SmarterTravel Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

SmarterTravel Reviews

Updated Jul 1, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
83%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
SmarterTravel CEO Sarah Hodkinson
Sarah Hodkinson
2 Ratings
Pros
  • "Additionally I really appreciate how work life balance is emphasized(in 14 reviews)

  • "not to mention you get the benefit of a smaller company but the perks of a large company with the parent being Tripadvisor)(in 12 reviews)

Cons
  • "Senior management makes decisions behind closed doors without consulting stakeholders(in 7 reviews)

  • "After the departure of DK (former president), there was constant structural change and people getting swept up by TripAdvisor constantly(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at SmarterTravel full-time

    Pros

    Company culture, team and brand

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    SmarterTravel2018-12-17
  2. "good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales Manager in London, England
    Recommends

    I worked at SmarterTravel

    Pros

    amazing benefits, very free in the day to day job and overall great company to work for. The work life balance is amazing!

    Cons

    Senior Management should be more present in general

    SmarterTravel2015-11-30
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great People, Great Perks, Great Work-Life Balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SmarterTravel full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Part of the TripAdvisor family -Amazing and reputable brands: Airfarewatchdog, Oyster, SmarterTravel.com, Family Vacation Critic, Jetsetter, and What To Pack -Teams take accountability and are passionate about their work -Free lunches are served 2x a week -Sweetgreen delivery outpost on other days of week -Great office location next to TD Garden -Consistently have All Hands with transparency into how... business is going -Amazing upper management team with easy access (no closed-door policy) -Dog friendly office -Unlimited snacks -Good work environment -Stand-up desks and Balance Board rentals (to work on that core!) - Summer Fridays -Happy Hour 4pm Every Friday -Flexible work from home policy -Travel stipend that increases for each year you work -Potential for Restricted Stock Units -401k Matching Policy -Partnerships with many gyms around the city

    Show More

    Cons

    -There was a morale issue when I first started, due to many employees moving over to the TripAdvisor side, which can be seen as a con. However, management took issues extremely seriously and have implemented ways to improve morale. -Lunch options aren't always the healthiest, but I can't really complain about a free lunch

    Advice to Management

    Keep being transparent, it's appreciated!

    SmarterTravel2019-07-01
  4. "A true hidden gem!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SmarterTravel full-time

    Pros

    I feel truly valued here. The leadership team does an impeccable job at making sure their employees are happy and thriving. They always look for constructive feedback and create a fun working environment with perks such as free bagels, happy hours, catered lunches, etc. (not to mention you get the benefit of a smaller company but the perks of a large company with the parent being Tripadvisor). Also, Sarah... Hodkinson rules and is loved by all. You will not find a better leader out there.

    Show More

    Cons

    Truly can’t think of one.

    SmarterTravel2019-07-01
  5. "Great company - truly focuses on professional development of their employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Accountant in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at SmarterTravel full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Focus on the professional development of their employees -If you prove yourself, there are opportunities to move to different roles within the department -innovative and always trying to do things better and more efficiently -always something new to learn -great people to work with, company provides many opportunities to develop relationships with coworkers

    Cons

    I had no negative experiences. My only reason for leaving was a career switch to a career that could not be accommodated within the company.

    SmarterTravel2019-03-01
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Started great, went downhill"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at SmarterTravel full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people, good benefits and work perks

    Cons

    After the departure of DK (former president), there was constant structural change and people getting swept up by TripAdvisor constantly. The culture was adversely impacted as a result and led to even more people leaving.

    SmarterTravel2018-12-21
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Run as fast as you can..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at SmarterTravel full-time

    Pros

    -Owned by TripAdvisor -Catered lunch 2x/week -Decent benefits and vacation policies

    Cons

    -No consistency/continuity in business strategy -Senior management makes decisions behind closed doors without consulting stakeholders -Team members exiting daily with no backfill -Stressful/unrewarding environment -GM's lack empathy and unified direction -Constant pressure to take on more work and deliver impossible results -Hiring freeze for foreseeable future -Poor company morale

    SmarterTravel2018-09-14
  8. "Senior Inside Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at SmarterTravel full-time

    Pros

    Fun laid back environment with smart people.

    Cons

    Things are constantly changing.

    SmarterTravel2018-08-20
  9. "senior web developer in a not bad company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at SmarterTravel full-time

    Pros

    salary is higher then the market

    Cons

    no clear future to get promoted of advance your carrier

    SmarterTravel2017-10-07
  10. "A great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at SmarterTravel full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Clear ability to make meaningful contributions in lots of areas. Minimal red tape. Talented friendly coworkers.

    Cons

    Minimal red tape. Lots of different strategies in motion.

    Advice to Management

    Continue empowering the team to deliver results.

    SmarterTravel2017-08-02
Found 74 reviews