Smith & Williamson Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Smith & Williamson Reviews

Updated 15 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
43%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
Smith & Williamson Co-Chief Executives David Cobb & Kevin Stopps
David Cobb & Kevin Stopps
28 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "The firm is very old-fashioned (from the 'style' of the office, to the management style)(in 13 reviews)

  • "Morale quite low due to long hours and low rewards(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Smith & Williamson full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good team members, study support

    Cons

    Nothing I can think of

    Smith & Williamson2020-02-12
  2. "Poor management & processes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Smith & Williamson full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good clients, good name to have on the CV, reasonable starting remuneration (but often doesn't rise once you are there)

    Cons

    Took a job at S&W because I thought they would have industry leading practices given their reputation. Instead I found that the systems were incredibly outdated compared to other firms, there was an absence of any training/induction. Even worse, however, was a prevalence of bullying from partners (one in particular) that sadly went unpunished when reported to more senior partners. Teams were often under resourced meaning it was often necessary to work long hours just to keep on top of work. Overall, very disappointing with a bad work environment

    Smith & Williamson2020-02-15
  3. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Smith & Williamson full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    There is good remuneration and culture

    Cons

    Agile working not in operation

    Smith & Williamson2020-01-07
  4. "Not what I was expecting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England

    I have been working at Smith & Williamson full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good package Work like balance

    Cons

    Very outdated with systems and processes Staff morale is very poor in our team Management unapproachable No training on systems and processes

    Smith & Williamson2020-01-06
  5. "Overall good but old school"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Tax in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Smith & Williamson full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Great diversity of work - Great people / 'family-like' environment - Promotions available - Relaxed environment

    Cons

    - Always behind. The firm is very old-fashioned (from the 'style' of the office, to the management style). Even by being in central London, you feel like working in a very close minded organisation. - Very old-fashioned mentality for a London firm, it feels like working in an 80's style accounting firm. - Technology is pretty much non-existent, although the firm is starting to work on it. - Not flexible at all. Working from home is pretty much non-existent and seems to be only available to certain people. The process is very unclear around it, some staff members work from home regularly, when for some others it seems to always be declined. I have also been hired on the basis that WFH was not regular yet, but the firm wanted to change mentalities, hence I was open to work from home when I wanted to try and push it forward. After 6 months, I was almost always told off when I mentioned I would work from home, and later be told that I could not work from home anymore, unless an official request had been made to my managers and HR ... this is not what I have been told during the interview process. - Poor management and utilisation of staff members. Although I keep hearing that the team I used to work in, is understaffed (hence why I have been hired), I find myself being low on workload even by constantly requesting other team members for work. This is due again, to the firm being very old-school and refusing team members to share clients to help each other, meaning that some staff members will be flooded by their workload, whilst other who could help, are bored. - Benefits are not good and very oriented towards people having children. - Culture and professionalism needs to change. It is common practice for people in the office to openly joke in a nasty way about other staff members and be borderline discriminatory. This goes from tax trainees to Director levels ... not very impressing.

    Continue reading
    Smith & Williamson2019-11-22
  6. "Good place to learn, nice people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Investment Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Smith & Williamson full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good people to interact with daily Higher than average level of exposure to front office activity early on Supportive of study hours for exams etc

    Cons

    Not many. Actively push for opportunities.

    Smith & Williamson2019-10-18
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Potential to be a great place to work... not fulfilled"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Smith & Williamson full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good people The job is a 9-5 with paid overtime

    Cons

    - Benefits are pretty average to poor - Nothing is done to address poor morale - People in higher positions expect you to drop everything for them with no appreciation - The office and technology are well below par for the size of the organisation - Work from home policy is extremely unclear and seemingly only available to certain level employees

    Continue reading
    Smith & Williamson2019-10-07
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Mixed feelings"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Smith & Williamson full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work life balance Remuneration Friendly culture

    Cons

    Inability to spot talent and allocate tasks to utilise talent. Morale Some old fashioned practices Slow pace

    Smith & Williamson2019-10-05
  9. "R&D"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Associate Director 

    I have been working at Smith & Williamson full-time

    Pros

    Awesome place to work and good

    Cons

    Uncertainty over future versus acquisitions

    Smith & Williamson2019-09-05
  10. "Overall a good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Operations Assistant in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Smith & Williamson full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    CEOs provide a regular forum via various mediums.

    Cons

    Lower than average salaries and few career progression options available within operations.

    Smith & Williamson2019-08-20

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 68 reviews