Skipton Building Society Reviews

Updated 4 May 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.2
88%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Skipton Building Society Group Chief Executive David Cutter
David Cutter
69 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexible options for work life balance(in 7 reviews)

  • "Good benefits and holidays package along with this(in 6 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Rewards package less competitive than Leeds/Manchester(in 5 reviews)

  • "Senior management are very good but not enough rotation of department heads etc(in 4 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Great

      1 Mar 2021 - Financial Planner in Skipton, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Team. Pay. Training is excellent

      Cons

      Poor leadership. Redundancy threat. High targets

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great for short term

      4 May 2021 - Customer Relationship Consultant in Taunton, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      SBS is a great stepping stone for people who wish to further themselves within the financial industry. As my first role within the industry it has taught me a lot in my short time of being here. The atmosphere is professional but not excessive and there are plenty of laughs to be had with your colleagues. During my time here I have unfortunately had a few problems at home and I have to say that Skipton definitely aid you with out-of-office issues that may arise. As a company I feel aided by them and don't feel judged for having a life outside of the workplace.

      Cons

      Unfortunately, the main issue with SBS as a whole is the route for progression. If you are the type of person who is a real go-getter then I would probably advise stearing away from SBS. I was told there was room for progression after reiterating the importance of this to myself many times in my interview process and since being there for a short amount of time I feel like I have already hit a very low ceiling. The problem with this is that it makes colleagues stagnate and become complacent.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Good Place To Work

      4 May 2021 - Mortgage Adviser in Skipton, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fair pay good level of work life balance

      Cons

      Bonus could be more in line with competitors

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Very good company to work for

      30 Apr 2021 - Engagement Leader in Skipton, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Lots of development opportunities, good rewards, flexibility

      Cons

      Some politics but on the whole a really positive company

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Good company, poor organisation of work volumes

      18 Apr 2021 - Resourcing Specialist in Skipton, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great colleagues, good employee benefits and nice location

      Cons

      The workloads are unmanageable causing a lot of stress for colleagues.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Sales job disguised as a cashier/admin role

      14 Apr 2021 - Customer Relationship Consultant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Job security, helpful colleagues everywhere, once probation is passed it's easy to branch out - not uncommon to hear about people going from SD to HO to branch to FA ... etc.

      Cons

      Dismal salary for the expected performance at the lowest job in the organisation

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Poor staff moral

      30 Apr 2021 - Customer Service in Skipton, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good canteen food , nice environment

      Cons

      Poor staff moral, management doesn’t help

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      People focused

      26 Apr 2021 - Web Analyst in Skipton, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Look after you Flexible Friendly Great colleagues That is it

      Cons

      Salary Okrs The amount of meetings Parking That is it

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Good progression

      27 Apr 2021 - Distribution Analyst in Skipton, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good progression scheme in place

      Cons

      Can become very repetitive at times

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great company

      24 Feb 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Everyone is nice Run on strong mutual values They really care about employees as well as customers

      Cons

      Some areas of the business are managed better than others, not really senior management's fault

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 115 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Skipton Building Society Job Seekers

    Customer Relationship Consultant
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Customer Service Representative
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Skipton Building Society? Share Your Experiences

    Skipton Building Society logo
    or