Softcat Account Manager Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Softcat Account Manager Reviews

Updated 9 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.6
99%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Softcat CEO Graeme Watt
Graeme Watt
26 Ratings
  1. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Corporate Account Manager in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Softcat full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Flexible hours -sociable hours - good work-life balance - great people - vendors paying for lunches - excellent prizes

    Cons

    It's a very stressful job

    Softcat2020-02-04
  2. "Fantastic place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Marlow, England

    I worked at Softcat full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very Good social perks

    Cons

    there is little management progression

    Softcat2020-02-03
  3. "Great opportunity and good culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Softcat full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Opportunity to earn lots Progression Good atmosphere Autonomy

    Cons

    Only the best survive Inflexible.

    Softcat2020-02-09
  4. "Really good perks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Accounts Manager in London, England

    I worked at Softcat full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good perks, flexi time, really lovely managers, amazing company culture

    Cons

    A lot of cold calling, huge targets

    Softcat2020-01-09

    Softcat Response

    January 17, 2020Recruitment Manager

    Thank you for sharing your experience. We are really happy that you are taking advantage of our fab benefits and that the culture shines through. We appreciate Sales can be demanding in relation to the cold calling side, with us looking to establish ourselves in the market and on-board new customers. With some hard work and determination we've had some fantastic successes in the business and that's why we have grown year on year and we really hope you do too! Thanks Rachel Cowell

    Continue reading
  5. "Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Softcat full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Culture, pay, opportunities, training, progression

    Cons

    Flexibility, internal politics, none, none,

    Continue reading
    Softcat2019-11-23

    Softcat Response

    November 29, 2019Recruitment Manager

    Thank you for taking your time to provide feedback, we really appreciate it. We are also really glad that you called out culture, opportunities and progression as we're working really hard to ensure that our employees enjoy working here, feel like they are part of a family of other Softcatters and also that they see future opportunity and stay with us. Thanks Rachel Cowell

    Continue reading
  6. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Marlow, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Softcat full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Fun work place with a good atmosphere - Learn from experienced colleagues who have earned their place in the company - Breakfast and corporate perks - Flexible working hours with the option to work from home if necessary

    Cons

    - Not the most effective type of support if you are not hitting targets - Relatively low basic pay

    Softcat2019-11-16

    Softcat Response

    November 29, 2019Recruitment Manager

    Thank you for your review, we really appreciate the time you've given to give Softcat a review. We're really proud of our culture and how we've created the fun and informal atmosphere, encouraging our employees to be themselves and feel comfortable around eachother, like a family network. We do have an extensive Learning and Development function that offers support and guidance on how you can work on the development areas you may have to enable you to hit your targets. For anyone joining in Sales, I would really promote utilising this resource, alongside the Mentors and Team Leaders you will have to lean on to give you the best chance of success in the role. Thanks and good luck with your future roles Rachel Cowell

    Continue reading
  7. "Providing tech solutions to businesses across the UK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Softcat full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I came to SC straight from Uni having previously done some B2C sales within retail and hospitality. I wanted to transition into the B2B and the guys at SC were there to support me every step of the way. I have come on leaps and bounds over the past 13 months and I'm now managing my own accounts. The role itself is demanding but you're provided with the freedom and guidance to pave your way towards a successful career. The financial and social rewards offered are second to none and you're made to feel like you're a part of one big family.

    Cons

    1) The training is great fun socially but there is a lot to take on so be prepared to absorb lots of information. 2) The hangovers

    Softcat2019-10-10

    Softcat Response

    October 14, 2019Recruitment Manager

    Thanks for your review, we're really happy to hear that you're still enjoying it here, and that you're progressing really successfully in role. Thanks Rachel Cowell Recruitment Manager Thanks Rachel Cowell Recruitment Manager

    Continue reading
  8. "Great place to start your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Marlow, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Softcat full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Great 'fun' environment - Supportive management - Excellent training opportunities - Incentive trips, free holidays/ lunches / experiences

    Cons

    - Low Salary - Very micromanaged due to age of employees - High turnover - No flexible working, ie work from home, flexi hours etc

    Continue reading
    Softcat2019-09-26

    Softcat Response

    September 30, 2019Director-HR

    Thanks for sharing your feedback with us: it's appreciated. We do listen to our employees and as a result of last year's employee satisfaction survey we have introduced flexible working for all employees. There is also practice of working from home for particular roles. We do believe that we pay to market albeit with proportionate lower base pay (compared with some organisations) with additional commission based on sales made. We continue to work on refining people management practices and introducing new initiatives to reduce attrition. Next year we will be introducing some new management capability training for managers and one of the focuses of this will be to increase autonomy. We continue to listen to feedback from employees to refine our people practices so thanks for your feedback. Regards Patricia Winter, interim HR Director

    Continue reading
  9. "Internal account manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Softcat full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good social life and support

    Cons

    Long hours, lots of cold calling

    Softcat2019-09-09

    Softcat Response

    September 10, 2019Recruitment Manager

    Thanks for sharing your feedback with us, it's appreciated. With the hours and cold calling, that is an element of the role as it's about how we build business with our clients, and this can sometimes mean working the hours that suits the customer and getting the opportunity to speak with them. We do offer the chance to work slightly different hours to allow some flex on start/finish times which can suit someone that has customers that prefer calls early in the morning or later in the day too. Thanks Rachel Cowell

    Continue reading
  10. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Marlow, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Softcat full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great company to work for. Great Team Culture. Hard work and results is recognised and rewarded. Opportunity to learn so much about the IT industry,

    Cons

    Highly competitive role so long hours are required

    Continue reading
    Softcat2019-09-11

    Softcat Response

    September 12, 2019Recruitment Manager

    Thanks for sharing your feedback with us, we appreciate it! We're really glad that you enjoyed your time here, and we're keen that you get as much out of the job as possible, and offer those learning opportunities to understand all the new tech. Good luck with future roles! Thanks Rachel Cowell

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 55 reviews