Skyscanner Employee Reviews about "work from home"

Updated 29 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
65%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Skyscanner Chief Executive  Bryan Dove  (no image)
Bryan Dove
89 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work/life balance is also a strong selling point - working from home policies are very flexible and there's no expectation to work long hours(in 43 reviews)

  • "Schedule flexibility, work from home country or another office(in 23 reviews)

Cons
  • "Squad leads (except a few) are total bullies(in 15 reviews)

  • "Senior management is very distanced from the rest of the company(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work from home"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Skyscanner full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Skyscanner is a fantastic place to work - people and culture are its' greatest assets. I've been working in engineering for more than 15 years and I've never come across another place where almost everyone I encounter is positive, engaged and highly skilled at their job. There's no shortage of engineering challenges to take on and learn from but the company clearly values and invests in making it easy to do the right thing. Again, different to everywhere else I've worked, this company really lives and breathes it's values. At first, this can come across as almost cult like but you come to realise that everyone is genuinely committed to doing right by their customers and that's not a bad thing. It certainly beats working for a soulless corporate. Work/life balance is also a strong selling point - working from home policies are very flexible and there's no expectation to work long hours.

    Cons

    There are a number of reviews on here that talk about how hard it is to progress in engineering careers and how disconnected senior management are. Speaking personally, I genuinely don't recognise that description of the place so YMMV.

    Continue reading
    Skyscanner2020-01-30
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Toxic"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Skyscanner full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The usual: pay, location, benefits. Can work from home all the time.

    Cons

    Managers manipulate workers into bullying others. This poisons teams. I think that most of the time the people that actually do the bullying are not aware of what they are doing, most of the time they are immature and they are manipulated by the managers, who, being the teams very isolated, have unlimited power. Passive aggressive behaviour and emotional blackmailing are the norm.

    Skyscanner2020-05-29

    Skyscanner Response

    June 3, 2020Skyscanner

    Hi there - we’re really sorry that you have experienced any passive aggressive behaviour – please do reach out to someone in the People team in confidence to discuss this. Last year’s employee survey found that 88% of our employees believe that Skyscanner values an inclusive working environment. We want everyone to feel similarly valued and comfortable, so if this isn’t the case for you, we want to fix that.

  3. Helpful (10)

    "When there is smoke, usually there is fire"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Skyscanner full-time

    Pros

    Work from home Good pay Nice office location

    Cons

    I would like to add my experience to the many reported here. I honestly believe that Skyscanner is a toxic environment, as many have reported here already. This is not a good environment, you (at any level) are expected to do as you are told, full stop. It is not safe to express concern or (god forbid) try to report it. But what I find more disturbing is the fact that they preach and claim the exact opposite. Be prepared to be spoken over in meetings. Be prepared that other people take credit for your work. Be prepared to be cornered and set aside if you are not part of the cool kids club.

    Skyscanner2020-05-01

    Skyscanner Response

    May 11, 2020Skyscanner

    Hi there, thanks for your feedback. We’re really sorry that this has been your experience. We’d value hearing more: we truly want to ensure that all employees at Skyscanner are treated with dignity, fairness and respect. It’s a vital part of our culture. We’d appreciate if you’d reach out directly to someone you are comfortable with internally, so that we can understand more about your experiences and take action accordingly. The People Team will treat all conversations confidentially and we’ll work to address your concerns as best we can. We hope to hear from you.

  4. Helpful (13)

    "Bullying"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Skyscanner full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice offices Work from home Some people are nice

    Cons

    Unfortunately I have personally experienced bullying at Skyscanner.

    Continue reading
    Skyscanner2020-03-31

    Skyscanner Response

    April 9, 2020Skyscanner

    Hi there – we take the point that you’ve raised very seriously. Making sure that people at Skyscanner are treated with dignity, fairness and respect is a vital part of our culture and it’s included in our Dignity at Work policy. We’d appreciate you reaching out directly to someone you are comfortable with internally, so that we can understand more about your experiences and take action accordingly for positive change.

  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Commercial in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Skyscanner full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Skyscanner CEO - Bryan Dove - and his openness and refreshed vision Skyscanner culture and its values Flexibility to work from home/ other Skyscanner offices Autonomy at work freedom of speech / able to share opinions

    Cons

    Lack (underdeveloped) operational processes that slow down an overall business cycle

    Skyscanner2020-01-20
  6. Helpful (13)

    "There is nothing to be learned here"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Developer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Skyscanner full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    All nice and good: coffee, snacks, ping-pong table. Good pay. Work from home.

    Cons

    Sadly there is really nothing to be learned here. It's all and only neverending pointless discussions to show off how supposedly smart, knowledgable or powerful you are. Very very little gets ever accomplished.

    Continue reading
    Skyscanner2020-02-12
  7. Helpful (1)

    "By far the best place I have worked"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Systems Engineer in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Skyscanner full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Cutting edge problems and technology to work on - Best of equipment - top of the range Macbooks - Working from home whenever you want - Excellent benefits including credits for Skyscanner hotels and flights - Top notch office environment with ping pong, free barista coffee, soft drinks and snacks. Plenty of social events to attend also.

    Cons

    - Some of the staff who have worked here for a while can have a bit of a "know it all" attitude and don't always respect the experience that others may have attained elsewhere. - Some staff are in their own cliques and don't like to let outsiders in to their group.

    Continue reading
    Skyscanner2019-12-17
  8. Helpful (13)

    "I hate working at Skyscanner"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Skyscanner full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Good pay. - Can work from home basically all the time. - Some people are nice. - Nice central location.

    Cons

    - Full of lazy people: everybody "works from home", minding their own business from home and doing no work at all, and that is perfectly acceptable, because managers do it all the time in the first place. - Extremely corporate: it’s all politics and avoiding accountability. - Management lies and bullies people constantly. - Very afraid of trying anything new. - Principal Engineers are corporate bullies that command, do as they please and are not accountable for anything. Good luck if one of them does not like you. Looking for a new job, I will be leaving as soon as I can!

    Continue reading
    Skyscanner2020-01-14
  9. "Great place to work , even though challenging times ahead of us"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends

    I have been working at Skyscanner full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Strong Engineering culture - Benefits are awesome , (work from home, home country working , coffees, scooters , Seal leave) - Awesome offices and vibe (Travel is awesome , right?)

    Cons

    - Culture differences among different offices - Big challenges with tight deadlines from time to time

    Continue reading
    Skyscanner2019-10-29
  10. Helpful (18)

    "Bulling and manipulative"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Skyscanner full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Most people are friendly, open and well meaning. - Comp and benefits are excellent. - Great work-life balance and work from home arrangements.

    Cons

    - Skyscanner wants to look open and inclusive, but I have found the middle management to be bulling and manipulative. - Nothing ever gets done: it's all talking, meetings and Confluence pages... not a place if you are an engineer and like doing rather than talking. - Skyscanner is very conservative and very afraid of trying anything new in terms of product or technology. They are much more like a bank or a big corporate than a tech company. - Office politics is rampant. - The product is going from bad to worse, and nobody cares. - They don't know what they are doing and have no clue about how to go forward. If nothing changes very soon, Skyscanner will disappear.

    Continue reading
    Skyscanner2019-08-29
Found 23 reviews