Smith & Williamson "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Smith & Williamson Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated 5 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
55%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Smith & Williamson Co-Chief Executives David Cobb & Kevin Stopps
David Cobb & Kevin Stopps
33 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "The firm is very old-fashioned (from the 'style' of the office, to the management style)(in 14 reviews)

  • "Morale quite low due to long hours and low rewards(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Good employer, nice wage and work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Investment Banking Associate in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Smith & Williamson for less than a year

    Pros

    Good working culture, work life balance

    Cons

    High pressure environment, challenging objectives

    Smith & Williamson2019-09-15
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Mixed feelings"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Smith & Williamson full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work life balance Remuneration Friendly culture

    Cons

    Inability to spot talent and allocate tasks to utilise talent. Morale Some old fashioned practices Slow pace

    Smith & Williamson2019-10-05
  3. "Support Team leader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Smith & Williamson full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    S&W provides a good work to life balance, since working here I've found it is easy to move around and do different type roles and have always been encouraged to do so.

    Cons

    Out dated systems which are slowly moving in to the 21st century. Pay is alot.less than other Invesent management companies

    Continue reading
    Smith & Williamson2019-04-04
  4. "Pretty average"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Smith & Williamson full-time

    Pros

    Good work life balance and social

    Cons

    A lot of luck as to which teams you end up on which then dictates your future career

    Smith & Williamson2018-12-18
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Smith & Williamson full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It has a great work to life balance; you never have to worry about being asked to work past 5pm. Bosses understand you have a life outside work and respect that. I haven't experienced negative office politics.

    Cons

    I wouldn't say it's a very driven place. Deadlines are routinely missed, and everyone is looking to push work onto someone else!

    Continue reading
    Smith & Williamson2018-05-16
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Shockingly bad management breeding a culture of self-interest and negativity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Personal Tax Advisor in Guildford, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Smith & Williamson full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - exams paid for - good work life balance - nice lower level employees who care about each other

    Cons

    If you want to work for a company which wallows in mediocracy, a company that practically encourages you working solely towards your own self-interest rather than the benefit of both the client and the rest of your team, then I would advise you sign up right away. The number 1 problem I witnessed at Smith & Williamson is the shocking management and leadership style from most (not all), of the partners. They are motivated solely by their own personal objectives, to the point where they are more than happy to get one over on another department or colleague, rather than working in the best interest of the company or their employees. This culture is contagious and therefore spreads to lower level management. It’s never about the team, it’s all about the individual. Targets set are completely unrealistic, unachievable, and unquestionable. During my time at Smith & Williamson I saw a number of staff openly questioned in front of the whole office about their work, this management style ultimately forced these staff to leave. In terms of career development opportunities, I would advise going to this company with very low expectations. This is particularly large problem in the regional offices (outside of London). As an example, a colleague was invited on a training review meeting, he went along and was asked to talk about his thoughts/feelings of the training courses he had been on over the past 2 years. This was surprising to my colleague because he hadn’t been on a single training course since being at Smith & Williamson! To cut a short story even shorter, the partner responsible for the career development had over the past 2 years not sent the graduates on a single one of these compulsory courses. The reason? No doubt because it wasn’t in the partners own self-interest. Unless dramatic changes are made to how partners manage their staff Smith & Williamson will be in the dark ages for a long time to come. If you like feeling devalued, not respected, not listened too, and simply a bum on a seat to make some money for the partners then I highly recommend you consider Smith & Williamson. It would be unfair of me to say this is all partners and management, however, the few managers that do want to make a change are trapped by unnecessary admin and dictatorial top heavy management who seem to be unaware that if you allow staff to feel valued and respected maybe (just maybe) there will be long term benefits... While IT is poor (as no doubt is mentioned in other reviews), changes are being made which will have a huge benefit in the long run. Overall, if you are a graduate looking to work in a regional Smith & Williamson office, think long and hard about your decision and carefully consider the above review. I wish I had read some of the reviews listed here before I joined… Shockingly bad management breeding a culture of self-interest and negativity

    Continue reading
    Smith & Williamson2018-06-12
  7. "Love the company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Smith & Williamson full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits, good work/life balance,

    Cons

    Long hours in December and January

    Smith & Williamson2018-05-10
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Old fashioned"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Smith & Williamson

    Pros

    Work/ life balance, friendly people.

    Cons

    Old fashioned, outdated IT infrastructure

    Smith & Williamson2017-03-11
  9. Helpful (1)

    "enjoyed my time here, would recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
     

    I worked at Smith & Williamson

    Pros

    the people are great, good work/ life balance

    Cons

    old fashioned in processes/ attitude to technology

    Smith & Williamson2017-01-17
  10. "Nice people and work/life balence"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Smith & Williamson full-time

    Pros

    Generally people are all very nice and thus it makes for a good working environment. Work/life balance is sensible, which means you can progress without sacrificing time with family and friends. Management are open to ideas and are supportive if you want to make change.

    Cons

    Historically has felt a bit old fashioned, with a lack of investment in IT and marketing, however this is already changing.

    Continue reading
    Smith & Williamson2016-10-31
Found 15 reviews