Sky Customer Service Advisor Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Sky Service Customer Advisor Reviews

Updated Sep 26, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
72%
Recommend to a Friend
49%
Approve of CEO
Sky CEO Jeremy Darroch
Jeremy Darroch
19 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Advisor in Stockport, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sky full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free Sky Products Overtime is sometimes triple pay Regular Emails showing new roles to take into consideration Great support Rewarded for great productivity Games and Themed days to stop the day being full Keep colleagues informed Great support for mental health, equality, disabilities etc Pay is good and you can earn as much as you want per month Smart Tech and Discounts (25% airtime O2 plans, Up to 55%... off Alton Towers etc) Sky welcome feedback, good or bad. Openly ask you how they can improve and follow through as best as they can

    Show More

    Cons

    Sometimes colleagues aren’t properly trained for new product launches (Netflix on Sky Q) Sometimes the managers don’t take escalations which can cause customers to become more irate and upset

    Advice to Management

    More career progression Keep colleagues updated on all new schemes/products before they launch

    Sky2018-11-02
  2. "Order recovery expert"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Advisor in Livingston, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sky full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, inclusion, mental health, support, sickness leave

    Cons

    Salary, face fits, Sickness covered under equality act support (friend not me)

    Sky2019-09-26
  3. "Not a place to work if you want a home/work like balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Advisor in Stockport, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sky full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Free Sky BB, TV, Telephone

    Cons

    You're just another brick in a wall

    Advice to Management

    Treat people as individuals and not androids

    Sky2019-09-02
  4. "Good. But misleading"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Advisor in Sheffield, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Sky full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free sky, good working environment, good canteen, good team, good manager

    Cons

    Job that is not about sales has a heavy sales focus and punishment for those who don't sell. Managers circles are all clique based, and the managers are often not available and off in a meeting somewhere as an excuse to not take escalations

    Advice to Management

    Stop the clique culture and stop punishing staff who are not sales advisors for not making sales, we can all sell, yes, but a lot of us did not join tech support to be telesales advisors. Training was alright but was told we didn't need technical knowledge to do a technical job, and we were only shown half the systems we would need and told we wouldn't need the others. Which is absolutely not the case. CEL... leaders reject escalations or process overrides when you've explained why it is needed because they apparently know better but half are not even tech trained. Sales are briefly mentioned in grad and training and we are told it is not a big deal but then on the floor all you hear is sales sales sales sales target is fair but then if I am technical support and customer service, you shouldn't be punishing us for not selling. We are not a sales assistants and I never applied to be a sales assistant, leave sales to sales and support to support. The commission is good however I feel like we as support advisors shouldn't be targeted on sales

    Show More
    Sky2019-09-06
  5. "Don’t care"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Advisor in Dunfermline, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Sky full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Free sky pay more than minimum wage

    Cons

    Don’t care about you as long as your recontracting customers

    Advice to Management

    Focus more on the customer

    Sky2019-08-15
  6. "Run away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Advisor in Stockport, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sky full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing colleagues to work with

    Cons

    Terrible management who honestly do not have a clue Work life balance none existent My manager actually used the phrase "maybe you care too much about customers" New starters were endlessly arriving cause sky starting firing them on the smallest missed target after grad bay so just became depressing coming in to find more people Let go. "Free sky tv" unless you have 3 absences on a year and it's gone for 6... months and they wouldn't care if it was a genuine medical requirement or not. 4 years there and I would rather lose my house the spend 1 more day working in that place

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    No advice would sort that lot of clowns

    Sky2019-08-14
  7. "Good employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Advisor in Dunfermline, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sky full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Various shifts, free sky q and fibre broadband, subsided canteen, discounts at lots of retailers, OK pension

    Cons

    Salary not comparable to market

    Advice to Management

    Increase base salary... Which is currently being considered

    Sky2019-04-23
  8. "Great benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Advisor in Stockport, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sky full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent Benefits. Great people. Sales incentives

    Cons

    All about making more money Sales focus in technical department

    Sky2019-04-04
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Horrible management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Advisor in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sky full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Based in the centre of Newcastle which is convenient and easy to get to. Good food on site. Bonuses are good as well.

    Cons

    I am a pregnant woman and I had a holiday booked which the management agreed to. A week before my holiday I seen my holiday had been taken out. I asked about it they said I can’t have it anymore as I am needed in. So I went on my holiday anyway of course as I had paid over £2k for it. Upon returning I was dismissed for going awol. Which is clearly unfair after agreeing to the holiday. Seems like they just used it as... an excuse to get rid of me as I was pregnant.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Horrible management. I was clearly targeted for being pregnant. They also would say they’ve sent letters and payslips without even sending them so I am having to still chase them up for them.

    Sky2018-10-28
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Customer service advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Advisor in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Recommends

    I have been working at Sky full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great bonus and incentives great place to work

    Cons

    Information overload /working till 10pm

    Sky2018-08-25
Found 36 reviews