SkyWest Airlines Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

SkyWest Airlines Reviews

Updated 10 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
77%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
SkyWest Airlines CEO Chip Childs
Chip Childs
184 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Company to Work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Flight Attendant in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SkyWest Airlines full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    You're not on reserve for a long time. If you're on the West Coast we have a lot of bases such as SEA, PDX, SFO, LAX etc. I was on reserve for just a few months. I feel that I am able to do other things in life. Whether you have a family or another job or you're going to school it's a great company to work for.

    Cons

    The only con is we could get paid more, but that's about it.

    SkyWest Airlines2019-11-08
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Flight Attendant 

    I have been working at SkyWest Airlines full-time

    Pros

    Great place to start your aviation career. Flying different partners helps explore mainline options

    Cons

    Flying opportunities are limited because it is regional

    SkyWest Airlines2019-10-21
  3. "Crew Scheduler"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SkyWest Airlines full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fast Pace Enviroment, Opportunity to move up in the department, flexible schedule

    Cons

    Some seasons can be so busy it can be very overwhelming, mandatory overtime

    SkyWest Airlines2019-10-29
  4. "Mixed Feelings"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SkyWest Airlines part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Overall, good flight benefits, great work environment and local management

    Cons

    Flying standby can be stressful, especially when low on priority list.

    SkyWest Airlines2019-11-10
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Non Empathetic Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Maintenance Crew 

    I worked at SkyWest Airlines full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great crew, hours, and benefits for employees.

    Cons

    Listed as an non rehirable - excessive absences due to spouses illness / terminated after their death.

    Advice to Management

    When an employees significant other passes away.. a simple "I'm sorry for your loss" goes a long way. Your unpaid suspension process is flawed. Instead of submitting paperwork, a single email was requested to be sent to the manager only. The excessive absences were warranted due to hospice.. but it is a business and understandable. The stone faces from management was not warranted.

    SkyWest Airlines2019-11-05
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Basic Position Good Flight Benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Ramp Agent in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at SkyWest Airlines full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great Flight Benefits, Decent Time Off

    Cons

    Little opportunity for growth, tough to get a good schedule

    SkyWest Airlines2019-11-06
  7. "Been good so far..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SkyWest Airlines full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The best travel benefits in the industry.

    Cons

    None that I can think of so far...

    SkyWest Airlines2019-11-04
  8. "Flight Attendant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Flight Attendant in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SkyWest Airlines full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great Benefits, family oriented company

    Cons

    I dont have a con at this time

    SkyWest Airlines2019-10-11
  9. "Not the best but not the worst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Agent de bord - Flight attendant in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SkyWest Airlines full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Cons are flight benefits with leading airlines

    Cons

    Very low salary, lots of hard work

    Advice to Management

    Raises

    SkyWest Airlines2019-10-24
  10. "Great Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Flight Attendant in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SkyWest Airlines full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Travel benefits on multiple partners - Flexibility - Many choices for base options - Supervisors care so much (management even sent me a card when my grandmother passed away)

    Cons

    - pay not great for how much work we do

    SkyWest Airlines2019-10-09
Found 641 reviews