Sodexo "long hours" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Sodexo Employee Reviews about "long hours"

Updated 19 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 4313 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
62%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
Denis Machuel
203 Ratings
Pros
  • "Advancement great customer service good benefits management was great and my customers were awesome(in 134 reviews)

  • "Great benefits nice organization support(in 104 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours; hectic working enviornment(in 111 reviews)

  • "high turnover in upper management and reinventing the wheel with each new executive program(in 109 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "long hours"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "waiter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Sodexo part-time

    Pros

    Good money, Good management, Many opportunities

    Cons

    Long hours Feel like another number

    Sodexo2019-03-17
  2. "Admin"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sodexo full-time

    Pros

    None it’s not good for progression

    Cons

    Too much work. Unrealistic targets and long hours and no overtime pay for the hours

    Advice to Management

    Very unorganised and too many boses and very little teams

    Sodexo2019-02-08
  3. "Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Management in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Sodexo full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    No pros at all avoid where possible

    Cons

    Unfair, if you are not a long serving Member of Sodexo forget it. Dont treat managers fairly, dont take into account long service. HR a joke and dont even think about asking for support as you wont get it.No recognition at all for long hours, time spent doing other peoples jobs etc. Dont work for them if you dont have to.

    Advice to Management

    Have some humanity

    Sodexo2018-03-24
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Low pay for demanding work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Restaurant Manager in Romford, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Sodexo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Team, inclusive of all genders, colours and sexualities and very good at looking after people with illnesses, very lenient with staff punishment.

    Cons

    Low pay, long hours, extensive work, not enough of a reward sufficient for the staff so the company lacks incentive for employees to stay.

    Advice to Management

    Raise pay for the people who actually manage the staff and provide more incentives to the teams overall.

    Sodexo2017-06-02
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Boxes Hospitality Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Sodexo

    Pros

    -Better pay when going direct rather than through an agency -Alerted to available work at other venues run by Sodexo, not just the one you apply to

    Cons

    -Long hours on race days at Ascot (which are potentially good if you want more ££) -Clients are often difficult to deal with (not a fault of Sodexo!)

    Advice to Management

    Enforce a common tip-sharing policy - different floor run different policies, and some do not share any tips to the porters/kitchen staff

    Sodexo2016-11-24
  6. "Bar staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sodexo

    Pros

    Great team to work with, lunch and transport provided to event, training was very useful.

    Cons

    long hours working with little breaks, but that is event life.

    Sodexo2016-08-22
  7. "Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Sodexo

    Pros

    I worked here during the Olympics. It was a fun atmosphere and a multicultural environment.

    Cons

    Long hours, shortage of supplies.

    Sodexo2016-05-03
  8. "Waitress"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Sodexo

    Pros

    Good friendly staff My boss has been nice Provide transportation money Quick email communication You can get more jobs with them if you ask

    Cons

    low pay, long hours, no breaks...and if you get a break it last 10 minutes. This is my experience from working in Royal Ascot with them,

    Sodexo2015-05-25
  9. "Under pressure and stressful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Sodexo full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A few perks like health insurance company pension and so on you would get anywhere but they make it sound as if they are unique

    Cons

    you dont feel valued. difficult to get promoted. managers are badly trained. justice service is understaffed. long hours, no overtime, promised \TOIL never comes due to staff shortages

    Advice to Management

    Treat staff with more respect

    Sodexo2014-08-22
  10. "Loved working there!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Catering Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Sodexo part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The team was great and my job was super fun!

    Cons

    Long hours and lots of stress...

    Sodexo2019-05-12
Found 4313 reviews