Slater & Gordon UK Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Slater & Gordon UK Reviews

Updated 9 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 157 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
41%
Recommend to a Friend
47%
Approve of CEO
Slater & Gordon UK CEO David Whitmore
David Whitmore
32 Ratings
Pros
  • "It was a good team who was very help full(in 9 reviews)

  • "Professional friendly staff and good quality of work(in 9 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Smashing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Partner in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Slater & Gordon UK full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I’ve noticed when I don’t turn up for work, money doesn’t go into my account, and the opposite happens when I do. There’s this lovely sandwich shop round the corner.

    Cons

    Sometimes there aren’t enough elastic bands to bind all the documents and their legality. This can be a serious issue and makes us look fools.

    Advice to Management

    Get more elastic bands! Stop keeping them on your desk and rationing then out!

    Slater & Gordon UK2019-03-16
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Paralegal 

    I have been working at Slater & Gordon UK full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The recognition for promotion from your team

    Cons

    Rare recognition from London and a lot of dismissal of proposals

    Advice to Management

    Reward when deserved

    Slater & Gordon UK2019-06-30
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Often taken advantage of"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Legal Assistant in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Slater & Gordon UK full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The team you work with

    Cons

    Huge discrepancies in pay between colleagues of same levels within different departments - average £7k difference in salaries.

    Advice to Management

    Learn to value the support staff who work extremely hard

    Slater & Gordon UK2019-07-09
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Great colleagues"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative in Liverpool, England
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Slater & Gordon UK full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Worked with an office full of amazing people, benefits were okay.

    Cons

    Poor salary, depressing number of office closures.

    Slater & Gordon UK2019-07-03
  5. "Ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Solicitor 

    I worked at Slater & Gordon UK full-time

    Pros

    Great people and good work

    Cons

    Salary v low for market

    Slater & Gordon UK2019-06-12
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Legal Assistant 

      I worked at Slater & Gordon UK full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      good hours nice colleagues dress down on fridays

      Cons

      I did not find any cons

      Slater & Gordon UK2019-06-06
    • Helpful (4)

      "employee"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Reception 

      I have been working at Slater & Gordon UK full-time

      Pros

      friendly co-workers, pleasant management, straight forward role

      Cons

      treated like a child within the company

      Slater & Gordon UK2019-05-14
    • Helpful (6)

      "No job security"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I worked at Slater & Gordon UK full-time

      Pros

      Some great people to work with in my former team

      Cons

      Discrimination in it's most blatant form when facing redundancy. Not even offered a proper consultation period. Loyalty is unrecognised and gets you nowhere. Treated very unfairly.

      Slater & Gordon UK2019-05-31
    • Helpful (8)

      "Don't work here if you value your mental health"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Manchester City Centre, England
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Slater & Gordon UK full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Fantastic location Nice colleagues Good cafeteria

      Cons

      Bad management Breach of confidentiality Unstable line manager Low salary

      Advice to Management

      You get a fancy MMD laptop so people can work remotely. However, you need to ask permission to work from home. You have to email the CIO before you can work from home with the fancy laptop. Does the CIO not have better things to do with her time? You never know what mood the line manager is in so you and everyone in your department walk on egg shells. The atmosphere on the first floor is unbearable. Your complaints about...

      Show More
      Slater & Gordon UK2019-06-21
    • Helpful (6)

      "AVIOD COMPANY"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Call Handler 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Slater & Gordon UK full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Good team members, decent location

      Cons

      High up Management...and they making staff redundant and giving jobs away to other sites...one team deals with over 1000 incoming calls daily, that was a team of 17, now they all made redundant and then calls are going to go to the team in Manchester who have a team of...6! No loyalty shown to any staff...they will say they will look into things to help you with your jobs and give you new systems etc but they won’t! The...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Fix up!

      Slater & Gordon UK2019-06-22
    Found 157 reviews