Find jobs for Software Engineer

Sky Software Engineer Reviews

Updated 18 Apr 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
63%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
Sky CEO  Jeremy Darroch
Jeremy Darroch
27 Ratings
  1. "Great campus, great development"

    5.0
    • Culture & Values
    Former Contractor - Software Engineer in Hounslow, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sky for less than a year

    Pros

    Working alongside people I could learn from, and they seemed happy to talk. Had a good atmosphere in the group. Great working practices. I'm unsure about other teams but our requirement were only handed to devs only when the BA had really thought it through and groomed them to a large extent. Campus is lovely, spacious and comfortable. Food, and gym subsidised although it in zone 3

    Cons

    Osterley is a bit out-of-the-way

    Continue reading
    Sky2020-03-07
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Assesment centre"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Junior Software Engineer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sky full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There's not much postive about the assesment centre

    Cons

    Job profile says and employeed who work there say no coding experience is required as you are trained on job.however theres a coding assesment and at the assesment centre the whole days consists of code.pointless day and poorly run.they split group into two teams.you use technologies such as react,mongo db and have to design a video sharing site.its split into two teams front and backend where one represents team usa and the other uk.waste of day so poorly organised.interview questions include why you want to work at sky, what's your favourite technology and why this could be useful for sky.PAY IS RUBBISH compared to other companies. There embarrassed to tell you how much they pay so they write it as competitive

    Continue reading
    Sky2020-04-18

    Sky Response

    April 20, 2020Social Media Specialist

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. On this occasion we’d like to apologise for the experience you had at our assessment centre. We’ve taken your comments on board and will work to ensure that this does not happen again and the recruitment experience with us will be positive for everyone in future. Thanks, Technology and Product Recruitment Business Partner.

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Nice company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sky full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible working, fast paced environment.

    Cons

    Slow on adopting new tools and techniques

    Continue reading
    Sky2020-03-10

    Sky Response

    March 13, 2020Social Media Specialist

    Hi, great to hear from you! We try our very best to make Sky a great place to work, so we’re happy to hear you’re enjoying your experience here. We hope you’re making the most of our dynamic, flexible working environment as well as enjoying all our perks like Sky Q and subsidised on-site facilities.

  4. "Dated management style"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Livingston, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Sky full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free Sky TV & reduced broadband/mobile, reasonable salary

    Cons

    ‘Flexible working’ isn’t very flexible. Work from home policy requires a request with 48 hours notice to management (and the request may be rejected). Despite Sky as a company saying they are flexible, this department seem to forget that people have lives outside work. Every other company offering such a policy trust their staff to make a decision without wasting everyone’s time having rigid processes to follow. The office is in the middle of nowhere so most staff have long commutes. Parking is very limited, if you’re not in early, you’re not getting parked on site. This is even more reason for them to be flexible with regards to their work from home policy. Being seen to be in the office is more important to them than work being done. Clearly management do not trust employees. They have obviously not yet realised that you get the best work from people by treating them like adults and respecting them. It feels like being back at primary school, having to ask permission to do things other companies simply allow their staff to get on with. As the people you are working with are either offshore or in different offices it makes no sense to be required to be in the office (unless there is a genuine business reason). With all the problems in the team this should be the lowest on their priority list. There are no proper processes in place, employees are frequently asked to do things which are outside their remit. A lot of staff just seem to accept the awful processes in place rather than try and bring the company into the 21st century.

    Continue reading
    Sky2020-02-21

    Sky Response

    March 2, 2020Social Media Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We’re sorry to hear you haven’t had a positive experience. We want you to know that we take our reviews very seriously because we want Sky to be a great place to work for everyone. We always want Sky to be a fair and inclusive place to work, but with our flexible working policies, we must recognise that some requests aren’t always possible as this depends on what’s right for your department and our customers, which also varies depending on your team and the role you do. We'll keep your feedback in mind and look into this for you - please confidentially email us at ERC@sky.uk so we can strive to make Sky an even better place to work for everyone.

  5. "Growing company with big tech ambitions!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Senior Software Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sky for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good people and teams. Large company so lots of opportunities. Great working environment and campus.

    Cons

    Not in Central London. Can stagnate if not motivated.

    Sky2020-01-03
  6. "Out of touch with technology"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Livingston, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Sky full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits , good work life balance

    Cons

    Lots of journey men happy with status quo

    Sky2019-11-19
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Not really a tech company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Software Engineer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sky full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Some of the best benefits in the business (9% company pension contribution, free Sky TV, on-site gym) - Great approach to work-life balance - Actively engaged in the well-being (mental and physical) of staff

    Cons

    - All major technical decisions are made by non-technical staff based on financials - All changes must be costed - Recruitment works on a "yes to everyone that applies" basis due to high churn - Grad scheme effectiveness depends on patronage - A highly political promotion environment - you are far more likely to be promoted if the hiring manager is your friend than if you are actually competent - The system admin departments still think it's the 90s - Middle management has no real training at managing people

    Continue reading
    Sky2019-10-13
  8. "Fun company, a bit maverick, nice experience"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Software Engineer in Brentwood, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sky for more than a year

    Pros

    Spacious and modern offices, great location, great atmosphere, a real sense of community, everybody very level and approachable. Sky is a comparatively large company, but retains much of the nature of a start-up. Sometimes "Believe in better" rings a bit hollow, but "Made by us" is very true: Sky has never hesitated to break the mold, going so far as designing their own, branded 3-pin electric plugs. Why not? Sky has never been content with repackaging and rebranding off-the-shelf solutions, and enjoys being a bit different, being the one that makes others wonder "what will they do next?"

    Cons

    The flip side of the positive. One hand doesn't know what the other is doing. Projects spinning out of control, management not knowing what's going on, a sometimes lazy and careless attitude among some employees, groups and entities that are totally entrenched and impenetrable while showing no corporate spirit , engagement, or responsibility. Giant baby, a massively overgrown start-up, a lack of maturity and structure. But Sky is what you make of it: be positive, and the negatives fade into insignificance.

    Continue reading
    Sky2019-09-22
  9. "Modern and Professional"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineering Manager in Livingston, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sky full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Sky is a great, modern company to work for with really good benefits, good career oportunities and interesting work.

    Cons

    Location is the only con I can think of, Livingston isn't great.

    Sky2019-08-27
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Spiteful and demoralising"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mid Software Engineer in Leeds, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sky full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A while ago i would have listed a lot more, The people and the team are great and make it a fun place to work. Relaxed culture in terms of dress codes.

    Cons

    Where to start. We work with Scotland teams who are hell bent on trying to belittle us in Leeds, and question everything we do. We just get bollocked when things go wrong even though its either nothing to do with us and Livi's issue, or bad product management. Tech Leadership in Leeds is vapid and uninspiring, they went for a yes person who has zero tech knowledge, his DC Labs Town Hall sessions are hilarious. Too much out of hours work too, senior managements expectations are somewhat unrealistic in DCL. For a company that is trying to promote better mental health in the workplace, practice what you preach as stress and anxiety is rife.

    Continue reading
    Sky2019-07-02
Found 42 reviews