent any competitors in area so salary is poor.

    Skipton Building Society2019-10-04
  10. "Great values"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Relationship Consultant in Wirral, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Skipton Building Society part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great values they try to live by. Lovely people to work with. Excellent benefits. Flexible working.

    Cons

    Experience can be different depending on area of business. HO is different to branch, branch experiences vary from branch to branch.

    Continue reading
    Skipton Building Society2019-09-10
Found 72 reviews